A Night In with Audrey Hepburn by Lucy Holliday

A Night In with Audrey Hepburn

by Lucy Holliday

 

Publisher: Harper

Publishing Date: 21st May 2015

Source:  Copy provided by the publisher, thank you!

Series: Libby Lomax #1

Number of pages: 400

Genre: Women’s Fiction

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

 Synopsis:

Actress Libby Lomax has retreated into the world of classic movies, where the immortal lives of her favourite screen goddesses seem to offer so much more in the romance department than her own life.

After a terrible day on set where she embarrasses herself in front of the entire cast and worst of all, it’s sexy bad-boy star, Dillon O’Hara, she plonks herself down on her battered couch to watch Breakfast at Tiffany’s for the trillionth time.

Suddenly, Libby is astonished to find screen icon Audrey Hepburn, complete with little black dress, trademark sunglasses and vintage cigarette holder, sitting beside her and proffering advice.
Has Libby got what it takes to turn her life from a Turkey to a Blockbuster? Perhaps with a little bit of Audrey Hepburn magic, she might just pull it off…

A night in with Audrey Hepburn is the first in a series of three books following the life and loves of Libby Lomax as she blossoms from Z-lister to A-lister and all of the stages in between with a little bit of help from some very special friends.

Rating: 4/5

 

Oh guys, it’s been a while since I’ve read such a light – hearted, funny book! It was just what the doctor ordered and it brought me out from the reading slump and helped a little to cheer me up. I am probably reading too many books, and lately they must be really special, they must have this „something”, to keep my interest – and „A Night In with Audrey Hepburn” was just like this, just what I needed.

So the book. Yes, I must admit, it started a little slow for my liking, but quickly it gathered pace. I must also admit, and as you already know it, I am not the biggest fan of cinema, no matter if it’s the old classics or something modern – I’d rather read books :) But I can understand the whole fascination with those beautiful, exceptional old Hollywood actresses, and in this case, with Audrey Hepburn.

In short, Libby’s life looks disastrous. She has a family that doesn’t support her, mother and sister interested only in their own careers, and a father that isn’t interested in her at all. She has (or doesn’t have, it depends!) a job that she hates. She’s just moved into a flat that she thought is much bigger and has a bathroom. But does Libby wallow in self – pity? Oh no, and this is what I so adored in her. She is incredibly prone to accident and if something is supposed to happen, then you can be sure it’s going to happen to Libby. We were witnesses to plenty of very embarrassing situations with Libby in the centre.
Whenever Libby’s mother or sister entered the scenes I wanted to bang their heads together – it is amazing how many negative feelings they brought out in me. First Libby’s mum, who not only forced Libby to pursue career as an actress, but who also treated her like a servant. And those were the moments that I also wanted to shake Libby – she was too nice, too submissive and she wasn’t able to stand for herself up against those two selfish women. I mean, I would never speak with my sister if she treated me like Cass treated Libby in the club. I think I would kill her and then stop speaking with her. But Libby… No, Libby was ready to run errands for her after she treated her this way. A little too far – fetched for my liking, though I can imagine it’s possible! But I just wanted Libby to grow a back – bone and to tell Cass some words of wisdom. Libby was just what you can call a dogsbody for her family.
But Libby has also friends! She’s not alone in this world, oh no, and those friends are Olly and his sister that she got to know years ago, during one of the castings. I loved seeing that this developed in such a strong friendship, and Olly, you know, Olly was brilliant. And I can see things that Libby doesn’t see, so there (can’t wait for the next part to see if I’m right. Or not. I do hope that I’m right)! Sometimes Olly seemed to be a little childish, as he was jumping to the wrong conclusion, and was very easy to offend, but altogether I have a feeling there is so much more to him – he seemed a little lost in the world but it was charming.
We have also Bogdan, and Bogdan, Son of Bogdan among the characters, and they were hilarious, and believe me, no matter if those were main or backgrounds characters they were all so expressive, larger than life people with large personalities, and I didn’t have a problem to connect with them, which made the reading even more easier and nicer.
There is also this big old sofa that turns out to be one of the main characters in this novel. It almost doesn’t past in the flat, and it’s seen better days, as it’s now smelly and lost the colour, but soon Libby is going to discover some secret connected with this old, battered Chesterfield.

You can say, seeing Audrey Hepburn??? What??? THIS Audrey Hepburn, giving our Libby advice and learning how to work coffee machine and getting to know internet? Just like that, without any reason? Yes, I am also sceptical, but believe me, this time it worked incredibly well!

What is great is the fact that the book is the first in the series, and „A Night In with Marilyn Monroe” is already waiting for me! This was a great, enjoyable novel, a light read with many funny scenes, such as the ones including the alien suit or the incident in the spa, or Libby being sure that she has the terminal split personality disorder. It is written in a very nice, easy to follow writing style, brilliantly capturing the funny, fluffy atmosphere. And even this unusual storyline, with Audrey appearing out of nowhere, worked wonders and I bought it completely. Looking forward to more from Lucy Holliday.

Leave a Reply

