Good as Gone by Amy Gentry / Blog Tour

Hi guys, and happy Sunday. It’s a little windy here but the sun is shining and I am still enjoying my new hair colour – no crisis yet and I hope it stays that way. Bookish – wise I have a next blog tour for you today – my stop is the last one on Amy Gentry’s blog tour and you can read my review of “Good as Gone”. I must admit, I was thrilled when I was offered a copy of this book as the premise sounded really thrilling and I hoped for a read with a difference – and it for sure was one!

good-as-gone-header

Good as Gone by Amy Gentry

 

34461720Publisher: HQ

Publishing Date: 6th April  2017

Source:  Received from the publisher in return for an honest review!

Number of pages: 384

Genre: General Fiction (Adults), Thriller, Mystery/Crime

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

Synopsis:

Eight years ago, thirteen-year-old Julie Whitaker was kidnapped from her bedroom in the middle of the night.

In the years since, her family have papered over the cracks of their grief – while hoping against hope that Julie is still arrive.

And then, one night, the doorbell rings.

Gripping, shocking, and deviously clever, Good as Gone is perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and The Ice Twins – and will keep readers guessing until the final page.

Rating: 3/5

There is a brilliant premise to “Good as Gone” by Amy Gentry. I was immediately hooked and the need to read this book was the strongest in the world. It turned out to be a story full of questions, a rollercoaster ride full of whos, whys, whats, and because of that a story that kept you thinking, which I liked very much. It is an atmospheric and thought – provoking book, full of taboos and touching upon some uncomfortable issues that not everybody would dare to talk about.

So yes, I started reading “Good as Gone” full of excitement. I’ve expected fireworks and the wow – feeling from this book but altogether it turned out to be an average read. It was not bad, guys, but it also didn’t wow me and I was missing this feeling of tension and suspense, those tingling sensation in the stomach. Yes, it was shocking, it was a little uncomfortable but it was also a book that didn’t make a huge impact on me. The premise and idea were great, and also development was good yet there was this “something” missing. One thing that bothered me so much were the many names of the girls and I really wasn’t sure if it was the same person or if they were different characters. Moreover, I think they were told chronologically backwards, and the switches in times and characters were sometimes a bit confusing for me.

However, I really appreciated the fact that the things didn’t add up – I guess it was intended and the author wanted to play a little with the readers’ minds, and it worked out in my case. Amy Gentry can also brilliantly describe all the feelings and emotions and I felt heartbroken when reading about scared little Jane, full of guilt and then about adult Jane who couldn’t come to terms with her life – because I personally think Jane was not messed up but there was always guilt that she was feeling. Then the way the author drawn Anna and her gut feelings, the nibbling feeling of doubt was also great and incredibly realistic. The stress and uncertainty of the family were palpable through the pages and it rang true.

Amy Gentry also writes in a way that makes you want to turn the pages to see what’s going to happen and how it’s going to end. While the end itself is satisfying, I’d still love to see more from Jane, to hear her side of the story. Even though the novel is written from multiple points of view, there is – after the initial few chapters when she comes home – no mention of her at all.
I also think that it was intended to build the book this way – slowly introducing us to the characters and unpeeling all the layers from which there are plenty, keeping us guessing – but I had a feeling that there is not much happening and then suddenly the last few chapters were packed with action and events.

Altogether, “Good as Gone” was a gripping family drama, sometimes shocking and uncomfortable in its graphically detailed descriptions of things and events, telling a story of lies and secrets. The author has truly complicated the plot, it’s complex and multi – layered, showing faults and guilt of all those involved in Julie’s disappearance. Interesting, different read with some twists and I am already looking forward to more from this author.

FOLLOW THE BLOG TOUR:

good-as-gone-blog-tour

Leave a Reply

