The Christmas Promise by Sue Moorcroft / Blog Tour

Hi guys, hope you all are having a great Friday! If not so great, that I can assure you it could be much, much better if you’d only get your hands on a copy of Sue Moorcroft’s new release, “The Christmas Promise” – this book is gorgeous, and you can read belowe in my very gushing review, why. Am really, really thrilles to be a part of Sue’s blog tour and to share my review of this wonderful read with you.

The Christmas Promise by Sue Moorcroft

 

32227415Publisher: Avon

Publishing Date: 6th October 2016 (ebook) / 1st December 2016 (paperback)

Source:  Received from the publisher in return for an honest review, thank you!

Number of pages: 368

Genre: General Fiction (Adult), Women’s Fiction

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

Synopsis:

For Ava Bliss, it’s going to be a Christmas to remember …

On a snowy December evening, Sam Jermyn steps into the life of bespoke hat maker Ava. Sparks fly, and not necessarily the good ones.

Times are tough for Ava – she’s struggling to make ends meet, her ex-boyfriend is a bully, and worst of all, it’s nearly Christmas.

So when Sam commissions Ava to make a hat for someone special, she makes a promise that will change her life. She just doesn’t know it yet…

Curl up with this gorgeous, festive read – the perfect treat for fans of Katie Fforde, Carole Matthews and Trisha Ashley.

Rating: 5/5

I am telling it in secret, guys, “My Christmas promise” is only my second Sue Moorcroft’s book! I myself can’t believe it, too, especially when looking at her impressive backlist of novels. The other one that I’ve read is “Is This Love?” and I totally, like totally, adored it, and starting reading Sue’s newest release I somehow had a feeling that it is a very special book and that I am for sure going to enjoy it. And? Did I?

Oh hell. I did! And how much!

This book took me totally by surprise with it perfectly mixing so many important issues in a very easy, not at all patronising way – it just somehow worked in this story, even if it had Christmas in the title. It doesn’t concentrate on Christmas trees, all that glitz and glitter that we usually associate with this time of the year (not that it’s wrong or something, oh heck, of course not, it belongs to Christmas!!!) – there is much more depth to the story and there were moments that it really surprised me with how heavy were the issues Sue Moorcroft is writing about. But it doesn’t mean that the book is also heavy in reception – absolutely not, the author has managed not only to surprise us with the twists and turns, but also with the humour and how real and down – to – earth it sounded.

Ava’s story was heart – breaking. She was this kind of character that you immediately fall for and I really couldn’t watch how she struggles – she just didn’t deserve it. There is this massive problem with her ex – boyfriend, than she’s trying to make a go of her hat business (guys. I’ve no idea that making hats is such a complicated thing. Sue Moorcroft has really done her research on this subject and right now, after reading the book, I think you can ask me any question about being a milliner. ANY. Though I must admit that those detailed description were dragging on a little – but it may be my problem, as to be totally honest, I was never into making hats, but oh my, nobody’s perfect 🙂 ), and then there are those romantic problems – her best friend has a crush on a guy who has a crush on Ava, and there is also the background story about this guy and his mother. Wow, right?

I enjoyed the writing style, it was great and easy to follow, there were only too many moments for my liking that slowed the book down a little and I had a feeling that they pull me away from the main story, and with so many subplots in the book, with the story following so many leads, I think we should really concentrate on this what’s important and significant. but this is my only “but” and I promise that in the end it turned out to be really a very insignificant problem of mine.

Those heavy issues that run in the book were important, and were written about with a lot of heart and feeling, and they were really brilliantly researched. I especially appreciated the subplot of Ava’s boyfriend, as it is something new, I haven’t read about it before in fiction, or if I did, it was not as explored as here. I think Sue Moorcroft has given hope here, with her words and her research, though she’s also made it clear that it’s not so easy to get right. So because of those issues, if you were expecting a very Christmassy book, please do not be surprised, as this story is much more than that.

The characters are very well drawn, full of depth and personalities, and sometimes those were only small details that made them so realistic and so true to life, with all their problems and small joys, and I really felt involved in their lives, especially Ava’s – I just couldn’t help but care for her and want only the best for her, then I wanted to behead Harvey and then I was taken by surprise by the events development. We have also a whole range of different relationships in this story, between mother and son, between friends, between work colleagues, mother and daughter etc, and they are all true to life, with all their ups and downs, with their misunderstandings and unconditional love, and I think that we all can relate to them, which made the reading only this bit interesting.

“The Christmas Promise” tugs at the right heart – strings but it also makes you smile and it is a perfect blend, no idea how Sue Moorcroft has done it, really, and it doesn’t happen often that a story evokes so many emotions and in such a beautiful way shows that there is always hope – not in a wishy – washy way or something, oh no, but in a realistic, true to life way, and thanks to the strong characters makes it all even realistic. Hats off (PUN INTENDED) to Sue Moorcroft! This is also a book that makes you think about things that you’ve just read about, about those pretty heavy issues that Sue Moorcroft with such gentleness, but also honesty, writes about. She shows how easy it can be to fall in a trap and then how difficult it is to deal with the situation, to get away from this all. It is a story about friendship, love, hope, betrayal of the worse kind and forgiveness and help. I finished reading it with a smile and feeling warm and fuzzy inside. A great emotional rollercoaster of a read, “The Christmas Promise” is about changes and I think that everyone is going to find something to love in this story – highly recommended!

FOLLOW THE BLOG TOUR:

blog-tour

Leave a Reply

