A Sudden Crush by Camilla Isley

A Sudden Crush

by Camilla Isley

 

Publisher: Pink Bloom Press

Publishing Date: 4th February 2016

Source:  Copy provided for Blog Tour purposes.

Number of pages: 255

Genre: Contemporary/ Women’s Fiction

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

 Synopsis:

Joanna Price is a city girl with the perfect life. She loves her job as a book editor, she just married Liam, high profile bestselling author and the man of her dreams, and she’s headed to the Caribbean to enjoy two weeks of paradise for her luxurious honeymoon.
Connor Duffield is a gruff, grumpy rancher from the Midwest. He is a country boy who has a no-nonsense approach to life, more scars than he’d like to admit, and he hates city girls.

So it’s just a misfortune they have to sit next to each other for a six hour plane ride. Even more so when their flight is caught in the perfect storm and Joanna wakes up stranded on a desert island with Connor, the very man she hoped she would never have to see again.

Why are they alone on this forsaken island? What happened to Joanna’s husband?

When her dream honeymoon turns into a hilarious tropical nightmare, Joanna’s first thought is survival. However, she and Connor will quickly discover just how boring paradise can be. As the days turn to weeks, and then months, this mismatched pair will have to learn how to coexist and how to resist the sparkles of an attraction they weren’t prepared to feel.

When they are finally rescued will Joanna’s marriage be saved as well, or will the life she knew and loved be in ruins?

Rating: 4/5

 

„A Sudden Crush” is Camilla Isley’s second book but the first one that I had a pleasure to read. Camilla was one of our guest during Christmas Countdown and she turned out to be incredibly open, funny and generous person, and when the opportunity for being a part of her Blog Tour came along, I didn’t hesitate and signed. Frankly speaking, I wasn’t sure what to expect from her writing and from the novel, and started reading „The Sudden Crush” full of expectations.

And boy, did this book blow me away! It was such a funny, light – hearted read and I finished it with the biggest, sloppiest smile on my face.

I am very lazy lately and mostly stopped reading the blurbs for the books, so I never know what it’s going to be about, and really, the first part of the book has so took me by surprise. I mean, being sucked out of a plane and survive? (Yes, I can see your wry smile). I mean, survive together with your designer bag and solar charger for your phone (I didn’t even know that such thing exist!)? Yes, I was also thinking, no way. But you know what? Actually, with this story, it sits perfectly and it works! Normally I’d probably be sceptical but this time, and I think thanks to Camilla’s brilliant writing and storytelling, I just went with flow and let her take me on this roller – coaster of an adventure. I think this is what you must do when reading this book, just forget about reality and impossibility and enjoy whatever is going to happen on the island. And there can happen a lot… You can survive being sucked out of a plane, together with your designer bag and solar charger and the most grumpy man in the world and make friends with a monkey and called it Manny. (Manny was brilliant, oh my word, the way Camilla has described him and the way Jo was with him, it had me in stitches, especially when she visited him in zoo during the mating period. Oh. My. God.)

This whole story was a comedy of errors, starting with the misfortunate honeymoon that never took place and ending with being scratched by the jealous female monkey.
Nevertheless, there came a moment when I was reading the first part when I thought, hello? Deserted Island, okay, with almost no hope of rescue – and I was starting to get nervous, as it started to dragged on a little. I was afraid that the author is going to over – exaggerate a little, and at the end I was a little tired with them being on the island, because how much can happen and what new can happen? It was a little too lagged for my liking, those everyday activities and happenings but fortunately not too much and it ended in almost the right moment. On the other hand, I really appreciated the fact that Ms Isley cut everything to the chase, not concentrating on every single little thing Jo and Connor must have learnt, such like finding something to eat, build a shelter etc. Sure, everything came naturally to them, but oh my, why not?

What was also great is the fact that we could accompany the characters, or rather Jo, after they were rescued (yes. They were). And what was also great is that the author didn’t stayed focus for long on one thing, only let the time flow and the things change for Jo – the pace was really great in this story.
Jo was brilliant. Incredibly funny, and incredibly realistic with the way she has gone through the dramas in her life and they way she coped (or didn’t!) with them, and really, life was throwing more curve – balls at her than at hundreds of people together. It was really great to see how she was maturing throughout the story and how she changed, how she always held her head high.
Connor made me laugh, he made me laugh so, so much, especially his way of communicating with grunting and snorting. Brownie points to Jo for being so patient with him, I would probably move to the other part of the island but nevertheless there was this „something” in Connor that attracted me (and not only me!) to him so much.

We can say that the book is divided into two parts, but in both of them the poor Jo must fight with something, or someone. On the island, there is the instant bickering with Connor, trying to find compromises and drinking out of a condom, and at home there are even more problems waiting for her that I don’t want to let out, as I don’t want to spoil this great and hilariously funny read for you. But Jo always stays herself and even though she’s depressed (who wouldn’t be???), she rise like the proverbial phoenix from the ashes to kick some backsides. The book shows that being absent for almost six months has its consequences and Jo must now come to terms with them.
The romance aspect was also interesting because firstly: on the island Jo was determined to stay faithful to her husband (did she?), and secondly: at home Connor vanished off the face of the earth so we really were kept in uncertainty. Because it was not obvious, even though it was Obvious (with capital O) that those two are destined to be with each other. You know the feeling, when you can feel with your whole being that two characters should be with each other, no matter what? Well, it was like this with Jo and Connor for me, and yes, I was already starting to get nervous after Connor disappeared from the scenes, just like this.

Altogether, „A Sudden Crush” is a brilliant, full of humour rom – com featuring lovely characters, with a great storyline, fast – paced and written in a brilliant way. Camilla Isley can for sure tell her stories! But the book has also this what I like most – it balances incredible fun with some more gentle and serious moments. Really great escapism, a hilarious and plot – driven story that is going to keep you entertained for a few hours. Recommended!

 

FOLLOW THE BLOG TOUR:

Leave a Reply

