One Christmas in Paris by Mandy Baggot

One Christmas in Paris by Mandy Baggot

 

31750478Publisher: Bookouture

Publishing Date: 7th October 2016

Source:  Received from the publisher via NetGalley in return for an honest review, thank you!

Number of pages: 394

Genre: General Fiction (Adult), Women’s Fiction, Romance

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

Synopsis:

They say Paris is the City of Love, so bring your je ne sais quoi and don’t forget the mistletoe!

Ava and her best friend Debs arrive in Paris just as the snow starts to fall. The Eiffel Tower glitters gold and the scent of spiced wine is all around, but all Ava can think about is Leo, her no-good, cheating ex.

Debs is on a mission to make Ava smile again, and as they tour the Christmas markets, watch lamplight glittering on the river Seine, and eat their body weight in pain-au-chocolat, Ava remembers there’s more to life than men … Until they cross paths with handsome, mysterious photographer Julien with his French accent and hazelnut eyes that seem to see right inside her.

Ava can’t ignore the intense chemistry between them, but her fingers have been burned before and she can’t forget it, especially when her ex, Leo, starts texting again. Can Ava really trust Julien – and what exactly is his secret?

Will Ava go home with a broken heart, or will she find true love amongst the cobbled streets of Paris?

Join Ava and Julien in the most romantic city in the world this Christmas, as they discover the importance of being true to themselves, and learn how to follow their hearts.

Rating: 3/5

I was desperate to read “One Christmas in Paris” by Mandy Baggot – firstly, because I’ve missed on her summer book, even though it is on my kindle (time! More time please!) and secondly, because I absolutely, totally adored Mandy’s last Christmas book, “One Wish in Manhattan”. You can probably imagine how excited I was to start reading it, no? I thought, one impromptu trip to Paris at Christmas will do me for sure good.

So it could be the best romantic comedy, guys, but not for me. For me it felt flat, there was not a lot happening and I felt as if I was reading a travel guide on Paris. I was hoping for many wow – moments, however I felt disappointed and the whole book felt just flat. Also, the characters were not as outstanding and memorable as the ones from “One Wish in Manhattan” and I missed on humour that made me love the previous book so much. It just felt too far – fetched and too forced for me, I didn’t feel any connection with the characters and as much as I feel really sorry for this I can’t change my feelings.

Also, I had problems with the characters. They all felt too under – developed and the women were so incredibly childish and the over – use of the word “totes” made me gnashing my teeth – I get it that it was the character’s hallmark, I really do get it, but it annoyed the hell out of me.

But sure, the story was full of warm fuzzies and I can see where all the raving reviews are coming. The romance, even though not too believable, was cute and not too rushed. The characters develop and it is a story about finding your own self, about understanding yourself and letting the past go. And OK, let’s forget that there were too many and they were very detailed, I did appreciate the descriptions of Paris and the author could effortlessly transport me to the city of love. Also, it was nice of Mandy Baggot to add some deeper elements to the storyline and to mention some of the situations that happened in reality and will make a history. So yes, I am torn about this story, on one hand it felt too flat and too predictable, on the other I really appreciate the author’s lovely writing style. Probably it’s me, not the book, as it already has tons of devoted fans, and it’s great – it was just not the perfect read for me, however I am waiting already for Ms Baggot’s new release.

Leave a Reply

