Fix You by Carrie Elks

Fix You

by Carrie Elks

 

Publisher: Corvus

Publishing Date: 4th February 2016

Source:  Copy provided by the publisher, thank you!

Number of pages: 368

Genre: Women’s Fiction, Romance

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

 Synopsis:

You’ve found the one, but what if life has other plans?

London, 31st December 1999
At a party to toast the new millennium, Hanna meets Richard. He is a gorgeous, wealthy New Yorker. She is a self-assured, beautiful Londoner with no interest in clean-cut American men. They are from different worlds and have nothing in common… except for their instant – and mutual – attraction to one another.
As the clocks chime midnight it is a new year and the beginning of a wonderful romance.

New York, 12th May 2012
Hanna, the girl who broke Richard’s heart, walks into his Wall Street office – and back into his life – to reveal an explosive secret.

He was sure they were meant to be together forever, but she broke his heart so completely the last time, can he find a way to let her mend the pieces?

Warm, witty and a perfect piece of modern romance, Fix You is a love story to melt your heart.

Rating: 2/5

 

„Fix You” by Carrie Elks was an ebook sensation, but I personally came across this beautiful paperback through Twitter, after Corvus was to published it, where there was a great buzz going on. I loved the cover, I loved the synopsis, and I wanted to see for myself if the book is as brilliant as people say, so as soon as my copy arrived, I started reading it.

So I’ll be honest with you. When I started it, after some time I have put this book away for a few moments hoping that when I get back to it, I’m going to enjoy it much more. Sadly, it was not the case. I’ve mostly skim – read this book, getting more and more angry for wasting my time that I’ll never get back. It may sound harsh, but this is the way I’m feeling – it really tried my patience. I kept reading in the hope to eventually start enjoy this book as much as so many other people did but it never happened.

I lately read a book that covers over 20 years of relationship, also jumping between the time and covering the most important events in the characters’ lives, almost same as in „Fix You”, as here the story follows the characters for over 13 years, but the books couldn’t be differently written, and while I adored the other one, I had some issues with „Fix You”. The chapters jump in time and between London and New York, and the breaks between the dates are very different and they also don’t help – sometimes it’s only a day and sometimes a year, and they present some significant moments in the characters’ lives, their paths crossing and un – crossing to make a full circle and get back to the opening conversation between Hanna and Richard at the beginning of the book. But this jumping between the dates, it just made the story so unclear, so choppy, the chapters end abruptly and then we see the characters a year later. The author drops some events that happened in the particular years into the story, such as 9/11, the „accident” of Justin Timberlake and Janet Jackson at the Superbowl Final in 2004, and more, and I thought, why? What does it bring to the story? Anyone?

The story follows mostly Hanna Vincent’s life and it starts in 2012, when Hanna enters Richard Larsen’s office to announce that they have a baby – so actually from the very beginning we know the climax, and we can easily predict what’s going to happen next – the will they/won’t they between the characters with some obstacles thrown under their feet until eventually they sail together into the sunset and happy end. Full marks for guessing here.
The characters. Oh my word, guys, how they annoyed me. Richard belongs to my least – favourite category of characters. You know, you can be rich and wealthy, have connections, be well – born etc, and still be a likeable hero, but Richard was not. He was obnoxious, arrogant, used to get what he wants, and of course with a tender heart somewhere deep, such a cliché. With zero depth to him. And there were thousands of characters in the story. Both Hanna and Richard had patchwork families with step – mothers, fathers, siblings and I was mostly wondering who is who, to whom they belong and are we on the set of „Dynasty” soap opera?

The story dragged. Really. It felt so slow and I had a feeling that nothing in particular is happening there and to be honest, I’m not sure what was the story. It just felt so on the surface, I’ve missed some depth to it and I had a feeling the author tries too hard and then just let go. The narration, writing style feels too wooden and there is no progress at all. I really feel sorry because I wanted to love this book so much, and disappointed that it didn’t happen. But this is not a bad read altogether, I think. It just didn’t work for me. All the men fell immediately in love with Hanna. Every chapter took us more and more in the future and quickly it just made me feel tired, as we didn’t stop at anything and it just felt so very cursorily. All the things that were happening usually found their solutions in the same chapter. Yes, I have really had high expectation for this story and it makes me feel angry with myself that it didn’t happen, but I can’t change these feeling. Nevertheless, I will be looking for more from Carrie Elks – who knows, her next novel may blow me away :)

Leave a Reply

