Katy Carter Keeps a Secret by Ruth Saberton

Katy Carter Keeps a Secret

by Ruth Saberton

 

Publisher: Notting Hill Press

Publishing Date: 18th June 2016

Source:  Copy provided by the author,  thank you!.

Number of pages: 273

Genre: Women’s Literature, Contemporary

 Buy the Book: Kindle

 

Synopsis:

There are some things a girl has to keep to herself…

Hopeless romantic Katy Carter still dreams of becoming bestselling novelist. A ghost writer by trade, Katy knows she’s no Booker Prize winner but has fun penning sizzling scenes and hot heroes for celebrity novels. Writing aside, Katy no longer fantasises about a hero of her own – she’s found him in teacher boyfriend, Ollie. After five years together their own happy ever after is just around the corner – if she can only rescue the couple’s ailing finances.

But with Ollie becoming increasingly career minded and teaching at a very strict school, Katy’s racy writing soon causes difficulties. When she secretly signs a contract with steamy publisher Throb, tensions mount. A surprise trip across the pond brings things to a head, sparking a chain of events which set Katy on a collision course with family, friends and, most of all, her one true hero…

Rating: 5/5

 

Ruth Saberton is one of my favourite authors. I haven’t read all of her books, as I have a feeling that she writes quicker than I read, but each new release from her is for me a special treat and I know that I am for a few hours of utter joy. Even though it is already five years since I read „Katy Carter Wants a Hero”, starting to read a sequel to this book was like connecting with long – lost friend. I felt immediately at home and it was a great joy to see all those lovely characters again.

Katy hasn’t changed, not at all, and I don’t know if it’s good or not so :) A secondary school teacher, she now is a supply teacher. She used to dream of being a bestselling author, and she still dreams of it, though her dream has actually came true, as she has ghost – written books for a very popular WAG and the books sell like crazy, though it was not exactly what Katy meant, right? She used to secretly scribble down a historic blockbuster while teaching, and now she secretly scribbles down an erotica (also while teaching). Oh Katy… :) But one thing hasn’t changed – she wanted to have her own romantic hero and she has him in the person of the lovely Ollie!

„Katy Carter Keeps a Secret” is a fun and light read, just like I have expected it to be! It is told from Katy’s point of view, just like the previous book, and her voice is brilliant – funny, engaging and so easy to follow, and even though there were moments that she frustrated me oh so much, I nevertheless kept my fingers crossed for her. Katy stayed her old self, likeable, prone to accident and funny. Sure, I sometimes rolled my eyes at her antics, at the way she herself complicated her own life and I wanted to wag my finger at her and tell her to grow up, as she really sometimes behaved a little too childish, but altogether, she made for a great character. She reminds me a little of Becky Bloomwood, especially when she so positively hopes that all the bad things will just go away, with burying her head in the sand but nevertheless, she’s so authentic in all the things she does, so genuine and honest that it’s impossible not to like Katy, there is so much warmth in her. There is this something in Katy that makes you laugh with her, cringe with her, roll your eyes at her, shake your head at her, and cheer her on.
The great contrast to Katy is Ollie. I think he didn’t want to be the spoilsport and killjoy but someone needed to be the responsible one in this relationship, right? I can remember that I liked Ollie very much in the first book and to be honest this feeling didn’t change, even with Katy trying to convince me that Ollie is up to something bad. He is so, so patient, if I were Ollie I’d probably not come back home one day, but he loved Katy so much that he was willing to overlook her antics once or twice too often. Because there were many antics, oh my word, Katy really first did and then thought, or only did, without thinking, but you know what, she was truly charming in all this. And she meant only well!
And oh wow, Pinchy the lobster is also back! As well as the lovely red setter Sasha, and you know how much I like animal characters in the books. And Ruth Saberton also didn’t forget about Freddie and Gabriel, who also make their appearance from time to time, and who also play a great role in the last chapters. And thanks to hose two young men we have travelled to New York as well!

I could go on and on about Katy, really, but as she was also the main person causing all the events, I may let slip something and I don’t want it, I don’t want to spoil the reading for you. And there are tons of things happening in the book, one more hilarious than the other, and I raced through the book with a big grin on my face. Katy puts herself in many embarrassing situations together with her best friend Maddy, or the WAG she’d ghost – written books for, and the embarrassing situations also include Ollie’s parents and his work colleagues. There is really plenty – PLENTY! – and I couldn’t wait to turn the page to see what’s going to hit me this time. The twists and turns were brilliant and they kept me entertained, and Katy writing an erotica book together with Maddy and Nicky – it was a priceless experience.

„Katy Carter Keeps a Secret” is a lovely, warm and twisty read, and even though I mostly guessed what’s going to happen, I didn’t have any problem with it and I was just looking forward to seeing how it’s all going to unravel. The ending was everything I wanted it to be but nevertheless, I would love to see another book about Katy and Ollie and their adventures, they are such a great couple. No matter if you are new to Ruth Saberton or if you are a devoted fan, it is a great book that is going to brighten your day and that I highly recommend!

Leave a Reply

