Me, You and Tiramisu by Charlotte Butterfield

Me, You and Tiramisu by Charlotte Butterfield

 

32766923Publisher: HarperImpulse

Publishing Date: 23rd February  2017

Source:  Received from the publisher via NetGalley in return for an honest review!

Number of pages: 242

Genre: Women’s Fiction, Romance

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

Synopsis:

The love story of the year!

Fall in love with the perfect feel-good romance for fans of Katie Fforde, Jill Mansell and Carole Matthews.

It all started with a table for two…

Life for self-confessed bookworm Jayne Brady couldn’t be better – she has a twin sister she adores, a cosy little flat above a deli and now she’s found love with her childhood crush, gorgeous chef Will.

But when Will becomes a Youtube sensation, thanks to his delicious cookery demos (both the food and his smile!), their life of contentment come crashing down around them. Can Jayne have her Tiramisu and eat it?

Rating: 3/5

Yes, I’ll be honest with you – it was the title and the cover of this book that caught my eye at first and I requested this story because of them. Shallow, no? But that’s me. Not shallow, no, just a sucker for beautiful things, and those two perfectly correspond with this category.

“Me, You and Tiramisu” was a nice, light read that – sadly – didn’t work for me as much as I hoped. It had a brilliant beginning, I laughed so much when reading it, and it had many laughable moments to be honest, but quickly it just went downhill for me, it felt too flat and too forced and there was nothing unique there. I loved the idea of the things working so well for Will, but it took so much time to get to this moment that it ended almost as soon as it started. I loved that Jayne was your typical plain English teacher, it made her feel so much more realistic and yes, there were many moments that I could relate with her and her feelings about her students.

There were moments that the story felt much too far – fetched and it made me roll my eyes – I love a little exaggeration but here it was taken to another level. I also had some problem with timing in this novel, for example Janey meets her long lost friend and in the next chapter they are suddenly a couple firmly in love, without nothing in between, and such things happened occasionally in this story throwing me off the course and wondering if my version of the book has some missing pages.

The writing style is lovely, it’s flawing and the author can for sure tell a humorous story and there is such warmth to her voice, and it’s not a problem to immediately settle with the flow. Even though the book didn’t work for me so much, I can see that this novel is already gaining a lot of fans, which is a great thing, and I think what it is that convinced the readers so much is the humour and likeliness. It is light – hearted, it’s a story that can really happen and with a pinch of salt handle the sudden fame.

Leave a Reply

