The Woman Who Upped and Left by Fiona Gibson

Oh, guys! I am so excited to be kicking off Blog Tour for Fiona Gibson’s brand new shiny novel, „The Woman Who Upped and Left„. And what a brilliant Blog Tour it is! There will be cooking, baking, talking about the book… Just sit back comfortably, enjoy and follow the blog tour!

When the lovely Helena asked people if they want to join the Blog Tour, I didn’t hesitate – I love Fiona Gibson and her novels. But this time the lovely Helena also asked if people want to do something different – namely, the main character in the book, Audrey, goes on a cooking course, and not any normal cooking course, but in French cuisine. The course is supposed to change her life – did it? Well, you must read the book and see! Nevertheless, there are some lovely recipes in the story, and the idea was that the bloggers will cook them. I thought, oh hell, why not, lovely Helena, send me my recipe before I change my mind (I thought, mmmm, maybe some delicious lemon tarte? But NO MUSSELS. NO MUSSELS please. Though knowing my luck those were going to be mussels that I should cook). But then my recipe came. Those were NOT MUSSELS. Here is what I cooked.

Soupe à l’oignon

Everyone knows cheese and onion are made for each other . . .

Ingredients

90g unsalted butter

8 onions, finely sliced

2 tbsp plain flour

6 tbsp red wine

150ml white wine

1 tsp sugar

4 slices baguette

2 tbsp olive oil

150g cheese, grated

Method

• Melt the butter in a saucepan and gently sauté the onions until soft and translucent.

• In a heatproof jug, mix the wines and 1.5 litres of boiling water.

• Sprinkle the onions with flour and stir, then pour the liquid over the onions and stir again.

• Simmer gently for 15–20 minutes, skimming any impurities from the surface. Add a little more boiling water if your soup is looking too thick. Add the sugar and season to taste.

• To make the croutons, rub one side of the baguette slices with olive oil and sprinkle with grated cheese. Grill until bubbling.

• Pour the soup into bowls, float the croutons on top and enjoy.

I have never before cooked or ate onion soup, so I was a little sceptical. Nevertheless, I prepared everything and started cooking. And guys, believe me, it was one of the easiest recipes in my life (I love cooking. And baking), and the soup tasted delicious! (PS. Aren’t those images GEORGEOUS??? Aren’t they? And they are made by Fiona Gibson herself! I love them!).

Of course I wouldn’t be myself if I didn’t change something, but it is cooking, not baking, where you must follow the recipe exactly, and even with my changes the soup was brilliant. Très bon! And voilà!

 

Leave a Reply

