Sunshine on a Rainy Day by Bryony Fraser

Sunshine on a Rainy Day by Bryony Fraser

 

31695731Publisher: Avon

Publishing Date: 8th September 2016

Source:  Received from the publisher, thank you!

Number of pages: 352

Genre: Women’s Fiction, General Fiction (Adult)

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

Synopsis:

It’s Zoe and Jack’s first wedding anniversary party. They’ve got an announcement! They’re getting divorced.

Marriage isn’t for everyone – something that Zoe and Jack discovered only after they’d walked down the aisle. Bad timing, huh?

So now they’re stuck together in their once harmonious marital home, neither one of them willing to move out of their lovely house.

With Zoe’s three sisters always wanting a say, and Jack’s best friend trying his best to fix things between them, misunderstandings arise. Tempers flare. ‘Accidents’ happen…

Zoe and Jack are going to be lucky if they’re still alive when the twelve months are up. But maybe things aren’t quite as final as they seem?

A hilarious read, which reminds us that life doesn’t always go to plan… If you love Mhairi McFarlane, you’ll love this.

 

Rating: 4/5

Those of you who follow my blog already know that I am not the biggest fan of cinema and watching films just bores me. However, there are some films that I could watch and watch, over and over again, such like “Bridget Jones” or “”My Big Fat Greek Wedding”, but also I absolutely adored “The War of Roses” with Kathleen Turner and Michael Douglas. The description of “Sunshine on a Rainy Day” has totally reminded me of this film and it was for sure one of the things that made me request this book. I was desperately hoping for this war of roses, for “accidents” happening, tempers flaring and tons of misunderstanding – shortly, I was hoping for incredibly funny story with twists and turns.

And it could be a brilliant story, as it had tons of potential. I loved the idea for the plot, however the delivery somehow lacked. My biggest problem was with Zoe – already in the first chapter we learn that Zoe isn’t sure if getting married is something for her. So far, so good, you could say, the only problem was that Zoe was GETTING MARRIED. It was crystal clear for me, after reading this few pages, that she shouldn’t, under any circumstances, marry Jack, yet she went with it. Why? Why did she agree for this? It was a little childish and laughable for Zoe to blame Jack – her argumentation was that he KNEW she doesn’t want get married, so why did he ask her? Erm, hello? Why did you say yes? It was also Zoe who created this hell on earth after the wedding, to be honest, she was picking at the smallest things, she was always unhappy and she was a hypocrite, as she herself was allowed to meet with her friends, yet when Jack wanted to meet with his mates she was questioning this. And guys, if you think that you’ve seen a tantrum, then probably you haven’t seen Zoe in action yet. I also didn’t completely get her obsession with not taking Jack’s surname – sure, she was not obliged to do this but to flip her lid when other people assumed she changed her name? Altogether, I just couldn’t understand what is so tragic and dramatic after you get married? What changed, day by day? So yes, Zoe was selfish and unfair and truly, she behaved as if she didn’t have any regard for Jack’s feelings. Jack, on the other hand, came across a little like a doormat, to be honest. He was a great guy, and he loved Zoe, and I think he really didn’t understand what’s happened to his Zoe, because – as the story jumps between present and past and shows us how Zoe and Jack got to know each other and fell in love with each other, showing us a totally different picture of Zoe – she wasn’t like this before! However, it was always Jack who was doing the first step, making the effort but he was also stubborn and instead of telling his wife that this dinner was meant for her, he’d rather bin it. Communication, guys! Communication!

But! And you know what is funny? Despite all my problems with Zoe I still have found this book highly entertaining. OK, it wasn’t completely this what I was so hoping for, this war of roses took place in maybe two scenes, and I so, so waited for accidents happening, for Zoe and Jack having heads full of ideas how to make each other’s life more complicated and difficult – in a funny way! However, I wanted this book to be a light – hearted, entertaining read and I think that if you don’t take Zoe too seriously, that if you read it with a pinch of salt and turn a blind eye on Zoe’s tantrums, you can fully enjoy this story – at least this is how I read this book and how I felt about it. It didn’t annoy me as much as it seem to have annoyed so many other reviewers.

The idea of this story was brilliant but as I’ve already mentioned it before, I think that it lacked in development and I really couldn’t understand why everything went downhill – it was just so ridiculous. It is actually about a thing that shouldn’t have happened, at all. However, there were many more elements that made this book a fun read for me. I liked the end, though I could see it coming from far away, and even though it couldn’t be more clichéd, even if I asked for it, and some of the scenes were laugh – inducing. I liked the absolute support Zoe had from her family, and how much patience they had dealing with her and her problems.

So really, if you are in a need for a light – hearted, not too complex story about newlyweds making problems from everything and picking at anything and getting offended in the best childish way (and I don’t mean it in a bad way!), then “Sunshine on a Rainy Day” may be the book for you. I enjoyed it, and liked the writing style, the sharp dialogues and that it was a quick – paced read. It just drew me into Zoe and Jack’s world and I wanted to see what’s going to happen. Altogether – yes, I was a little disappointed with the lack of the promised “accidents happening” (though tempers were flaring, especially those of Zoe), but still I really liked this book.

Leave a Reply

