Sleepless in Manhattan by Sarah Morgan

Sleepless in Manhattan

by Sarah Morgan

 

Publisher: Mira

Publishing Date: 10th March 2016

Source:  Copy provided by the publisher via NetGalley, thank you!

Number of pages: 384

Genre: Women’s Fiction, Romance

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

 Synopsis:

Great friends. Amazing Apartment. An incredible job. Paige has ticked off every box on perfect New York life checklist. Until disaster strikes…

What if the person who broke your heart, is the only one who can help you find your future?
Great friends. Amazing Apartment. An incredible job. Paige has ticked off every box on perfect New York life checklist. Until disaster strikes and instead of shimming further up the career ladder, Paige is packing up her desk.

Her brother’s best friend Jake might be the only person who can help her put her life back together. He also happens to be the boy she spent her teen years pining after, and Paige is determined not repeat her past mistakes. But the more time she spends with Jake, the more Paige realises the one thing that was missing from her world all along. The perfect New York love story…

 Rating: 2/5

 

So, Sarah Morgan. I haven’t read all of her books, but this what I had a pleasure to read has totally convinced me to this author, so when I’ve seen that her new book, „Sleepless in Manhattan”, is going to be published, I knew I want to read it. Because of the author, because of the synopsis, and because of this lovely, gorgeous cover – I love it. I just love it. It’s pink, guys! Pink! This novel is the first one in the „From Manhattan with Love” trilogy and super thrilled I was waiting to start it and love it.

However, I have also never waited so impatiently for a book to eventually come to end. It turned out to be totally not my kind of read.

I am truly sorry to say that Jake is the kind of male character that I totally dislike in the books. For me, there was nothing neither exciting nor sexy in him – I despise such alpha males playing hard to get and heaping blame for all his problems on their childhood and treating women like the last dirt. Really, there was nothing in him that I found positive or interesting. I much more liked and warmed to Paige’s brother and Jake’s best friend, Matt, who was also so clichéd in this whole „don’t touch my baby sister or I’m going to kill you” thing, but he seemed much more normal and warm and I’m for sure going to read the next book in the series if it’s going to feature Matt. Though not necessary Frankie, as I can guess it’s going to be processing her bad past, what with the „special” mother that was mentioned a few times in „Sleepless in Manhattan”.

Also, Paige. Can somebody please explain me what was SO SPECIAL in this woman that everybody wanted to PROTECT her all the time? Yes, I get it, she had a heart condition, but she was okay now, right? I would get crazy being Paige, with everybody trying to protect me, nearly seclude me from the world, organize everything for me, everything in the name of protection. Paige wanted to be so, so independent but at the first sight of an obstacle she went with a tail between her legs either to her brother or to Jake. There is nothing wrong in asking for help, absolutely nothing, but after repeating over and over again she won’t accept any help it was… well, weird.

Altogether, the characters felt much too clichéd for my liking, alpha males with big hearts, beautiful girls with hidden talents, and even though something went wrong for them at the beginning of the story, they had all the right contacts to start afresh. Also, to be totally honest, it took me a long time to understand what it is that the girls are doing, what kind of work Urban Genie does, and I can really understand the embarrassment and troubles with the stag party.

I also had a feeling we are going in circles and that I am reading the same thing only: about Paige starting her new business, or about Paige and Jake playing cat and mouse, never – ending game of will they/won’t they, and to be totally honest, I couldn’t care less if they’re going to stay together or not – though of course it was more than predictable how the book is going to end.
The whole setting up of the business, organizing everything took so much time, and I was waiting for something to happen eventually – the pace was not fast enough for me, the story dragged on too much and I must be a champion in skim – reading right now and not feeling that I missed something. This bubbling romance between Page and Jake was totally not my kind of thing and I had a feeling that I’ve read about it thousand times before – it was also dragging on and on, even though it was obvious from the very beginning how it’s going to end. And I’m sorry, but the supposed chemistry between those two also didn’t sweep me off my feet.

What I liked was the feeling of friendship, great descriptions of New York and the dialogues, which sounded very realistic, though sometimes there were too many conversations and I am so disappointed because I so wanted to love this book, I truly did, but it just annoyed the hell out of me. It felt a little too flat and too obvious, there was nothing that I can say that surprised me, it didn’t bring anything new and the lack of originality has really bothered me, as I know that I can expect much more from Sarah Morgan. Sure, I can see that the book is already receiving raving reviews, that people are delighted with it, and that’s OK, but it just didn’t work for me.

Leave a Reply

