Bridget Jones’s Baby: The Diaries by Helen Fielidng

Bridget Jones’s Baby: The Diaries by Helen Fieliding

 

31353256Publisher: Jonathan Cape

Publishing Date: 11th October 2016

Series: Bridget Jones #4

Source:  Purchased

Number of pages: 240

Genre: General Fiction, Women’s Fiction

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

Synopsis:

** The new Bridget Jones novel **

As Bridget careers towards baby-deadline, tortured by Smug Mothers miming her ticking biological clock, a series of classic Bridget Jones moments finally leads her into pregnancy – but just not quite as intended. It’s a pregnancy full of cheesy potatoes, outlandish advice from Drunken Singletons and Smug Mothers, chaos at scans and childbirth classes, high jinks and romance, joy and despair – but all of it dominated by the terribly awkward question – ‘Who’s the Father?’

Rating: 5/5

Oh guys, I loved this book! I just loved it! Bridget Jones is, and will stay, my absolute hero, I’ve grown up with Bridget and no matter what other people say I love her and will support her no matter what and I think I will never be ready to say goodbye to Bridget. And I also think that “Bridget Jones’ Baby” is probably the best book in the series.

I was laughing out loud already reading the first page and it stayed like this till the end. Yes, there were some poignant moments in this book as well, and I had a feeling that Bridget has matured, that she’s not so scatter – brained as she used to be, but she was also the good, old Bridget that I love so much. I don’t want to recount the whole plot or to spoil the reading for you but it is already known all around the world that Bridget is expecting a baby and there are two candidates for a father: Mark, and of course, Daniel – is this not a hallmark of Bridget’s? She is just the wonderful Bridget, period. Mark Darcy is, as usuall, stiff and he also suffers an identity crisis but I love Mark totally and I just buy him as he is. And Daniel Cleaver, with his novel, oh god, it was brilliant! I think it is impossible NOT to love Daniel Cleaver, no matter what he does or says – am I right or am I right? It is also a reencounter with Bridget’s old friends, and it felt as if I’ve been meeting with my own old friends, and it was a lovely, great feeling to be back with all the smug married and the singletons.

So really, you won’t hear a bad word from me about this novel. There were plenty of laugh – out – loud moments, plenty of embarrassing moments and plenty of sad and truly happy moments. In fact, the book was unputdownable for me and I’ve devoured it in only a few hours, forgetting about everything, so great it was to be in Bridget’s world again.

I really don’t understand why so many people judge this book on the grounds of the film – book is a book, film is a film, or is there something that I don’t know? I just think it is unfair to blast the novel because the film was better – I am reviewing the book, not the film, and I should be as objective as possible.

The story is a kind of bridge between Edge of Reason and Mad about the Boy. It’s so typically Bridget, and even though she’s more adult now she’s still so prone to accident, but I had a feeling that she’s wiser, you know? She’s writing a diary about her pregnancy to her baby, though I’ll be totally honest with you, I’m not sure if I’d like to read this diary as a child as it was verrry honest and Bridget was verrry open about her life and all the events. There were some of the most brilliant one – liners ever and the first that jumps to my mind is Daniel telling that it would be much easier if they first asked if they can enter – just read it for yourself, really!

It is a very entertaining but also very raw and honest book, the perfect mix of fun and poignancy and it is a must read for all Bridget’s fans. She may be a grown – up but she’s still a mess and this is why we all love her so much, right?

 

Leave a Reply

