Love and Other Man – Made Disasters by Nicola Doherty

So guys, today – as it happens – I have two very exciting Blog Tours for you and here is the second one, for Nicola Doherty’s new novel „Love and Other Man – Made Disasters”. It is Nicola’s first contemporary teen romance and I am excited to tell you that no matter what she writes – the books are winners! Here is my review of this lovely, charming read and here you can find Q&A with the Author about the book! Enjoy!

 

Love and Other Man – Made Disasters

by Nicola Doherty

 

Publisher: Orion Children’s Books

Publishing Date: 2nd June 2016

Source:  Copy provided by the publisher, thank you!.

Number of pages: 240

Genre: Young Adult

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

 Synopsis:

A contemporary teen romance by Irish author, Nicola Doherty, about facing your fears and falling in love. A story with humour and heart, this book is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Holly Smale and Stephanie Perkins.

Juno is scared of a lot of things. Climate change, urban foxes, zombies – the usual. So when she goes on a skiing holiday with her mum’s adrenaline-mad new husband and his tearaway twins, she doesn’t hold much hope of surviving. Then she meets Boy. Gruff, hairy and thrill-seeking, he’s everything Juno doesn’t like. Or is he? Juno’s about to discover there’s nothing more scary than falling in love.

Rating: 4/5

 

Nicola Doherty, a well established chick lit author, is trying herself writing contemporary teen romance, and „Love and Other Man – Made Disasters” is her first attempt- and let me tell you right now, a very successful attempt! It seems that this genre comes to her as easily and comfortably as writing stories for the older audience. You know, I rather don’t read YA as the characters in those books, these young people full of themselves thinking they’ve seen everything already just annoy me incredibly, but for Nicola I’ve decided to make an exception and I was absolutely right, as the book is directed, yes, mostly to the young readers, but the characters there are clever young people and I really, truly enjoyed the story of Juno.

Juno is the main character in this novel. The fact that I couldn’t so fully understand her, because I am a total opposite of her, didn’t mean that I haven’t warmed to her immediately and fell for her, which I have. My heart went to her – she worries about almost everything, things like planes crashing, zombies, apocalypses etc, things that for adults are usually a matter of shrugging shoulders but for teenagers might be really important, and she feels safe only when studying for her A – Levels, when everything runs according to her schedule and plans – and yes, she worries, but thanks god this worrying isn’t on the verge of obsession, it doesn’t rule her world, she’s just worried.
But skiing holiday with her mum and her new husband Ed and his two eight year old twins is totally not the plan, right???

There was this „something” in Juno that made me like her straight away. I’m not sure what it was, maybe it was her awkwardness, her honesty, the fact that she was really nice yet the author didn’t overdone on the niceness… Don’t know, but whatever it was, I just liked her and kept my fingers crossed for her. It was great to see how she slowly comes out of her comfort zones, how determined she is to learn new things, how she wants to make amends and how, finally, she decides to take her life in her own hands. She’s normal – not perfect, not strong, not self – confident, and this all makes her a brilliant, full of potential character.

Nicola Doherty has also in a lovely way weaved the romance aspect into the story, and she made it really believable. Because even teenagers can fall in love, right, and I really liked how natural and genuine the author described it in this book, with all the ups and downs of first love. The character that our Juno very surprisingly, without warning fell in love with – Boy – is a very interesting, a little different young man that also felt genuine in his actions.

Perhaps I can fully appreciate this novel because I belong to Nicola’s older generation fans and I’ve been there, I’ve seen this, and I can for sure say that the author has done a great job with the story, sneaking some messages into the plot as well. The characters there get a taste of real life and learn that real life is not always a bed of roses, that sometimes it’s terrifying and difficult, but this all is put in brilliant, easy and humorous words, totally suitable to the audience it is directed to.

Altogether „Love and Other Man – Made Disasters” is a lovely, sweet, engaging story that I’ll for sure pass onto my daughter when she’s big enough. It’s down to earth and you can relate to the characters – both young and adult. It is a relatively short read, and thanks to the short, sharp any dynamic chapters reading it was like flying through the pages. The writing style didn’t change at all, it’s light and easy to follow, and full of those funny moments that I so love. Moreover, what I so liked in this book is that it has plot, it’s about SOMETHING – family, friendship, letting go, learning to trust – it has characters with a depth, not as the other YA books that I’ve read before (yes, maybe I’ve read the wrong ones. Who knows) where the characters were thinking about drinking and partying only. Sure, Juno develops and opens, which of course also involves parties and new friends, but she’s still likeable, intelligent young woman who knows what’s really important in life (as opposed to the other young characters that I came across in the books before. OK. Won’t be moaning again). I will be for sure reading Nicola Doherty’s next YA novel!

 

BE SURE TO CHECK THE OTHER STOPS ON THE BLOG TOUR!

Leave a Reply

