First Touch by Laurelin Paige

First Touch

by Laurelin Paige

26791162

 Publisher: Sphere

Publishing Date: 11th February 2016

Series: First and Last #1

Source:  Copy provided by the publisher, thank you!

Number of pages: 384

Genre:  Literature/Fiction (Adult), Romantic Suspense

 Buy the Book: Kindle (out now!) | Paperback

  Synopsis:

When Emily Wayborn receives an answerphone message from her former best friend Amber, she knows something is seriously wrong. Emily hasn’t spoken to Amber in years, and when Amber uses a safe word in her message that Emily recognises — a word they always used to get out of sticky situations during their wild partying days — she knows Amber needs her help. But when Emily tries to find her, she discovers that Amber is missing.

Determined to track her down, Emily follows a chain of clues that lead her to enigmatic billionaire Reeve Sallis. Renowned for his shady dealings and playboy reputation, Emily is convinced that Reeve knows something about Amber’s disappearance. To try and discover the truth, Emily sets out to seduce him. But when she’s forced to decide where her loyalty lies, how will Emily choose between saving Amber and saving her heart?

If you devoured Fifty Shades and Sylvia Day’s Bared To You series, you will love the latest intoxicating, passionate and addictive novel from New York Times bestseller Laurelin Paige.

Rating: 3/5

„First Touch” is not my usual type of read, as I’m not so into erotica tangled into romantic suspense. Heck, I am probably the only person on this planet who has never read „Fifty Shades of Grey” (so there. I’ve said this)! In the press release and on the cover it states that it is for fans of Fifty Shades” and „Bared to You” series, and I thought, hell, why not? Let’s try it.

I am probably too old to be too emotional about this kind of story. Yes, at first it irritated the hell out of me the way Emily was treated, but not only by Reeve, because I think with him she just allowed him to be like this, and if she accepted it then why should he change? But I mean Emily’s past, and the way she told about it, as if this was the most normal way to live. But then I thought, oh my god, Emily, you are an adult, you can’t change your past but you could change your present, but if you want to be like this, then just be. Really, I had problems to connect with the characters, as they were totally not my kind of characters, and heroes like Reeve don’t impress me at all. I couldn’t connect, and I also couldn’t care for the characters. I have a feeling we have too little background to understand Emily completely – on one hand she presented herself as an independent, career – oriented woman, on the other I hated how she was around men, and I really couldn’t understand why is this so. Then we have Reeve, and I know that mostly reviewers are swooning over him, but I can’t see where the fire is. He was arrogant, alpha male who was expecting miracles to happen only by snapping his fingers. And everything happened so easy to Emily all the time. The „chance” meeting with Reeve, the private detective helping her to find Amber, the dream job… Everything was always just like Emily wanted it to be.
Those were the kinds of characters that I didn’t bother to judge, because if I had than I would have to put the book away. They were the most corrupted, weak, arrogant characters I’ve ever come across in a book and well, I didn’t like it, but as I’ve said, I didn’t judge them, so I kept reading thinking I am already too deep into the story and I want to see more. And I got more. More sex, more abuse, more underestimating of women – and I am not so much into books where the women are treated like trophies.

This book didn’t work for me in the way I thought it would – but maybe it’s because I am too old and too sceptical for such books? Also, I am thinking, if you want to write erotica, then write it, without trying to add suspense to the plot, because well, there was not so much suspense. The whole idea was to look for Amber, and from time to time we got a scene or two where something was being done towards finding her, then long, long, long time nothing and then Emily suddenly remembered about her best friend and every second sentence was about what would Amber do and where is she now.

I knew this book is being compared on the cover to „Fifty Shades of Grey” but, as I have already mentioned I haven’t read this series, I wasn’t so completely prepared for how dark and how steamy sexy it’s going to be. I am a tough cookie and the sex scenes didn’t put me off the story, nevertheless I was expecting more plot, more story from it. If you don’t like a hefty, powerful sex scenes, on the verge of BDSM, it is not a book for you, as it mostly consists only such scenes. There were moments that I skimmed – read some of them, as they were too literal for my liking, but they didn’t put me off sex as well :)

What was really good, was the writing. It didn’t read like a weak bonkbuster or trashy novel, it was written in a fluent, eloquent way and I think this was what kept me – maybe not glued – but hooked to the pages. Laurelin Paige has a way with words and her writing is really very vivid and descriptive – high five for this. Also, I absolutely enjoyed this incredible magnetism between Emily and Reeve, magnetism that even I have felt through the pages – so fantabulously described was it. And the story ends with a killer cliffhanger. I haven’t seen it coming – never in a million years. So yes, I am already impatiently waiting for the second book in the series – I want to see how the story is going to end, even if it doesn’t suit my preferences.

So yes, I am in two minds about this book. Please don’t claw out my eyes out, don’t kill me, as maybe a look at the book through a perspective of a little older person might be not so bad in the end? I know that the novel already has tons of fans that appreciated it more than I did, that maybe got it more than I did. Nevertheless, I am really glad to have discovered Laurelin Paige for me, as her writing and the book took me out of my comfort zone – which is not as bad as it sounds.

GIVEAWAY!

You can win a copy of „First Touch” simply by going to my Twitter site and following the instructions there. Ends on 24th January 2016. Good luck!

FOLLOW THE BLOG TOUR:

Leave a Reply

