The Faithful Couple by A.D. Miller

The Faithful Couple

by A.D. Miller

 

Publisher: Abacus

Publishing Date: 4th February 2016

Source:  Copy provided by the publisher, thank you!

Number of pages: 320

Genre: Literature/Fiction (Adult)

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

 Synopsis:

Turn a betrayal inside out and you found its opposite, a secret and a bond. Perhaps that was what friendship came down to: a lifelong, affectionate mutual blackmail.

Neil and Adam, two young men on the cusp of adulthood, meet one golden summer in California and, despite their different backgrounds, soon become best friends. Buton a camping trip in Yosemite they lead each other into wrongdoing that, years later, both will desperately regret.

Their connection holds through love affairs, fatherhood, the wild successes and unforeseen failures of booming London, as power and guilt ebb between them.

Then the truth of that long-ago night emerges.

What happens when you discover that the friendship you can’t live without was always built on a lie?

Rating: 3/5

 

This time I thoroughly read the synopsis to „The Faithful Couple” and it promised me a lot, so I didn’t hesitate to be a part of a blog tour – it sounded really unique, and as I haven’t read A.D. Miller before, I was desperate to fix this fact. And all the prizes for this novel – they made me hope it may be a truly special read.

What is great is the brilliant journey through the friendship between two guys/young men, Adam and Neil, growing and lingering through the years. It started with those two meeting on a holiday in the US and growing and developing after they came back home to England. One particular encounter during the holidays bound them for their whole lives. We then got to see them grow up, change, mature, starting relationships, jobs, getting children, and I really liked those passages, told through the man’s point of view. The author doesn’t beat around the bush, he writes how it is, about all the ups and downs in their lives, about death and birthdays and conflicts, and how it everything changes when one of them becomes a father to a little girl.
And I adore this title – after starting the book and then reading it you get a chance to truly understand the meaning of The Faithful Couple.

However, the book didn’t deliver for me. I was waiting and waiting for this wow moment that everybody singing prizes seemed to have but sadly, it has never arrived. I also couldn’t warm to neither the main characters, nor the background ones. I just didn’t feel any connection to them. Yes, I did enjoy to see how the friendship continued between Adam and Neil, because it felt genuine and honest, albeit a weird one. I also found some chapters rather dragging on and not bringing anything new or significant to the plot and in the end I skipped a lot of text. Also, the secret that connected the two young man, was this really so shocking? Don’t get me wrong, somehow it was, but on the other hand it should have been Neil feeling responsible, and not Adam? Also, not so sure about the ending, that seemed a little to abrupt and too much Disney – like, while the beginning was much to slow for my liking.

Nevertheless, I enjoyed the writing style, that brought the characters and places to live. The author greatly explores the male friendship, and he really well captures the idea of it and it is different to books that I usually read, so it is brilliant that I had a chance to read something like this.

 

FOLLOW THE BLOG TOUR:

Leave a Reply

