Falling for Prince Charles by Lauren Baratz – Logsted

Falling for Prince Charles

by Lauren Baratz – Logsted

 

Publisher: Diversion Books

Publishing Date: 9th February 2016

Source:  Copy provided by the publisher via NetGalley, thank you!

Number of pages: 320

Genre: Women’s Fiction, Romance

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

 Synopsis:

Daisy Silverman has always been obsessed with His Royal Highness, Prince Charles. When the underachieving 30-something cleaning lady wins a million dollars, she follows her lifelong dream to go to London. Once there, she meets Prince Charles—the real Prince Charles. Through a series of misunderstandings, the Royal Family doesn’t realize that Daisy’s Jewish or that she’s spent her life up to the elbows in the wrong kind of toilet water. By the time they do, Daisy is in love with Charles, Charles is in love with Daisy, and the Queen’s white gloves are off. FALLING FOR PRINCE CHARLES is an offbeat alternate-universe romantic comedy showing the heir to the British throne in a light quite unlike any he’s been seen in before.

Rating: 3/5

 

As soon as I’ve seen this book, with this lovely colourful cover and very eye – catching title (I mean, Prince Charles. Everybody is always falling for Prince Harry, right? Why not to fall for Prince Charles? And a REAL Prince Charles – catchy, no?), I was intrigued – it looked so promising, so fresh, funny and different, and I was really desperate to read this novel.

But I am so torn about this book – it could be a brilliant read but sadly, somehow, for me it seems that the author had a great idea but in the end she didn’t know how to work this idea and turn it into a unique, wonderful story. I had a little problem with the writing – don’t get me wrong, it was light and fresh, but the sentences were built in a very complicated way, and often I found myself going back to the beginning of the sentence and reading it again and again, trying to get into the meaning of it, to find what it was about. For example: „It seemed to Daisy that the British Monarchy was the ultimate pyramid corporation, and that all of Diana’s problems had started with the erroneous assumption that she could blithely leapfrog her way to the pinnacle, when even peasants, even commoners, even Americans like Daisy knew that there was only ever one person at the top of any pyramid” – it was one of the easiest ones. „This was in no way surprising from a scientific standpoint, what with the nasal cavity residing in intimate biological proximity to the oral cavity” – I know, it should have been funny. There were often only two sentences on the whole page, so long were they. Now, I have nothing against eloquence but sometimes you just need to pair the syntax with the content. It was incredibly flowery descriptive and with the number of adjectives you could probably write two or three books. And the abbreviations. B.P. R.F. Q.M. Or KKKK or SSSS, whatever it was – believe me, after all those descriptions it took me always some time to decode them.

Sure, I appreciate the fact that it was supposed to be a totally different romance. However, it felt kind of strange reading about living, real people and what they were thinking, saying or doing, keeping in mind that it is rather fiction. Of course, the author might have captured the style, but I just couldn’t shake off the feeling that it is too far – fetched, and couldn’t stop thinking what those people would think, should they read this novel. I understand the concept of fiction! Of course I do, but I think that a made up royal family would serve this book better. I mean, dialogues between Prince Charles and his footman? And I don’t know, as I don’t know the Royal Family (ha! It would be something!) but I just can’t imagine Queen being so open with a girl that just appeared and followed Charles. Let’s do it either properly, like it should be, or let’s not do it at all. And the ending in this novel – I am really sorry, but this was an absolute no – go. I mean, it was almost like changing history. We all know what’s happening with Prince Charles right now, so even pulling the ending up into fiction still made it much too far – fetched.

Everything seemed so far – fetched in this story in fact. Daisy suddenly winning a lottery, her flying over to the UK with a woman who has sold her her lottery tickets for years (dropping everything on the spur of the moment and just like that following Daisy across the ocean), and finally meeting the dreamed – of Prince Charles and, in the end, the whole Royal Family. And of course Prince Charles falling immediately for Daisy, an ex – cleaner (nothing wrong with cleaners!!! Nothing!), falling for her so much that he wants to marry her. And oh yes, Daisy meeting Princess Diana as well – Princess Diana being very curious about the new one in Charles’s life and „chance” meeting Daisy when shopping. I mean, there might be a coincidence or two, sure, but really? Really? Even fiction must feel possible to happen.

I didn’t have a problem with the thousands points of view, the only problem I had were the people. However, following the rule that less is more, I can’t see a point of adding the voices of Bill and Hillary Clinton, or Jodie Foster. It didn’t help the book a lot, it only made it much more confusing, because what do they have to add to the story of Daisy?

So you know, overall it was not a bad book. It was in fact sharp – funny and I appreciate the British humour. I enjoyed Daisy’s escapades and also her down – to – earth descriptions of the Royal Family, as she didn’t allow to be impressed, and altogether, there was something in the book that made me like it, hence these 3 stars, despite all my problems with it. I haven’t read any stories by this author before and after reading „Falling for Prince Charles” I am more than willing to give her other books a go, hoping that they are not so try – hard as this novel, as it was a little on the overdone side.

Leave a Reply

