When Only Cupcakes Will Do by Daisy James

When Only Cupcakes Will Do

by Daisy James

 

30357657

Publisher: Carina

Publishing Date: 4th August 2016

Source:  Copy provided by the publisher via NetGalley, thank you!

Number of pages: 210

Genre: Romance, Women’s Fiction

 Buy the Book: Kindle

 

 

 

 

Synopsis:

The delightfully heartwarming romantic comedy from Daisy James!

When life gives you lemons, make lemon drizzle cupcakes…

Lucie thought that proposing to her boyfriend in Tiffany’s would be the best day of her life. Until he said no. In just a few seconds, her whole world is turned upside-down! And when she accidentally switches cocoa powder for chilli powder at work, she finds herself out of a job, too…

Baking has always made life better in the past, but can Lucie really bake her way to happiness? Starting her own company, selling cupcakes out of an old ice cream van might just be the second chance that Lucie needs!

Of course, she never expected to find love along the way…

Rating: 4/5

So OK, “When Only Cupcakes Will Do” is the kind of book that I have requested basically judging it on the cover, which is gorgeous. I would read it no matter what the synopsis says because it just drawn me in and made me intrigued. I love cupcakes, and I fell in love with the cupcake on the cover and hit the “Request” button without hesitation. The question is, did the book live up to my expectations and to the cover???

One thing that didn’t sit with me so well was the romance element in this story. I’m not sure why, but for me it all seemed too rushed, too far – fetched, too impossible, as from the beginning the only things I’ve heard about Ed were not too nice. I don’t know, I just haven’t seen this attraction, and I didn’t buy this romance. Also Lucie’s first relationship also stroke a little too unbelievable chord for me and it annoyed me that it took her so much time to see what I’ve immediately seen – that Alex was self – obsessed, weak, sleazy coward and she was much better without him. Alex ignored Lucie, he run away and didn’t deign to try to get in touch with her for a few months and yet she still needed so long to get over him and to preocuppy her thoughts with him – it made me feel so, so annoyed with her! But Lucie was a strong – willed woman and she belongs to my favourite category of characters: those that mature and develop. I could applaud her on her journey to finding her new herself after she’s lost her job because of her loosing her temper – to be honest, if I were her boss, I’d never give her a sack! all the characters are so well developed and drawn, and even the ice – cream van that plays Greensleeves when you press the silver button was brilliant!

“When Only Cupcakes Will Do” was a lovely, uplifting, feel good read, and let’s not forget the delicious cupcakes and ice – creams! I absolutely loved the ideas for cupcakes Lucie had, the amazing and unusual flavours and aromas and her plans for the parties she was planning with her sister, and the parties themselves – I’d love to go to such a party, and not necessary as a mother of the invited child 🙂 There is a lovely sense of humour in this story, and the storyline, even when tad too predictable and sometimes far – fetched (and everything seemed to come so easily to the characters, they had the right friends with right connections etc) – it doesn’t really matter and it was nevertheless lovely. It is a delicious story about family, friendship, food and about finding your own way and I truly enjoyed reading it.

 

Leave a Reply

