Sweet Tomorrows by Debbie Macomber

Sweet Tomorrows by Debbie Macomber

 

27823737Publisher: Arrow

Publishing Date: 11th August 2016

Series: Rose Harbor #5

Source:  Received from the publisher, thank you!

Number of pages: 384

Genre: Women’s Fiction, Romance

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

 

Synopsis:

The final novel in the beloved Rose Harbor series, from international bestseller, Debbie Macomber.

Jo Marie thought that Mark was the one – but now he’s left Rose Harbor and she is unsure if he’s ever coming back. The Rose Harbor Inn doesn’t seem the same without him but Jo Marie knows she has to move on with her life.

Emily has suffered heartbreak and is hoping that a long stay in the inn will be exactly what she needs to get her life on track again. She doesn’t expect to meet a neighbour and form an unexpected bond. The last thing she was looking for was a relationship, but is she willing to take a chance?

The Rose Harbor Inn has always been a special place of healing. Can it work its magic one more time?

Rating: 3/5

“Sweet Tomorrows” is the fifth book in the Rose Harbor series by Debbie Macomber and the first one that I’ve read. However, in case you are wondering, the author has summarized the stories of Jo Marie, Mark and Emily in the first chapters so I really didn’t have a feeling that I am missing something or that I don’t know where the characters are coming from, and what are their stories.

The chapters are told from four different points of view so we get a chance to get to know all the characters and their thoughts, though I had a little problem with the characters. They were all overly sweet, good, forgiving people and this made them all too unrealistic in my eyes. They also seemed too stereotyped, the male characters like macho men and the female heroines – damsels in distress. I had incredible problems with Mark – of course I knew where he was coming from, but his reaction to Jo Marie meeting another man when she didn’t know if she’s going to see Mark ever again, just made me laugh out loud and think, who the hell are you and what are you thinking? I just didn’t buy his character at all, he was arrogant and egoistic and I just had a feeling he doesn’t respect other people. Shortly, I just didn’t feel any connection to the characters, it was somehow hard to relate to them, you know?

Yes, the book dealt with some more important issues, but still for me it was more on the flat side and it didn’t awoke too many emotions in me. It read very steadily, on one level, rather a simple book with plain romance in it and some twists that were easy to predict. It mostly concentrates on love dilemmas of Jo Marie and Emily, Jo Marie’s new boarder at her B&B. What I missed so much was ACTION, as the book was very descriptive, concentrating on so many insignificant issues and things and it was sometimes too repetitive, I had a feeling I am only reading about Emily’s dream house, about a house that she can’t rent or how much Jo Marie loves Mark but should she trust him or not. The two romance elements are totally separate from each other, they have absolutely nothing in common and they do not intertwine in any way, so it is really like having two books in one.

The author concentrates not only on describing everything in detail, but what bothered me most is the fact that the characters did everything in a very detailed, almost minutiaed way, telling us what the did after they did this, and what happened later and with whom they talked. I just think that from such a great author as Debbie Macomber we can expect more developed and mature writing – but it doesn’t mean that I didn’t enjoy the writing style! It was lovely, smooth and easy to follow and I could feel that the author has put her life and soul in every single word that she’s written, and I loved this feeling.

“Sweet Tomorrows” was a light, not too demanding book, only for me it felt a little too flat and too obvious. However, this was a lovely summer read and I am sure that fans of the series will find it gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

