Danger, Sweetheart by MaryJanice Davidson

Hello, hello lovelies, today I am a part of  „Danger, Sweetheart” blog port and I am super thrilled with this fact :) You can read my review of this very special book and when you scroll down, there is also an excerpt, which is a great thing because it gives you a great insight into the way this book is written. So make yourself comfortable and enjoy!

 

Danger, Sweetheart

by MaryJanice Davidson

 

Publisher: Piatkus

Publishing Date: 10th May 2016

Source:  Copy provided by the publisher, thank you!

Number of pages: 336

Genre: General Fiction (Adult)

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

 Synopsis:

Blake Tarbell has a town to save. Rich, carefree, and used to the Vegas party lifestyle, Blake is thrown for a curve when his former cocktail-waitress mother pleads he go back to her roots to save the town she grew up in. Blake’s used to using money to solve his problems, but when he arrives in Sweetheart, North Dakota, this city boy has to trade in his high-priced shoes for a pair of cowboy boots – and he’s about to get a little help from the loveliest lady in town . . .

Natalie Lane’s got no time for newbies. The prettiest gal to ever put on a pair of work gloves, there’s nothing she can’t do to keep a farm up and running. But when a handsome city-slicker rolls into town with nothing but bad farmer’s instincts and good intentions, Natalie’s heartstrings are pulled. She’s about to teach him a thing or two about how to survive in Sweetheart. And he’s about to teach her a thing or two about love.

 Rating: 4/5

 

Oh my word, guys, THIS book! I honestly have no idea where to start, maybe with saying that I have never before read a book that annoyed the hell out of me and made me laugh so much at the same time. After reading the blurb I thought, why not, let’s see what’s going to happen but I wasn’t prepared for this chaos – but chaos in a positive sense, as it turned out at the end.

I’ve never read MaryJanice Davidson before, even though the list of her titles at the beginning of the book is really impressive, and so I truly didn’t know what to expect, and this novel has just killed me. Killed me with its plot, the way it was written, with the characters… I really have no idea how to write a review for it, I think I’ve never read anything like this before. Yes, we have a small town girl here, very rich hero with a twin and thousands of challenges, but believe me, the way it was written changes everything, and the way the author complicates things and adds other sub – plots, challenges (also on the animal front…) made this novel exceptional. In a good sense. Even though I was so frustrated at the beginning that I wanted to put this book away and never look at it again, and only the fact that I am a part of the blog tour kept me going – because at the beginning I had a very overwhelming feeling that the author has just tried much too much, that she was going out of her way with the humour and the characters reminded me of the characters from „The Dynasty” soap opera – it was all so far – fetched, too overblown, too exaggerated and it nerved me soooo much, but I kept going and kept reading and soon I got used to this writing style and I started to laugh. Because you must laugh when reading this story, it is sometimes so absurd and so unrealistic but nevertheless, it’s still funny!

Shortly, it is a story about Blake, the rich, carefree and used to partying in Las Vegas Blake Tarbell is going to get a taste of country life, life very different to the one he is leading and he must exchange his expensive shoes for cowboy boots and who finds himself in North Dakota to help his mum with the farm that she inherited and to bring the town back to life, because everybody wants to leave Sweetheart (yes. That’s the name of the town). While there, his mum (Shannah Banaan – yeah, I know. But you don’t want to call her Shanna – Banana, though I’m not sure what’s going to happen when you do) cuts him off from his trust fund (no idea why, to be honest), so Blake must work on the ranch even though he has no idea about farming, moreover, with people who don’t like him, with a girl who drives him crazy (welcome Natalie, who, on the other hand, knows everything about running a farm and she’s about to teach Blake a thing or two, but also Blake is going to teach her something. But first of all he must learn that Natalie takes no prisoners)  and also doesn’t like him, with a hen with a strange name consisting of numbers only, pig and a pony who wants to kill him, while his twin brother enjoys his life in Venice or some other place (even though he has no idea how come he is in the place for a first). Lots of „no ideas” here, right? But altogether, and this is the strangest thing guys, it all just worked together. Maybe I didn’t connect with the characters so much, or didn’t fell for them with my whole heart, but I liked them and they made me laugh hard. So hard.

So really, at first I was caught between not believing my eyes and thinking WTF??? and laughing so much that my sides hurt. Some of the scenes were so unrealistic and so far – fetched, and add to this dialogues that sometimes didn’t make any sense to me, but it was FUN. PURE.

Yes, there were moments that the events were happening so quickly, and everything was just hard to follow and I needed a moment or two to think where we are and what’s happening and why. There was some randomness in the storytelling, it felt too chaotic and you needed a breather then. Also, I am still not sure what’s happened with the farm and why Blake’s mum inherited it, what happened, what could happen if Blake won’t come to help her and I assume that the last pressure method was visit from Blake’s grandmother, but why? It is also written in an unusual way, when the characters are speaking they start to think things that are written then in another font in the brackets, they were commenting the conversations in their heads and it was throwing me a little off the astride and took me some time to get used to, and the plot was a little confusing at some points.

It is not a book that’ll have you  gushing about the depth of the plot, characters changing and developing, about hidden messages – no. But it is entertainment pure and while I was so sceptical at the beginning, after my initial uncertainty, I truly, truly enjoyed this novel. So really, if you are looking for a good laugh, some work on the farm and a little romance, this is a book for you. There was something addictive in this and after I stopped wanting to put it away, I just didn’t want to put it away anymore, and I’ve read it in two days. I am really like, 3 stars for the storyline,  and the additional star for this overwhelming sense of humour.
And only now I am seeing that this book is the beginning of the series – is that so? And if it is, then I am looking forward to reading the next book, really.

 

EXCERPT:

Natalie Lane watched the rented truck cover the last half mile to Heartbreak and was not impressed. This would be the first of what promised to be weeks of awful days, and not for the first time she wondered why she didn’t give up, give in, and get lost. Follow half the town out of town. Let Sweetheart die.

Not even if he stuck a gun in my ear. Because it wasn’t the town, it was never the town, it was always the people. Well. Most of the people. Garrett Hobbes, for example, could fuck right off. The world needed more golf courses like a diabetic needed a glucose drip.

The truck passed the last gate and pulled up between the farmhouse and Barn Main. The engine quit and she could see him in the driver’s seat, moving his hands, and was he . . . ? Was he patting the steering wheel? In a well done, mighty steed way? Yes. Yes he was.

Self-congratulation must run in that family, she mused. Oh, and look at this. He remembered to kick out the ladder this time. Too bad. She’d  have loved to see him on his ass in the dirt. Again.

“It’s you!” he said as he hopped down, having the balls-out nerve to sound excited. Except where did she get off ? Before she knew who he was, she’d have been happy to see him, too. If anything, she was more pissed because she had liked him on short acquaintance. What  if he’d never seen her in her other life? When would she have found out his terrible truth? Their first date? Their first month–aversary? Their wedding night?

Wedding night? Jeez, Natalie, get a grip.

“Hello again.” He stuck out his hand, which she definitely didn’t notice was large and looked strong, especially in contrast to her own teeny paws. Nor did she notice he had big hands and, as a glance at his shoes told her, big feet, and she definitely didn’t form a theory about his dick based solely on his sizeable mitts. She also didn’t notice how his smile took years from his face, or how his pricey clothes beautifully set off those long legs and wide shoulders, that  the color of his crisp button-down shirt was the same color as his dark blue eyes, that his tan slacks

(slacks? Seriously? Slacks?)

fit like they were made for him

(of course they were; guy’s probably got a fleet of tailors stashed somewhere)

and that his swimmer’s shoulders made his waist appreciably narrow in contrast.

He was still holding out his hand, and she gave it a brief listless shake, the limp kind with the bare tips of her fingers. “You’re late.”

BE SURE TO CHECK  THE OTHER „DANGER, SWEETHEART” BLOG TOUR STOPS:

Leave a Reply

