Paper Hearts & Summer Kisses by Carole Matthews / Blog Tour

Hi guys, how are you all doing on this cold and windy Thursday? To make you feel better I have a blog tour stop today for you, and one that I am so very excited about! Who of you hasn’t heard of Carole Matthews? I thought so, we all know and adore her, and this is why I am so thrilled to be a part of the blog tour for her newest release, “Paper Hearts & Summer Kisses”. It is a special book and special blog tour, as Carole Matthews wanted to use it as a paper chain of thanks – and this is why I decided to give my extra copy of the book to one of my best friends, Alex – I know she’s read the novel already and loved it as much as I did, and also she passed it to her sister, so our paper chain of thanks is growing stronger!

Paper Hearts & Summer Kisses by Carole Matthews

 

31417121Publisher: Sphere

Publishing Date: 6th April  2017

Source:  Received from the publisher in return for an honest review!

Number of pages: 432

Genre: Romance, Women’s Fiction

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback | Hardcover

 

Synopsis:

A heart-warming and poignant novel of romance, family and second chances, Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses is Sunday Times bestselling Carole Matthews at her outstanding best. Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell and Milly Johnson.

Christie Chapman is a single working mother who spends her days commuting to her secretarial job in London and looking after her teenage son, Finn. It can be tough just getting through the day but Christie has always found comfort in her love of crafting and any spare time she has is spent in her parents’ summerhouse working on her beautiful creations. From intricately designed birthday cards to personalised gifts, Christie’s flair for the handmade knows no bounds and it’s not long before opportunity comes knocking. All of a sudden Christie sees a different future for her and Finn – one full of hope and possibility, and if the handsome Max Alexander is to be believed, one full of love too. It’s all there for the taking.

And then, all of sudden, Christie’s world is turned upside down.

Christie knows that something has to give, but what will she choose? Will she give up her dreams and the chance of real love? What price will she pay for doing the right thing? Can Christie find her happy ending in . . . Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses.

Rating: 5/5

Carole Matthews has been on my auto – buy list of authors for a few good years already. Sometimes her books are good, more than often they are better than good but there is one thing certain – she always delivers a beautiful story that tugs at your heart strings, that make you smile and cry, that make you start to believe that the world can be a better place.

I personally think that it is one of the best Carole Matthews’ books. It is full of her charming, warm writing, down – to – earth heroine wrestling with problems hitting her left and right, but a heroine that never gives up. It is full of this trademark Carole Matthews’ humour, poignant moments and situations that you can easily relate to. There were moments that I was thinking, oh my, how much Christie is going to hold on, how many awful news are going to strike her and I truly fell for her. I just wanted to keep reading this story, to see what’s going to happen and maybe it’s going to sound funny to you but I also wanted to give Christie and Finn standing ovation for being so strong.

A gorgeous, down to earth read where you immediately feel at home, you feel as if you knew the characters and you want to help them. Moreover, you may have a feeling that you know what’s going to happen, that you can predict the outcome but you are wrong – the author throws surprise after surprise and I more than often gasped in shock, more than often wanted to drop a tear or two, more than often wanted to pat the characters on their shoulders and tell them I am there for them – and it doesn’t happen often that I feel the need to talk to the characters! Because, as usually, the characters in Ms Matthews’ books are brilliantly drawn. I immediately fell for them all and kept everything crossed for them. Finn was great – suffering from really bad headaches, not being able to enjoy his life to the full and not finding doctor’s help almost till it was too late. I admired him how brave he is through this all, how calm and stoical, not making use of the situation only clenching his teeth and going on. Christie is a very ordinary woman and I think this is what makes her instantly so likeable. She has to commute to London to earn her money, she has a 15 – year old son that she has to support. One of the things that makes her happy is crafting and her evenings and any spare time is being spent on creating cards that she can then sell to improve her finances. Boring? No. Ordinary and normal – yes, and I couldn’t help but fell for her immediately. Seeing her struggle I just wanted to hug her and tell everything will be all right. But will it be? Also, Christie and Finn were incredibly close, also with Christie’s parents living around the corner and they made a really nice close knit group.

Yes, there were moments that the book was slow, that all that happened was Christie commuting and complaining about her job but you know what? It didn’t bother me at all. It was all told in such a human, realistic way that you could easily relate with her and her problems and it was all so genuine and honest and actually it could have been me, you or any other person. Yes, the end was a tad bit saccharine and I would love such chances in my own life but it just somehow sat with me and all those ups and downs in Christie’s life made me like her more.

I am not a crafter. I can do some arts and crafts with the children in kindergarten, I can glue something together but all the things that Carole Matthews writes about in her story are like a higher level of mathematics to me. However, I do admire people who can create such gorgeous things and I would give lots of my things to be able to create such beautiful cards and other wonders. I loved to see how creative Christie is and how she could trickle in ideas based on the few materials that she had at her disposal. Those ideas were described in a very detailed way but I couldn’t have enough of them, guys.
But this story is not only about crafting. There is of course a bit of sparkling romance as well and the issue about Finn’s health and this all created a lovely, compelling novel. It is full of emotions, ups and downs, a story about family relationships, friendship, new beginnings and second chances. Wonderful, warm, uplifting book – highly recommended.

FOLLOW THE BLOG TOUR:

paperhearts_blog-poster-copy

One thought on “Paper Hearts & Summer Kisses by Carole Matthews / Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

