Spring at Blueberry Bay by Holly Martin / Blog Tour

Hi guys! I have another blog tour today and I’ll be quick today – it’s for Holly Martin’s new novel “Spring at Blueberry Bay” which I simply adored. If I were to recommend you one book right now it would be this one – just drop whatever you’re doing and buy this story – you will be eternally grateful for the recommendation!

featuredimage-hm

Spring at Blueberry Bay by Holly Martin

 

34451662Publisher: Bookouture

Publishing Date: 7th April  2017

Source:  Received from the publisher via NetGalley in return for an honest review!

Number of pages: 353

Genre: Romance, Women’s Fiction

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

 

Synopsis:

Welcome to beautiful Hope Island where the sea sparkles, the daffodils are blooming and a blossoming romance is just around the corner…

Bella has always had a sunny outlook and caring nature, despite recently falling on hard times. When she finds a handsome homeless man on her doorstep, her kind heart tells her she must help him. So, she invites Isaac into her cottage and into her life in ways she could never have imagined…

But Isaac is not what he seems. He’s keeping a huge secret from Bella, yet he never expected to fall for this open, generous and charming woman.

Bella can’t ignore the chemistry between her and Isaac, but she’s had her trust badly broken in her past. Will she run when she learns the truth about Isaac, or will he be the one man who can help Bella believe in love again?

A gorgeously romantic and heartwarming story to completely lose yourself in. Perfect for fans of Sarah Morgan, Jane Costello and Miranda Dickinson.

Rating: 5/5

Holly Martin is one of my most favourite authors. No matter how are you feeling, her books will make you feel better, that’s guaranteed. Lately however I had some problems as Holly’s books started to see very similar to each other and I had a feeling that only the names of the characters and the places changed but still they were brilliant, humorous reads with quirky heroines and heroes sexier than sex gods. It’s no different with “Spring at Blueberry Bay” – the book is set on a gorgeous island, it has a bouncy main character Bella and it has sex scenes to die for. Don’t wait long, just buy the book and start reading it, and I am telling you this right now, at the beginning of my review!

Holly Martin, I am not sure how she does it, but she can perfectly write about blossoming romances. Here the chemistry between Bella and Isaac was Undeniable with a capital U, you could see the sparks and feel the sizzling. This relationship is like the wildest rollercoaster ride ever, with some false starts, with ups and downs which only made it feel so much more realistic and feasible (even with the fact how it actually began, with Bella inviting a strange man to her home and kissing him, but whatever, I did buy it). I also adored both of them, they were great. Bella was not a wuss, oh no, even though she had a much more sensible side to her and it was relatively easy to hurt her, as she wears her heart on the sleeve. There was fire in this girl, she had a great spirit and a heart made of gold. Isaac, oh my word, guys, give me Isaac any time, pretty please. Feisty, romantic, responsible and I could go on and on about him. Yes, I probably fell head over heels for Isaac, the fictional character. Kill me.

At first maybe I thought, mhm, the characters, it happens so quickly, and they are so honest, and they speak so openly and honestly with each other about the most personal thoughts, experiences and sex, mhm, really? But then I though, oh heck, maybe it’s just like it should be, no beating around the bush, just tell how it is. Maybe it was also because Bella is a total opposite of me, I wouldn’t dare to storm into somebody’s office just like she did but you know what? I secretly admired her for her wit, for being so feisty and for not letting sleeping dogs lie and I would love to be like Bella, so direct and to be able to take care about myself in a way she does. So in the end I though, hats off to Holly for writing this story without messing around and only getting straight to the point. There was nothing of this never – ending will they/won’t they plays, the characters got straight down to business and it was so different and so nice to read, without endless introductions and descriptions.

Of course Ms Martin has created another brilliant setting. Hope Island is a place that you immediately want to go and stay for ever. It just seemed so magical, so colourful, the descriptions of the cottages made me long to pack my things and move in there. This novel was full to the brims with humour, the most hilarious one – liners and scenes (just think about naked Bella hiding behind sofa, or her going for the interview and many, many more) and many very intense sex scenes. There was a moment I was scared this book is going to turn into some kind of shades, but no worries, it is all so very well balanced and they are also full of feeling and emotions. This book was really like a breath of fresh air.

“Spring at Blueberry Bay” very strongly reminded me of one of Holly’s previous novels written under a pseudonym, “Tied Up with Love”, which was absolutely my number 1 by this author. So no wonder that in the end I just adored “Spring at Blueberry Bay”. There was just my kind of humour – you know the one when characters talk to each other with poker faces when in fact this what they say is hilarious, and just imagining them telling this had me in stitches. It had one of the most gorgeous yet down – to – earth heros who must be my new favourite character right now and I think he’s going to be my crush, instead of Enrique Iglesias. Just saying. So imagine how brilliant he must be. It had one of the most realistic, warm, smartass heroine with the best one – liners in the world. It had a brilliant plot, it had dogs, it had fantastic setting, it was about family bonds. It had the best sex scenes ever – touching, full of fire, full of humour, beautiful. Yes, the first 20 % dragged on a bit and I had a feeling we are going in circles but after that there was nothing stopping the story and the author – this must me be my second favourite novel by Holly Martin, guys, and it’s telling really something, as I loved all of her novels. Highly recommended!

FOLLOW THE BLOG TOUR:

hm-bt

Leave a Reply

