How to Get Hitched in Ten Days by Samantha Tonge

How to Get Hitched in Ten Days

by Samantha Tonge

 

 

 Publisher: Carina

Publishing Date: 11th February 2016

Source:  Copy provided by the publisher via NetGalley, thank you!

Number of pages: 96

Genre: Romance, Women’s Fiction

 Buy the Book: Kindle

 

 Synopsis:

HOW NOT TO GET THE GIRL…

Meet Mikey, every girl’s best friend – he bakes the creamiest cheesecake, loves movie nights and is a great dance partner.

For Jasmine, Mikey is the perfect flatmate – he owns a 50s diner that turns out the best food around, gives the best bear hugs and amazing romance advice – after all they’re scoping out the same hot guys! So when her boyfriend proposes in the worst possible way, Jazz knows her best friend will be there to pick up the pieces with gourmet popcorn, Pinot sleepovers and a shoulder to lean on.

But Mikey isn’t about to let Jasmine give up on love, and he’s ready to do whatever it takes to mend her broken heart – even if it means helping the one person who sees him as the enemy…

Because at the end of the day, all’s fair in the pursuit of true love… right?

Rating: 3/5

 

The first thing I must say is that I immediately fell in love with the title of this short story – „How to Get Hitched in Ten Days” – it’s brilliant, isn’t it? Secondly, I didn’t know at first that it is a novella, I was expecting a full – length novel, so I was a little surprised when I discovered it’s not the case this time but I also thought, no matter, the main thing is, it is by Samantha Tonge, so let’s start reading!

And as soon as I started reading, I felt very confused. You know, I didn’t read the synopsis very thoroughly (I though I don’t have to. I mean, it is Samantha Tonge’s book, right, so I am for sure for a giggly fiesta of a great story) and I thought that Mickey is a girl (I know. I KNOW), and at the beginning I really wasn’t sure if he’s a girl or a boy. It made my reading this little bit more confusing and difficult. But it was my mistake, nothing to do with the author. Then each chapter is told either from Mickey, or Jazz’s points of view, and yes, the chapters are titled with the name of the character, nevertheless, I more than often didn’t know who the „I” is, especially when I had to put this book down for a moment or two and then came back to reading – it took me always a minute or longer to realise who is the narrator (and before you say it, I don’t like turning the pages back on kindle).

Unfortunately, I also had a problem with the characters. I just couldn’t care less about them. Jazz was a spoiled, whiny diva, drama queen and everything must have been centred around her. Dave was awful, he had no idea what his girlfriend likes or wants and he was always in a bad mood and blaming everybody for his own failures and misfortune, and I was thinking, what’s up actually? What kind of boyfriend are you, if you really don’t know about your girlfriend’s likes and dislikes? Mikey… Well, Mikey couldn’t be more clichéd if we asked for, I think.

Altogether, I am a little disappointed with this short story because I have expected so much more from it and I’ve already read better novels by Ms Tonge. Sure, it had it’s moments, and it was a very nice story about friendship and trust, but this time it didn’t deliver for me. On the bright side, it is written in this lovely, funny, light – hearted and easy to follow way, it was fast – paced and – as usual – had some brilliant food in it! I also didn’t see this twist coming and it took me by surprise, I was thinking that maybe Mikey will turn out to be not gay at all or something like this (which would be a disappointment, so brownie points for Samantha for not changing his orientation at the last moment :) ), really not seeing this what came and slapped me in the face. Which was in some way sweet. (Not slapping. The twist). So altogether, if you are for a quick, easy read and you love Samantha’s exceptional sense of humour as much as I do, don’t hesitate and read „How to Get Hitched in Ten Days”.

Leave a Reply

