Reading Challenge 2015

Hello, hello, welcome to the blog and to my last but one post this year. And what a year it was…

I’ve challenged myself to two challenges in 2015 – Goodreads Challenge (easy – peasy :) I’ve already read 211 books out of planned 200. Some of them were shorter, some of them were longer, the main point is, I was reading like crazy :) ). The second challenge was a little different, and here is what is was about: Reading Challenge 2015.

 

1. A Book with more then 500 pages

Here we are: „The Hourglass Factory” by Lucy Ribchester.

2. A classic romance

I am guessing that a classic romance is „Jane Eyre” for example, so no, this year I didn’t have a chance to read such a book. But I’ve read many other, „not classic” romances.

3. A book that became a movie.

„The Longest Ride” by Nicholas Sparks.

4. A book published this year.

Haha! Plenty of them! For example, „High Tide” by Veronica Henry. And alsmot 200 others :)

5. A book with a number in the title.

And very funny was it, too! „7 Years Bad Sex” by Nicky Wells.

6. A book written by someone under 30.

Thought it’s going to be a tricky one, but in the end it turned out there are a lot of authors under 30. For example Elle Field and her novel „Kept”.

7. A book with nonhuman characters.

At the beginning I was thinking I must read a book about aliens or something like thiat, but hello – the dogs are also nonhuman characters, right? So here we have for example „Waiting for Doggo” :)

8. A funny book.

There were many funny books. One of them was „Snowflakes on Silver Cove” by Holly Martin – I snorted my way through this story.

9. A book by a female author.

I read books mostly by female authors. For example „The Chocolate Lovers’ Christmas” by Carole Matthews.

10. A mystery or thriller.

I wasn’t a fan of mysteries r thrilles, but the older I am the more I appreciate this genre. This year I read for example „The Life I Left Behind” by Colette McBeth.

11. A book with a one – word title.

Ha! Not so easy, as the titles are getting longer and longer! But no worries, there was „Disclaimer” among them :)

12. A book of short stories

There are few of them on my TBR. Unfortunately, didn’t have enough time this year :(

13. A book set in a different country.

A different country to what? Probably to where I’m living? No problems here, for example „The Love Detective” – set mostly in India.

14. A nonfiction book.

Thought am not going to make this one, but ha! We’re talking about me, right? So I’ve read „I Call Myself a Femisnist” – brilliant book!

15. A popular author’s first book.

Reading a popular author’s first book means going back through my bookshelf with all the books that I’ve read – and loved, and searching for for example Jill Mansell, Marian keyes or Carole Matthews’ first novels. Maybe when a day has 48 hours :)

16. A book from an author you love that you haven’t read.

This is tricky. How can I love author if I haven’t read their books? But I understood it like this: a book by the author that I haven’t read yet and that I loved. In this case, it’s „The Dandelion Years” by Erica James.

17. A book a friend recommended.

There are many of them, but lately I was recommended to read „The Secret by the Lake” by Louise Douglas.

18. A Pulitzer Prize – winning book.

Nope. Sorry.

19. A book based on true story.

„The Silent Hours” by Cesca Major. It took my breath away and I couldn’t settle for other book for a long time.

20. A book at the bottom of your to – read list.

I tried. I started to read 3 such books but haven’t finished any of them.

21. A book your mum loves.

My mum loves lots of books, and she sent me one for this Christmas even, but haven’t read it. Yet.

22. A book that scares you.

Firstly I thought it must be a horror or something like this. But then I’ve read „Asking for It” by Louise O’Neill – and this book scared me. I can’t believe the world I’m living in.

23. A book more than 100 years old.

The closest I was with „Jamaica Inn”, that was published in 1936 first, but it’s not 100 years old. Not yet.

24. A book based entirely on its cover.

Not sure how to understand this one – that there is the whole story on the cover? Or that I loved the cover with all my heart? In this case, there were many such books, and one of them was „A Parcel for Anna Browne” for example.

25. A book you were supposed to read in school and didn’t.

Eeeek, no way. I’ve read all the book that I had to in school, even the most boring ones (was really scared with my professor – though loved him, too :D).

26. A memoir.

Nope. Not my kind of read.

27. A book you can finish in a day.

Haha, „Polly and the Puffin” by Jenny Colgan. Lovely read, for the adults as well.

28. A book with anytonyms in the title.

Ah, I have „Lost and Found” on my TBR pile for example, but haven’t managed to read it yet :(

29. A book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit.

Oh, that’s easy, as I’d love to visit almost the whole world :) For example, „One Wish in Manhattan” by Mandy Baggot.

30. A book that came out the year you were born.

No idea which book should that be. I was looking, but haven’t found any.

31. A book with bad reviews.

For example, „Girl in the Road”. Some bad reviews – with my among them (if I have written it…)

32. A trilogy.

Nope. And it’s Elle Field’s fault :) I’ve read „Kept”, I’ve read „Lost”, and was waiting for „Found”.

33. A book from your childhood.

Sure. Together with my daughter we’ve read a „Snow White”.

34. A book with love triangle.

There were some of them. For example „Thoughtful”

35. A book set in the future.

Yep. „A Girl in the Road”.

36. A book set in high school.

The above mentioned „Asking for It”.

37. A book with a colour in the title.

The fantastic, beautiful „A Memory of Violets”.

38. A book that made you cry.

Oh, there were some of them this year! For example, „The Things We Do for Love” by Alice Peterson.

39. A book with magic.

No problem – „Put a Spell on You” by Karen Clarke.

40. A graphic novel.

I’ve tried, really tried, but couldn’t see a single word on my kindle.

41. A book by the author you’ve never read before.

Sure – „The Secrets of Sir Richard Kenworthy” by Julia Quinn for example.

42. A book you own but have never read.

Of course. I own tons of books that I haven’t read yet. For example „A Mother’s Story” by Amanda Prowse.

43. A book that takes place in your hometown.

No. There are not many books that I read taking place in Poland :)

44. A book that was originally written in a different language.

„The Hunter of the Dark” by Donato Carrisi.

45. A book set during Christmas.

But of course! „Bella’s Christmas Bake – Off” by Sue Watson.

46. A book written by an author with your same initials.

Tadah! „Letting You Go” by Anouska Knight. AK :)

47. A play.

Nope. At school, yes, but not in 2015 :)

48. A banned book.

Also not.

49. A book based on or turned into a TV show.

Oh yes. „How to Get Ahead in Television” :)

50. A book you started but never finished.

yes. And I’m very surprsied because I’ve never had problems with this author before – „What a Girl Wantes” by Lindsay Kelk.

Ha! Not bad, no?

Leave a Reply

