Miss Wrong and Mr Right by Robert Bryndza

Miss Wrong and Mr Right by Robert Bryndza

 

32792767Publisher: Bookouture

Publishing Date: 8th December 2016

Source:  Received from the publisher via NetGalley in return for an honest review, thank you!

Number of pages: 301

Genre: Romance, Women’s Fiction

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

Synopsis:

‘This is men,’ said Gran. ‘When they vant you, but you don’t vant them, they stay. But let them know you vant them, they no longer need you, and they go! It’s like that movie, Nanny McPhee.’

Natalie Love has worked hard to have it all. She runs a successful London theatre that’s about to host one of Hollywood’s leading stars, Ryan Harrison. She’s pretty sure she’s found her man in yoga boyfriend Benjamin, despite his annoying habit of saying Namaste! every time he speaks. And her eccentric, glamorous Hungarian Gran is always on hand to offer sage advice and steaming bowls of goulash.

Life in the bright lights of London has always been Natalie’s escape from her chaotic country family in rural Devon and Jamie, the childhood sweetheart she left at the altar fifteen years ago. Until he turns up at her theatre door…

Jamie is in town producing a West End show and with rivalry suddenly clouding old feelings, this isn’t quite the reunion Natalie was expecting.

Will Benjamin prove to be Natalie’s perfect match? With Ryan turning her head, Natalie is more confused than ever. And what about Jamie – could he be her second chance at first love?

Charming, hilarious and totally unputdownable, Miss Wrong and Mr Right will put a huge smile on your face and keep you guessing who Natalie’s ‘Mr Right’ is until the very last page.

Rating: 3/5

I haven’t read a book by Robert Bryndza for a long, long time and when I saw that “Miss Wrong and Mr Right” is to be requested on NetGalley, I jumped on the chance and started reading it immediately after downloading it.

It was an OK book, not the one that is going to stay with me for long but still one that I wanted to finish. There were some aspects that usually annoy me incredibly, such like the all – knowing grandmother, which I just can’t stand in the books, especially when the grandmother is so pushy like Anouska – really, guys, inviting someone to a christening only because you think that this is the right person for my granddaughter, even if the granddaughter has nothing to do with this person, it’s a no go and it’s not funny. Also, yes, there were moments that the one – liners were funny but altogether I had a feeling that this humour is just too forced – it just didn’t feel too natural and mostly I was rather rolling my eyes than laughing heartily.

Some of the scenes were OK, some made me laugh but altogether it was just too much for me. The relationship between Natalie and her “love” interest was not too convincing, it also felt too forced and frankly, it didn’t work for me as it was just so stilted and I had a feeling that the characters were bulldozed to do it. Then the sudden switch and change – the end felt much too rushed and also out of the blue.

The characters… well, the characters. I really am not sure what to say about them. Natalie’s boyfriend Benjamin and his namastes were one of the most annoying heroes ever and it annoyed me that she fell under his spell for so a long time. Natalie herself is more like a doormat and more than often lets people to tramp over her, while Jamie, the long – lost love is missed in action for 15 years to suddenly and very conveniently pop up at the scenes. Actually, all the characters more caricatural and cartoonish, as the story itself was for me more like a comedy of errors, a grotesque – the burlesque dancing queen with the fancy name (Tuppence?) for example. So probably I just didn’t get the story, didn’t get into the heart of it, which is a pity because I really wanted to like it with my whole heart – but am already waiting for Mr Bryndza’s next story, as his writing style is light and easy to follow and as I totally enjoyed Coco’s series, I know he has for sure much more for us in store.

I spent some enjoyable time with this book but I didn’t like it as much as I expected from this author. It was an easy read, albeit too predictable and too chaotic for my liking. I liked the idea of setting the story in a theatre in London, bringing there a Hollywood star to cast in “Macbeth” and it’s a pity that the idea was also somehow left hanging, was under – developed. So yes, there was a lot of potential and the book had its moments but altogether it was not a read that is going to stay with me for a long time.

Leave a Reply

