Breakfast Under a Cornish Sky by Samantha Tonge

Breakfast Under a Cornish Sky

by Samantha Tonge

 

29219342Publisher: Carina

Publishing Date: 28th July 2016

Source:  Copy provided by the publisher via NetGalley, thank you!

Number of pages: 313

Genre: Contemporary,  General Fiction (Adult)

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

Synopsis:

DREAMING OF THE PERFECT MAN?

Kate Golightly needs to move forward and what better way to do that then with a trip to the Cornish coast with best friend and boss, Izzy.

The sea wind is just what Kate needs to finally relax and begin to let go of her past. Except she’s suddenly got one big reason to panic! She RSVP’d ‘yes’ to the Queen Bee of her high school’s wedding saying she’s bringing her boyfriend (she doesn’t have one) who looks just like Ross Poldark!

With only two weeks to find the Poldark look-alike of her dreams Kate is under a lot of pressure for the Cornish coast to deliver…

A hilarious and moving romantic novel from bestselling author, Samantha Tonge. A must-read this summer!

Rating: 3/5

I actually have nothing against women covering for the fact that they’re single and inventing boyfriends only to “keep a face” for their friends, and I thought that “Breakfast Under a Cornish Sky” could be THIS book. Especially as it is set in Cornwall, which lately seems to be THE place to go – I mean, to set a story. And also, there is something that Ms Tonge has already proven she’s brilliant at – and namely, there is food, glorious food! The descriptions of all those delicious goodies were mouth – watering, and you had a great range to choose from, starting with English breakfast and ending with brilliant doughnuts made by Izzy (I might feel inspired. I might. Daughter is actually on the doughnuts – phase, I can bake them every second day. May “borrow” some of Izzy’s ideas, thank you very much.)

The story lacked a little in the originality and the plotline didn’t surprise me – mostly I could predict all the things that happened but the book had its moments as well. I loved Kate’s imagination and spontaneity, her creativity and never – ending ideas how to better up the White Rocks Resort in Cornwall. I was also incredibly intrigued how the search for the perfect Poldark is going to end and what’s going to happen in between, and the few dates made me laugh out loud, and also Kate’s idea of finding herself a man at the harbour was hilarious… However, as it turned out, the search for the perfect man didn’t overtake the whole plot, it was actually somehow upstaged by Kate and Izzy taking on the renovations but it doesn’t mean that it’s wrong. It made the book a little different, in a good way.

I don’t want to sound harsh but I just can’t wait for Ms Tonge to write something that is exceptional and original because to me it seems that there are books about food, they are very popular and Samantha Tonge writes a book with food; then we have books set in Greece, they are very popular and Ms Tonge writes a book set in Greece; now it seems that books set in Cornwall seem to be trending and so we have a book set in Cornwall! Please, don’t be annoyed with me, lovely Samantha, I just know that you can much, much better, that there is THIS story in you waiting to be written and I can’t wait for it! Nevertheless, I think that with every book Samantha Tonge’s writing is maturing and developing without losing her lovely sense of humour – I’d even say that this sense of humour is getting better and better, as I still can remember that after reading my first book by this author I thought, oh heck, a little too far – fetched and the author tried really too much. This time the humour and storyline flow seamlessly and effortlessly and “Breakfast Under a Cornish Sky” is a light – hearted, not too demanding read.

And I personally think that those were the characters that saved the story. When we forget about rather impossible to accomplish mission that Kate’s takes on herself – basically single – handedly saving of the resort (I mean, a person comes for holidays, finds the place is in troubles and immediately starts to pitch her ideas how to save it, and yes, the ideas are great and I loved them, but let’s face it, would it really go so smooth in reality? And so quickly? Or am I a malcontent? But on the other hand, even though not too realistic, I still liked it and I think that the girls, Kate and Izzy, were so unselfish to forget about their own holidays to help Kensa Maddock and Tremain to save White Rocks.) – Samantha Tonge had created lovely, larger – than – life characters with great personalities, characters that were not perfect, that had flaws but this only made them much more realistic. Kate annoyed me slightly as she hasn’t seen the obvious things, things that I’ve noticed years before she even started to contemplate them possible, and then it developed and progressed so, so quickly. Too quickly for my liking, in comparison to the whole story. But other than that she was a lovely character, a person that always put other people’s happiness first but not in this victimy – way – it came to her very natural, and I really loved it in her. She never gave up, neither on things nor people and methinks we need such people in our lives – especially if you are Tremain!

As usual in Ms Tonge’s books we have a romantic element in this story as well, however, the plot mostly concentrates on the problems faced by the resort and the girls’ frantic attempts of helping it. Nevertheless, the love triangle is there, we have the good one and the bad one, though I must admit that the “good one” made me mostly feel annoyed and desperate. Sure, I know where he was coming from, and I felt for him, really I did, but he just behaved like a spoiled child mostly, inculpating everything and everyone around him.

“Breakfast Under a Cornish Sky” is another light read by Samantha Tonge and I am sure it is going to find its faithful fans, but personally I preferred “Game of Scones” and “My Big Fat Christmas Wedding” better – they just felt somehow much more honest – but I am not saying that the newest release is not good! It is a perfect novel for the summer, to read on your holidays, as it is uplifting, cheery and optimistic and there are characters to die for.

One thought on “Breakfast Under a Cornish Sky by Samantha Tonge

Leave a Reply

