The Woman Who Met Her Match by Fiona Gibson

The Woman Who Met Her Match by Fiona Gibson

 

33229356Publisher: Avon

Publishing Date: 20th April  2017

Source:  Received from the publisher in return for an honest review!

Number of pages: 400

Genre: Romance, Women’s Fiction

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

Synopsis:

What if your first love came back on the scene . . . 30 years later?

After yet another disaster, Lorrie is calling time on online dating. She might be single in her forties, but she’s got a good job, wonderful children and she’s happy. This, Lorrie decides, is going to have to be enough.

That is, until she receives a very unexpected request from France. Antoine Rousseau, who had once turned a lonely French exchange trip into a summer of romance, wants to see her – after thirty years.

But Lorrie is a responsible woman. She can’t exactly run off to Nice with the man who broke her teenage heart . . . can she?

A wonderfully funny novel, perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Joanna Bolouri and Milly Johnson.

Rating: 4/5

What a great book “The Woman Who Met Her Match” was! After the last two books by Fiona Gibson that were enjoyable but not as much as I’d loved them to be, the author is back with a great story like “Take Mum Out” or “Mum on the Run” and it makes me incredibly happy because I was already worried what’s happening and when am I going to get the brilliant Fiona Gibson again? No worries guys, here she is, with “The Woman Who Met Her Match”!

I felt immediately at home with this story. It was so warm and welcoming, full of dry humour – just what I like best – the things happening in the story were so down – to – earth and I am sure so many of us can relate to Lorrie. I liked her from the very beginning, as a young girl and then as a mature woman with two teenagers – great kids, BTW! She works hard as a manager at a cosmetic counter in a department store and she loves her job – her passion was palpable through the pages, she was the right person on the right place, guys. She had a big heart, was full of understanding, loved her family and altogether, was happy with her life and those were her children that signed her up on the dating website. My only regret is that there were only few of the dates – you know how much I love reading about disastrous dates and I would SO love to read more about Lorrie meeting those guys because those few that we got were hilarious!

Fiona Gibson has written her characters in the best possible way, they were more than realistic, they just felt like real people with real problems, because – of course! – there were some troubles heading Lorrie’s way, just like Antoine, her teenage crush getting in touch out of the blue, or a big company buying the beauty brand Lorrie was working for and going all young on her – and the author has just brought all the things so easily and effortlessly to life. There were many subplots in this story, but they were all done in a perfect way, and no matter what I was reading about, if it was Lorrie’s job or her mother’s upcoming wedding (oh my word. Lorrie’s mum was frustrating. Frustrating. I’ve no idea how she could bear up with her), I did enjoy them all, and because of this diversity this book was even more brilliant. Lorrie had a lot on her plate but all she did and said just rang true and I just couldn’t help but kept everything crossed for her and her family.

I am only not sure who Lorrie’s match was but oh well, I can live with this. I’m guessing it must be Stu and let’s stop for a moment here. Stu is Lorrie’s best friend and a lodger who’s running one of the best business you can imagine, namely his company Parsley Force delivers things for people who have forgotten to buy them! Or are too lazy to go out and buy them, whatever, but the idea is brilliant, just imagine – it’s snowing or raining, and you fancy a bag of crisps, you call and they bring them to you! Clever, no? However, I don’t know, I don’t want to spoil the reading for you so I’m not going to elaborate about this, but the end to this story and to Lorrie and Stu’s thread was so sudden and well, yes, I did expect it, it was just my gut feeling telling me that it’s going to end this way as there was really nothing indicating that there could be more between those characters. Especially Lorrie, she has treated Stu as best friend and those sudden confessions of love at the end made me roll my eyes to be honest. And I also am not sure what was it about Lorrie’s son and what’s it all for? A nice touch, yes, but only few lines and nothing more, so why?

“The Woman who Met Her Match” is a lovely read touching about many issues, such like grief, marriage, friendship, bringing your children up alone, family bonds and dynamics, showing that there is always time for love and that it can come in a very unexpected way. A story about second chances, illusions, about memories, and this all hidden between gorgeous cover – don’t you think it’s beautiful? It was a very easy and very enjoyable read and I am really glad to have the good Fiona Gibson back. She writes about the truth with honesty, she creates down – to – earth and normal situations but she gives “normal” a face – lifting and altogether, I can only highly recommend this lovely, comfortable read.

Leave a Reply

