The Wedding Date by Jennifer Joyce

The Wedding Date

by Jennifer Joyce

 

Publisher: Carina

Publishing Date: 28th March 2016

Source:  Copy provided by the publisher vie NetGalley, thank you!

Number of pages: 290

Genre: Women’s Literature, Romance

 Buy the Book: Kindle

 

 Synopsis:

Delilah James, singleton and smoothie-addict, has six months to find a date for her oldest friend’s wedding. Oh, and to prove to her ex, best man Ben, that she has totally moved on since he dumped her out-of-the-blue nine months, eight days and seventeen hours ago…

So, with her two BFFs playing Cupid, Delilah launches herself into the high-tech, fast-paced and frankly terrifying world of dating. Luckily there’s the hot new guy at work, Adam Sinclair, to practice her flirting on – even if, as a colleague, he’s strictly off-limits!

Yet time’s running out and date after disastrous date forces Delilah to tell a little white lie – and invent a fake boyfriend! But will her secret crush on Adam ruin everything? Does she even care about Ben anymore? And is it too late to untangle her web of lies and take a real date to the wedding…?

Rating: 4/5

 

I liked the sound of the book so very much, and as it is by Jennifer Joyce, I was sure that I am for a treat – I read her „The Mince Pie Mix – Up” last year and enjoyed it totally, and I can remember that Jennifer’s writing style was exceptionally funny and warm, so without hesitation I hit the „Request” button and was looking forward to starting reading this novel.

The idea of the plot is simple, but it is often the simplest things that works best, right? So Delilah claims she’s over her ex – boyfriend, well, it’s already 9 months that they’re not together, and she can move on, but then she somehow lets it slip that she’s going to bring a new boyfriend to her friend’s wedding. The problem is, there is no boyfriend, and it starts to be clear that Delilah is NOT over Ben yet. So then continues the frantic search for a perfect boyfriend, and you know me, I love good dating stories and was waiting holding my breath to read about those hilarious dates and men that Delilah is going to meet. And well, yes, some of them made me really smile, but I couldn’t help thinking that they are also so, so clichéd – I mean, how often did I read about men that aren’t over their ex – wives or very competitive guys who can’t see them losing at anything? Yes, sure, it was brilliantly and lightly written but I couldn’t feel this teeny tiny disappointed at the lack of originality here. Nevertheless, Delilah MUST find a date to show Ben how much she’s over him, so a project Wedding Date appears and Delilah’s two best friends, Ryan and Lauren, help her to find her a perfect boyfriend. Between a date or two there were two really serious competitors for Delilah’s charms, and I really wasn’t sure which way is the story going to end. On the other hand, it is clear almost from the very beginning who the perfect date for the wedding is and only Delilah doesn’t see this – however, at the end the author has complicated the things a little and I wasn’t so sure how I’d like it to end, and I was a little torn, especially after Lauren’s revelation.

Delilah tells a lot of lies, that’s true, but these were not lies that were putting someone in danger, so I personally didn’t see it as a very big problem. It was Delilah herself who had a problem, as she suddenly realised that she tangled herself in a little web of these lies and stopped remembering what’s true and what’s not and who knows what. And I liked her. She was tough and optimistic, and she didn’t give up when things looked really, really bad. Life has been throwing lots of obstacles at her feet but she always kept her head high.

It was a light – hearted, feel – good romantic comedy, and I can’t express how much I loved that each chapter started with a short test message exchange between Delilah and her friends. They were hilarious and I think I could read a whole book made only out of these messages! It was a predictable, but warm and sweet read with great characters that develop on the way, especially our Delilah. The writing style stayed the same and the author has really a great talent to tell stories in a warm, hooking way – it is a novel to brighten up your day and make you feel better. Recommended!

Leave a Reply

