How to Win Back Your Husband by Vivien Hampshire

How to Win Back Your Husband by Vivian Hampshire

 

33287092Publisher: HQ Digital

Publishing Date: 18th January 2017

Source:  Received from the publisher via NetGalley in return for an honest review, thank you!

Number of pages: 218

Genre: Romance, Women’s Fiction

 Buy the Book: Kindle

 

Synopsis:

The uplifting, feel-good romantic comedy you don’t want to miss!
It’s not over until he says, ‘I do’…

Nicci is throwing a party: she’s getting divorced! The only issue? She isn’t ready to give up on her soon-to-be ex-husband, Mark – and she has thirty days to win him back!

Everyone makes mistakes but Nicci’s was just a little bit bigger. All she has to do is convince Mark that their love is worth fighting for…

Against the odds will Nicci and Mark be able to forget their past, remember their vows and say ‘I do’ to another trip up the aisle?

Perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk, Cate Woods and Fiona Collins.

Rating: 1.5/5

So guys. I’ve requested this book because the title had immediately caught my eye, and also the synopsis promised it’s going to be the uplifting, feel – good romantic comedy that I don’t want to miss – just something I was in need of – and the cover, so beautiful blue…! When starting to read it I was really thinking yes, just what the doctor ordered.

However, very quickly everything went belly up. The first scene with the cake was relatively funny but that was all. To be honest, I’ve never even smiled when reading the story, let’s forget about the promised “feel – good romantic comedy”. I had a feeling that this whole book is one long whinge, grousing and unhappiness. The characters, Nicci and Mark, spent all of their time thinking they don’t want a divorce but doing nothing, only inner – monologuing. And well… It’s not easy, but let’s talk about Nicci herself. She was acting selfish and childish and probably we should admire her for admitting her mistake to Mark but the only thing I felt to Nicci was indifference and I really didn’t care what’s going to happen with her. she shouldn’t have made this mistake in the first place, right? Maybe it was brave to write a novel centred around such character and such thing, I don’t know, as it could go two ways I think, and for me it just went the wrong way. And also, all the characters felt flat and under – developed. I also couldn’t understand what adding some of the characters should bring to the story, like the old customer of Mark, and really, the birthday party that he attended made me roll my eyes and skip this chapter. Actually, I skipped a lot of this book, only skim – reading it – it just didn’t keep my attention.

I didn’t mean to sound harsh but it is really hard to sing this novel praises and it is probably true that when you have nothing nice to say, than better say nothing – I just think that I should justify my poor rating. When I start reading a book I am full of hope and I can’t explain how disappointed I am that I didn’t enjoy this story as much as I thought. I had great expectations for “How to Win Back Your Husband” and I am incredibly sad that this book didn’t work for me. However I can see that people are enjoying it more than I did, so please don’t feel dispirited and give this novel a go. I will for sure try the author’s next story.

Leave a Reply

