Just Haven’t Met you Yet by Cate Woods

Just Haven’t Met You Yet

by Cate Woods

 

 

Publisher: Quercus

Publishing Date: 11th February 2016

Source:  Copy provided by the publisher, thank you!

Number of pages: 400

Genre: Literature/Fiction (Adult), Women’s Fiction

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

 Synopsis:

Percy James has everything a girl could want: a comfy flat, a steady relationship and a truly lovely group of friends. Then she is approached by Eros Tech. Eros is ‚the future of love’ – an agency that brings together soulmates using mobile data. Percy has been identified as a match for one of Eros’s super wealthy clients. The only problem is she already has a boyfriend . . . but what if this is *destiny*? Would you – could you – pass up a chance to meet your one true love?

A riotous romantic comedy with a warm heart and magnificent twist!

Rating: 5/5

Lately I was in some kind of a reading slump, not the one when you can’t stand the sight of a book, no matter what book it is, but the one when you must rate the books you’ve read with 2 or 3 stars. And then I started reading „Just Haven’t Met You Yet” by Cate Woods, and oh my word, it was just what the doctor ordered…!

The premise to this book sounds so original and unusual. I mean, I’ve read a lot of books with blind – dates, online dating etc, but never before have I read about computer finding your soul mate, and let’s be honest, I was incredibly curious how the author is going to tackle this issue – and believe me, the way she did it and the twists that came with it have just blown me away. Did I see those twists coming? No way! Did the book take me by surprise? Yes!!!

I loved the challenges the author put in front of Percy, our main character. At the beginning Percy seems to have it all – lovely boyfriend, brilliant friends, great job, and yes, lovely boyfriend. Did I mention the lovely boyfriend, who couldn’t be nicer and more understanding even if she wished for it? But then, out of the blue, she’s being contacted by someone very persuasive from Eros Tech, claiming that they found Percy’s soul mate, a person that is going to be perfect for Percy and she’s going to be perfect for this person. That Percy has a boyfriend already? No matter! And here the complications start – should Percy meet this person? Is this cheating? She’d be only meeting this person, right? But then, what if…? What if she fell in love with her soul – mate? Is she going to risk everything she knows to see that there really may exist a person that is destined for you?
I loved it! I loved this idea and the way the author brilliantly captured Percy’s personality. I think I can tell you that I spent a lot of my time when reading the book wondering what would I do in Percy’s shoes – and I think curiosity would get the best of me. And Percy had her doubts, of course, and it made her so realistic – that she has conscience and is loyal. The story was told from her point of view and it was brilliant to be able to get so deep into her head and hear what she thinks – because mostly it was really funny. She doesn’t have the most exciting job in the world, she leads a normal life, she has a boyfriend and a family, so really, just your normal girl from the neighbourhood, but there was something exceptional to her, she was warm and nice, and I really rooted for her. Moreover, I truly adored her living in her own world of fantasy, making up things and planning how they should end, and it reminded me so much of Becky Bloomwood, always making up fantasies as well, but it didn’t bother me at all, as Percy had her own distinctive voice and was a great individual.
The other characters were also brilliantly drawn, and I think that Mel, the one with the foul mouth and obsession with Michael Buble is really worth mentioning! Every time she entered the scenes I was wondering what new swear word she’s going to invent, and please, keep your eyes peeled for a poem in tribute of the above mentioned Michael Buble. And all the other characters, they were such a great bunch, even Percy’s mum – even though there were moments that I wanted to close the door in her face, and I am usually not a very aggressive person – they were all full of life and great personalities.

As it was told that this fantastic computer system can match you with at least 10 people, I was hoping for some more blind – dates for our Percy, and after reading about a second one I really started to doubt if this system is as good as they tried to sell it to us. I mean, this second date… No, thank you!

Cate Woods has ghost – written books before and „Just Haven’t Met You yet” is the first novel under her real name, and it’s a name to keep your eyes peeled – I adored the story, and the writing style is so incredibly light, engaging and easy to follow. It is full of humour, witty remarks that made me giggle or laugh – out – loud. It was incredibly fast paced and there was always something happening, and it was really full of twists and turns that I. Haven’t. Seen. Coming! You know this feeling when you want to know how the book is going to end but you also don’t want it to end because it’s so good? Well, it was like this with „Just Haven’t Met You”. There was not a single flat moment, the interactions were hilarious and the characters were often at difficult crossroads. It was a great, entertaining read and I am already waiting for Ms Woods’ next novel. Recommended!

Leave a Reply

