Match Me if You Can by Michele Gorman

Match Me if you Can by Michele Gorman

28244131

 Publisher: Avon

Publishing Date: 14th January 2016

Source:  Copy provided by the publisher, thank you!

Genre:  Women’s Fiction, Contemporary

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

 Synopsis:

Three friends upcycle their exes through London’s most popular boyfriend recycling website, but haven’t bargained on the consequences of the exchanges they make.

Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Lindsey Kelk.

Meet best friends Catherine, Rachel and Sarah. Yet to find Mr Right, they’ve been settling for Mr Right Now. But when Catherine, London’s finest matchmaker, gets the girls to join her dating site where they can recycle their ex-boyfriends, they soon realise that anything could happen.

Rachel’s office romance James was a big fat mistake and she’s more than happy to upcycle him… Or is she? Homebody Sarah hasn’t had a date in years but when her transformation finds men falling at her newly-pedicured feet, will her popularity be worth the sacrifices she’s making? And Catherine falls asleep more often on her desk than on a man, so when she builds the perfect partner who ticks all her boxes, surely it’s a recipe for love . . . not disaster?

There’s someone for everyone, right? These best friends are about to find out for themselves . .

 Rating: 4/5

 

The first thing that drew my attention was the title of this book – Match Me if You Can – it’s fantastic, I personally love it and it really stands out from the crowd. Then the premise – it’s brilliant, just brilliant, and I don’t think I have ever came across such concept before. I mean, recycling exes – how clever and unique is this?

But in fact the story itself has not much to do with recycling exes. I was expecting a very different story, full of awkward, embarrassing, funny situations regarding this recycling, I was hoping for dates, dates, dates like you wouldn’t believe, but I got something totally different. Michele sticks to her proven and safe concept of three friends living together under one roof, living their own lives. Catherine is the one with the dating business that she started with her ex – husband, Richard. She’s happy with the arrangements, as Richard lets her have a carte blanche, but the situation changes when he sells his shares to his fiancé Magda – a VERY young fiancé, let’s add. Catherine, by the ways of expanding business a little, is also giving a one – to – one tutorials with some special clients, clients who can’t find The One. Then we have Rachel, a young architect who’s working together with her ex on their first project. And by working together I of course mean that they must compete against each other! Who is going to win this project and probably get a promotion? And meet Sarah, whose mum passed away few years ago, leaving Sarah and her brother in charge of their younger sister, Sissy. Sarah doesn’t have time to think about herself and she’s putting all others before herself.
Out of all those three women I think it was Sarah that I fell mostly for. It was incredibly touching to see how she looks after her younger sister, how seriously she takes this responsibility. In all those everyday problems she forgets about herself and she feels the most comfortable in a tracksuit and without any make – up, and she doesn’t even bother to start thinking about finding a boyfriend. I liked her most out of the three friends – I have a feeling that even though there was a lot about Catherine, I still don’t know her too well, and Rachel was the most immature and shallow. Nevertheless, I really appreciate that all the three girls were so different, as it made the story this bit better, and they really complemented each other.

But back to recycling. To be in a chance to join RecycLove, you must sign with your ex – so yes, it’s a website with a twist, ha! The former couple must answer questions about each other, rating them from 1 to 4, which is not visible to the public, and they write each other recommendation, which is visible. And this is what I missed so, so much, because there are only two couples doing this evaluation and the rest of the book concentrates on the girls’ private lives. So yes, more than about dating and slashing the exes right and left, this is a story about learning something new, about discovering who you truly are and what you really want from life, about finding the right balance between work and private life.

This book is written in the typical Michele’s way – first she introduces all the characters to us, and then slowly and continuously takes us deeper and deeper. Each of the chapter is then told from one of the characters’ point of view, my favourite way BTW, as we then know what all of them are thinking. And, in fact, we have three stories bundled into one book – and as much as I’d SO like to have a book about dating, and only dating, I really appreciate what Ms Gorman has done with her characters, how she allowed us to follow them on their journey through their lives, dealing with obstacles and searching for happiness.

What I also like in Michele’s latest releases is the fact that her heroines are normal woman with same everyday problems as all of us, and that all of them are intelligent and ambitious and they’re not scared to change their lives to achieve what they want – which doesn’t mean that they’re going through life blasting their ways out. No, but still they manage to achieve something.

So Match Me if You Can, even though it was not this what I was expecting, was a fast – paced novel filled with vivid, realistic characters, full of friendship, hope and strong women supporting each other. Every word here sounds honest and genuine, and I couldn’t help thinking that this could happen in real life as well, oh heck, it’s for sure happening right now somewhere around the world, and Michele has created a great story. She has also managed to brilliantly balance humour with much more important issues, such as caring for a family member with disability, cancer and… yes, that having a group of reliable builders is also important :) I am a little disappointed it didn’t turn out the way I was hoping for it, but altogether I think it is the best Michele’s novel yet.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s