Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne

 

29056083Publisher: Little, Brown

Publishing Date: 31st July 2016

Source:  Purchased

Number of pages: 343

Genre: General Fiction, Young Adult, Childrens

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Hardcover

 

Synopsis:

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

Rating: 5/5

I am a Potterhead, I’ve grown up with Harry Potter, and read each of the book in the series more than five times. I also always looked with pity at all those criticising the books, claiming that they have no idea what they’re talking about. However, I must admit that I was a little sceptical when I’ve read that “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child” is a script, I wasn’t sure how it should work and how I’m going to respond to such a way of reading a Harry Potter and so I thought, I’d better wait and see what other people have to say after reading the book. However, a day or two after it was released I went shopping and when I spotted this gorgeous, hardcover copy in my local bookshop, I didn’t hesitate and immediately bought it. And till today haven’t read any review of it! But I’ve read the book itself in almost one sitting, over less than 24 hours and when my husband saw me reading something else and asked what happened with HP and I told him I’ve already finished it, he couldn’t believe me.

Oh boy, how I loved this story! Sure, I missed the lovely, vivid, full of imagination descriptions of J.K. Rowling but trust me, even written as a script the book worked its wonders and immediately drew me in and I didn’t want to leave Harry’s world for a single second. I am absolutely thankful to the authors for giving us answers, and for offering us some possibilities, showing us different versions of Harry’s world, telling us what would happen if… It was brilliant to see the old characters, as well as get to know the next generation, and Scorpius and Albus were great main characters – so vivid, colourful, full of passion and large personalities. There were incredible twists and turns in the story, tension, as well as high class humour and I loved every moment of it, as it was everything I have hoped for and even more, because I haven’t expected it to be so full of life, it being a script.

I loved absolutely every single moment of this book. I immediately felt at home with all the characters, even though some of them changed in a way that I haven’t expected them (Ron. I’m talking about Ron. It must have been a major joke, right?). I am incredibly sad to know that Harry’s journey has definitely ended but I am also incredibly thankful to J.K. Rowling for giving us all those years together with him. I really can’t wait to introduce my daughter to Harry, his friends and their adventures and I would give anything to be able to see the play! But in the meantime, you can be sure that I’m going to read this story again, and again, and again…

