Truth or Date by Portia MacIntosh

Truth or Date

by Portia MacIntosh

 

Publisher: Carina

Publishing Date: 11th April 2016

Source:  Copy provided by the publisher via NetGalley, thank you!

Number of pages: 243

Genre: Women’s Fiction

 Buy the Book: Kindle

 

 Synopsis:

Falling for the man of her dreams…

Ruby Wood is perfectly happy playing the dating game – until she has a red-hot dream about her very attractive flatmate, Nick. He might spend every day saving lives as a junior doctor, but he’s absolutely the last man on earth that fun-loving Ruby would ever date!

The solution? Focus on all of Nick’s bad points. And if that fails, up her dating antics and find herself a man! So what if she manages to make disapproving, goody two-shoes Nick jealous in the process…

Only, after a series of nightmare first dates, there’s still just one man on Ruby’s mind. Maybe it’s time to admit the truth and dare to ask Nick to be her next date?

Rating: 4/5

 

I’ve fallen in love with Portia Macintosh after reading her previous novel „Drive Me Crazy” – this book was just my kind of book, I loved the way it was written, its humour and that it was so high – tech and up – to – date. So I don’t think that I need to tell you that I didn’t need any coaxing to request „Truth or Date” as soon as it appeared on NetGalley (thanks Carina for the auto – approval!!!). It was not only the synopsis that so appealed to me but also this lovely, gorgeous cover, one of the most beautiful ones!

So, I thought, dates. Thousands of dates. I love books with dates and the more dates (the more crazy, unbelievable dates I mean) the better. But sadly, there were not as many unique and fresh dates as I hoped for. And not as hilarious. But well, I really can live with this what we got :) I also had a feeling this book is a little chaotic and messy, but not in a wrong way, though it made the reading this little bit more complicated. Also, it took me some time to get into the story, I’m not sure why, I think it was because of Ruby, who was a rather difficult to like character. I liked her, but not from the beginning, she was more on the bad – ass side, too loud, too arrogant, too everything, with a very big mouth but once I got used to her I started to enjoy the story much more.

Ruby and Millsy are – even though they’re so childish at times, so quirky and good-for-nothing – adults. And best friends. But I think that their light – headedness was a part of their charm, and either you took them as they were and loved them, or not, and if it’s the case of „not” then you’ll have a problem with this book. They are quirky, smooth – tongued and self – confident, larger than life colourful characters.
But no matter how bad, boring, uptight Nick was described I ADORED him from the very beginning, and I really don’t know what took Ruby so long to start sexy – dreaming about him. I also don’t know what Nick has seen in Heather, she would be the perfect witch from Snow White. I really, really liked how polar opposites Ruby and Nick were, you know what they say, that opposites attract and this attraction was truly noticeable. The way they bickered with each other, the way how they only seemed to notice things that annoyed them in the other person were just hilarious!

But back to Ruby. I think what was so great in Ruby was the fact that she was a) so normal, b) so accident – prone, c) she rolled from one disaster to another and d) she acted just like we act. She had better and worse days, she said the wrong things to the wrong people, she was living in hope that one day everything will be better. Yes, it took me some time to warm to her but I think I’m just too old and too boring :) As the book is told from Ruby’s point of view we get a full view of her ideas, thoughts and opinions and oh my, sometimes she was really overwhelming. She and Millsy were a match made in heaven, they were both messy and didn’t care about anything other than booze and having a great time and you know, there was a moment I started to suspect that these two are going to end together :) But really, there is also some kind of magic in Ruby as I found myself getting fonder and fonder of her throughout the story, and she was also maturing and growing up but not loosing her carelessness and craziness, which I personally think is a great thing. She’s down to earth, funny and sharp and deep inside she only wants to be happy.

The closure of the romance seemed a little too rushed for me. I mean, it was obvious how the story is going to end but nevertheless, with all the obstacles, problems and dilemmas, which were really well written by the way, but still, the sudden change of mind was a little odd for my liking – maybe it’s because there was too little of the male character’s inner thoughts? I don’t know, to be honest, but I just had this feeling that the end, while happy end, doesn’t sit with the way the whole story was built.

„Truth or Date” is a funny, quirky, fast – paced read with many laugh – out – loud moments. Yes, it is a tad predictable but as I always say, there is predictable and predictable, and this time it didn’t bother me at all. Written in a very light, easy to follow way it brilliantly explores all kinds of relationships. There is enough sarcasm and enough humour and well, I think that we all have been Ruby once or twice, right? So if you are in need to read a book that’s going to make you laugh but also with some embarrassing, face – palm moments with a heroine whose actions are relatable and ring a bell, give „Truth or Date” a go, you won’t regret it!

Leave a Reply

