Friends Like Us by Siân O’Gorman

Friends Like Us

by Siân O’Gorman

 

Publisher: Aria

Publishing Date: 1st July 2016

Source:  Copy provided by the publisher via NetGalley,  thank you!

Number of pages: 348

Genre: Women’s Fiction, Romance

 Buy the Book: Kindle

 

 Synopsis:

Is it ever too late to take charge and live your life on your terms?

Life for school friends, Melissa, Steph and Eilis, hasn’t quite worked out the way they once imagined it might.

Melissa may be professionally successful but inside she’s a mess of insecurities.
Steph is lonely and lost, balancing the fragile threads of family life and walking on eggshells around her philandering husband and angry teenage daughter.

Finally, Eilis, a hardworking A&E doctor, utterly exhausted by the daily pressures of work and going through the motions with her long-term partner Rob.

It’s crunch time for all the friends…

A light-hearted and emotional novel about family, friendship and coming to terms with your past. Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Amanda Prowse.

Rating: 2.5/5

 

I requested „Friends Like Us” when requesting other book from the publisher Aria – the title, the cover of this book and the synopsis have caught my eye and I thought, why not? I like stories about friends reuniting and love to follow their different life stories so I was sure that nothing can go wrong with this book.

So „Friends Like Us” concentrates on the lives of three women who have lost contact and now, under the pretext of organizing the reunion, they start to see each other again, and in this time their lives change extremely. There are big challenges for them, many changes and they start to learn to support each other again and lean on each other again. Though, to be absolutely honest, somehow I didn’t feel this strong bond that was supposed to exist between them. Melissa, Steph and Eilis must deal with infidelity, illness, death, problems at work, tricky teenagers and in between of course some of them meet gorgeous strangers, some of them discover that old love never dies, some of them change from being a doormat into a confident women.

Sadly, it was not a book that I can say I haven’t read before – I missed originality and freshness, and I had a feeling that I’ve read many such stories before. Add to this the fact that in my opinion the author focused on many things that were not at all relevant to the plot, that were not significant, making the book drag on incredibly. Probably, if I read this book not as a reviewer reading hundreds of books a year only a „normal” reader, I’d enjoy it much more, as there was actually nothing wrong with it, for me it only lacked in originality and I spent more time on skipping paragraphs than actually reading and the plot just didn’t drawn me in, as well as I didn’t feel a real connection to the characters. The plot and the events were also tad too predictable – you could feel in what direction each of the subplots is going to continue. I was all the time waiting for something to happen, for something to surprise me but unfortunately, it was all „I’ve been there, I’ve seen it all”. Also, mostly, the story dragged on but somewhere at the end some of the events sped up very sharply, which confused me very much and left me with a feeling that I missed something. Also, the friends met again because of the reunion and I was expecting the story to revolve around the organization of it, about maybe revealing some secrets from the past, but it turned out that it’s going to go in a very different direction. I’m not saying it’s a bad thing but then why to emphasize the reunion so much? Also, the characters felt too clichéd for my liking and the way they acted and reacted was too obvious and too predictable.

I wanted to love this book and I wanted to rate it much higher, unfortunately it wasn’t able to keep my attention and, as I have already mentioned it before, I quickly started to skim reading it, without a feeling that I’m missing something. However, the writing was really nice and I am sure this story will find its fans. For me it was sadly too predictable and too clichéd and I missed the surprise effect. But if you are looking for a light, not demanding read then be sure to check „Friends Like Us”.

Leave a Reply

