Where is Emma Butler’s Life Plan? by Julia Wilmot + Giveaway

A new day, a new Blog Tour, this time for a book that – even though you can say it’s women’s fiction – is also totally different, as it mixes elements that usually don’t appear in chick lit, which only made the reading much more interesting and the book itself really refreshing and different to what I am reading on a daily basis. You can read my review of „Where is Emma Butler’S Life Plan?” and ALSO enter a giveaway to win a paperback copy of this book – and the giveaway ends soon, so hurry up!

 

Where is Emma Butler’s Life Plan?

by Julia Wilmot

 

Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform

Publishing Date: 16th December 2015

Source:  Copy provided for the blog tour purposes.

Number of pages: 251

Genre: Women’s Fiction, General Fiction (Adult)

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

 Synopsis:

Emma Butler doesn’t know it but she is about to get bit more angelic help than she was banking on. Someone has messed up, or have they? It appears that Emma is about to be ‘recalled’ to heaven but has completed none of the tasks she had set herself for this life time. They must be completed before she is recalled and time is running out. Arch Angel Gregory decides to take over. He will be her Guardian Angel to ensure it all gets done. There’s a lot to do and a very short time to do it in. Gregory is determined that it will all be completed by hook or by crook. But where does that leave free will and what about Jack who has been chosen to be Emma’s love interest? How will this impact him? Jack and Emma have no idea what is going on, but it’s not going to be plain sailing.

Rating: 3/5

 

So, when signing for this blog tour I actually didn’t know what I’m getting into. Sure, I’ve read a synopsis but before I started reading the book I kind of forgotten it and my first thoughts were what am I reading??? Yes, I’ll be honest with you, the first two, three chapters were somehow difficult for me to get into and I was so short from putting the book away, and it was only the fact that I am reading it for a blog tour that kept me reading. Archangels, angels, GOD, and then add to this many rules and life plans and I was truly confused and it took me some time to decipher who is who and why and what’s actually happening. But – I kept reading and after some time I got used to the very descriptive form of narration and to the story itself. And let’s be honest – on the other hand, the plot of „Where is Emma Butler’s Life Plan?” was really original and fresh and it for sure makes the book standing out of the many other novels, so similar to each other.

The story introduces us to Emma Butler – single, young, attractive, intelligent and loving her job. She’s happy with her life but she’s also unaware that somewhere above her, in the heavenly regions, there is a life plan written for her, just like for any other human on the planet Earth. Moreover, she has absolutely no idea that an error occurred about her life plan and that she has only a week of life left. But, as it was discovered only now by the Archangel Gregory, he and other angels start to work overtime, manipulating and changing, only that Emma can complete her life plan before her very quickly approaching recall date.
Of course Emma has no idea about it, so it is a kind of surprise for her when suddenly she finds that her life is turning upside down. For example she’s supposed to lost her job and it happens, though Emma has no idea what and why it happened. She’s also supposed to fall in love but to fall in love you need a second person, right? So, the smart angels found this person and here is when we are introduced to Jack, owner of the health food shop. Their first meeting was not the most optimal one so the angels rush (of course. Of course!) to plot a plan that includes fire at Emma’s flat or random meetings until eventually the attraction is there.
As well as Emma and Jack, the angels were interesting characters, though I had a feeling that they were lost somehow between the narration and the long, long, very long descriptions and internal monologues, and I also felt that it’s just impossible to get to know them totally and, in consequence, I’ve never warmed to them completely.

The book had its moments, really, when it had me giggling and I that the author tackled the matter of death and afterlife with a lot of subtle and intelligent humour and now I’m seeing that when I’m alone about doing something stupid I am looking around, searching for any sign of my very own guardian angel – but what bothered me was the fact that there wasn’t any female angel and I was asking myself, why? Why couldn’t a woman be a guardian angel and there were only Edmund, Tobias or Gregory and not Anna, Mary or Elizabeth? However I liked how the author described the angels, so very humanly and now, when angels are mentioned, I can’t help but thinking about them running around in a panic, flapping their wings, squabbling with each other and playing little games against each other, just like people.

I was incredibly curious how the author is going to solve the mix – up as – to be honest – I didn’t want to see Emma die. During this race against time there were many ups and downs together with twists and turns and altogether, it was a sweet, not demanding story with some important messages, but also such one that you can take with a pinch of salt. The book mixes humour and more serious issues with spirituality, it’s light – hearted but with a deeper message. It was for sure a different read, interesting read, and it is really giving me shivers that maybe, probably, there is also a life plan for me, somewhere. It is a little crazy, a little too far – fetched, sometimes too predictable and sometimes you’ll be looking at the words with disbelief, but altogether it was an enjoyable, funny novel. I had some issues with the writing style itself, as I’ve already mentioned it was very descriptive and more on the heavy side and for me it didn’t read as easy and effortlessly as I like, but it’s just me and my problem, so there.

 

GIVEAWAY

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

FOLLOW THE BLOG TOUR

Leave a Reply

