My DisOrganised Life by Nina Whyle

My DisOrganised Life

by Nina Whyle

 28454598

 Publisher: So Vain Books

Publishing Date: 28th January 2016

Source:  Copy provided by the publisher via NetGalley, thank you!

Number of pages: 351

Genre: Humour, Women’s Fiction

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 Synopsis:

A viral video of drunkenness and vomiting over a policeman is the stuff of nightmares, and so is living back home with your religious, nutty parents. Fed up with life not going her way and turning quietly insane, Eve Poots comes up with a plan. Well more of a list of “things to do while I’m still twenty-something”.
Six months later, and the list is working its power: she is now living with her new boyfriend, junior doctor Adam, and working as an assistant to TV producer Alastair on a reality show – life really is on the up.
But then it all starts to crumble and she soon realises that what the list should have really said was:
1. Awful colleague hell-bent in making your life agonising – check
2. Unplanned engagement – check
3. Lusting for dashing TV director when you have a perfectly decent boyfriend at home – check
4. Seeking help from a sex therapist – check
5. Growing a back-bone – pending
Has her life suddenly turned into a TV melodrama of its own?

Rating: 3/5

I am totally new to Nina Whyle and her books, „My DisOrganised Life” is my first book by this author I was immediately drawn to it by this eye – catching title and the synopsis – there is nothing that can encourage me more to reading the book as the blurb stating that it is about making lists – probably because I personally have never made a list in my life and I am just fascinated with people who do them and who stick to them. And our main character, Eve Poots, is a little on the OCD side with making lists, I would say. But – can you run your life according to lists?

The story is written from Eve’s point of view and when I started reading it, it quickly became a long, long, very long monologue by Eve. I have never been so happy when I finally came across a dialogue! Really. I like a good story but the story needs dialogues, too, and there were little too little for my liking – they were good, those dialogues, you know, sharp and funny, but few and far between. However, the writing style was quickly paced and on the modern side, full of pop/cultural references, and easy to follow.

There are many attempts at the humour in this book, some of them more successful, some of them less but altogether the whole book seemed a little too flat for me and it didn’t live up to my expectations. I still don’t know what the problem with Brian was and why did he behave like this, for example – the whole subplot with him was just too far – fetched and sure, it was there to add more tension and to make Eve’s life complicated and for us to root for Eve, but it was just so clichéd – a bad boss mobbing our poor main character, without a reason, and then finally he was punished. Thanks god (or the author!) that Eve eventually stood up to her religion – obsessed mother when she wanted to push her into doing things that Eve didn’t want to do. If she went for this I think it would be the end of my adventure with „My DisOrganised Life”.

What’s more, I also can’t say much about the characters – somehow I just didn’t connect with them, or not with all of them. There was Eve… There was also her sister and then Eve’s ex – boyfriend Adam, doctor in spe and very obsessed cyclist, and her friends from work, including Jake. From the very first glance Eve and Jake exchanged I could bet anything on how the book is going to end, to be honest. But what really bothers me is the fact that I can’t say a lot about them all, except Eve, and I’m not sure how I feel about them – there was no connection between me and the characters. Eve always wanted everything to be nice and she gave her best efforts but often, despite those efforts, she was finding herself in very embarrassing situations (and she often was a source of this embarrassment. Well, life), and no matter what she did, it seemed to go wrong. She must bear with her highly religious parents and she more than often speaks first and only then thinks about consequences. Just a normal girl, then – but such girls are usually one of the best characters, and Eve is really great. But nevertheless, I often found myself thinking, Eve girl, you are so, so young, why are you so stiff and serious in some aspects of your life? Just relax , please.

But the book had also have some great moments. I totally enjoyed Eve’s visits at Gudrun, the therapist, whose monologues, dialogues and questions were hilariously straight – forward (I think she doesn’t know that the word „shame” exists at all, but way to go, Gudrun! I really applaud you!), and also the scenes when the team was making their reality – show were light – hearted, funny and ridiculous, more on the far – fetched side but nevertheless, everything can happen in TV, no?

Altogether, it was a really good read, full of mischief, romance, awkward moments, incredible scenarios and some funny moments – I think almost all of us know the humiliation and consequences of drinking tequila, no? I liked the writing style and the potential there was in this novel, its lightheartedness mixed with some more serious moments. so when the time allows, I will be for sure treating myself to other Nina Whyle’s novels.

Leave a Reply

