Guest Post by Portia MacIntosh

Portia MacIntosh is the author of already six novel, and the newest one was published only last week, on 11th April. It’s called „Truth or Date” and if you haven’t read it yet, please do it and thank me later for recommendation. Seriously. It is a really brilliant, laugh – out – loud novel with some great one – liners and you can read my review here. Portia was also so, so nice and to celebrate the release has written a Guest Post on her Dating History, which personally I find hilarious! Thank you, Portia, and you guys enjoy!

 

My dating history: The good, the bad and the ugly

 

When I sat down to write my latest novel, Truth or Date, I had just spent a year playing the dating game, so I had lots of experience to draw upon.

My book focuses around the life of Ruby Wood, a twenty-something playing the dating game. She has a red-hot dream about her very attractive flatmate, Nick, but even though he spends every day saving lives as a junior doctor, he’s absolutely the last man on earth that fun-loving Ruby would ever date. The solution? Focus on all of Nick’s bad points. And if that fails, up her dating antics and find herself a man! So what if she manages to make disapproving, goody two-shoes Nick jealous in the process…

Ruby goes on a few nightmarish dates while on her quest for true love – something I expired myself, so I thought I’d share with you my ultimate good, bad and ugly dates.

 

The Ugly

 

My first Tinder date was absolutely horrendous. They guy was significantly shorter than he claimed to be (not that I care about stuff like that) and the first thing he did was have a go at me for wearing heels. He proceeded to repeatedly try and push me over “for fun”, unzip the back of my dress to make it fall off and forcibly kiss me fifteen minutes into our date.

 

The Bad

 

I dated a guy so boring, we just sat in silence for the whole date. When he tried to kiss me, as much as I wasn’t really fancying him, I thought I’d give him the benefit of the doubt (‘maybe he’s just nervous?’) and I figured it would at least fill the silence with something, but he thought it was sexy to keep biting me – hard. Not sexy at all, FYI.

 

The Good

 

I’d been on so many bad dates that I’d actually started to expect them all to be horrible, so as devastatingly handsome and as charming as the guy was that I was seeing was, I didn’t expect to be anything but disappointed, because that’s how dates go, right? But we went for cocktails, we sat outside and chatted all night, working out way through he menu, laughing, flirting… I couldn’t get over how easy he was to be around and how happy and comfortable I felt in his presence. A fluke, I thought; no one could be so wonderful. On another date, he took me to the most beautiful park where we walked around in the sunshine and rolled around in the grass – I didn’t think that date could’ve been any more perfect until a few months later, when he told me that’s where his parents got married. I thought that was really sweet.

Leave a Reply

