Girl 99 by Andy Jones

Girl 99 by Andy Jones

 

32606696Publisher: Lake Union Publishing

Publishing Date: 14th February  2017

Source:  Received from the publisher via NetGalley in return for an honest review!

Number of pages: 318

Genre: General Fiction (Adult)

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

Synopsis:

When Tom’s girlfriend walks out on him the day before Christmas, he feels humiliated but not necessarily heartbroken. Sadie wasn’t, after all, The One. If we’re being precise, she was number eighty-five.

And so, for reasons that are only mostly wrong, Tom embarks on a mission to bring his number of encounters up to a nice neat one hundred.

Over the course of his quest he sleeps with a colleague, a colleague of a friend, a friend of a friend, a friend of a friend’s wife, the estate agent selling his flat and several more besides.

Everything is going, if not well, then at least according to plan…and then Tom meets Verity. Whether she’s The One remains to be seen, but she’s certainly more than just another number.

Rating: three-stars

Oh guys, you’ve no idea how excited I was to read a book by Andy Jones – finally! I love reading women’s fiction written from a man’s perspective, and I also have both Andy Jones’s previous book on my TBR pile, though have never come to reading them – YET – and so I was truly desperate to read “The Girl 99”.

So this book. Arrrgh, it got me a headache. So torn about this one! It may be a book also for women but mostly I think it was for men – the story seemed to me like a never – ending boastings of a man about his conquests – and it actually was only about taking girls in his bed and crossing them off the list. Just look at me, the pasha, ha! And truly, if it is the way that men think and behave than I am really happy to be a woman. I’m sorry, maybe I just didn’t got the story but this is how I feel, and it has nothing to do with feminism – I just felt like the women were objectified in this story. It might be that the main character is only looking for real love, to find The One but well, for me he’s looking in the wrong way. However, OK, Tom has redeemed himself showing that he also has feelings and emotions, that he’s not the heartless bastard that his best friend wanted to make out of him, and – hallelujah! – he seemed to learn what real love is. Tom was rather prone to putting himself into embarrassing situations and mostly he was rather misunderstood by the opposite sex. Hmm. His journey into the happy ever after was bumpy and painful. I also liked the writing style – it was sharp, the author is a good observer of reality and the story is original.

I liked the fact that there were also other aspects to the story. The author touches upon family dynamics as well in his novel and Tom’s family was really well portrayed. The interactions between Tom and his father and sister were entertaining yet poignant, and the relationships in this family were so well captured and felt so realistic – the author writes as it is. But sadly, there was nothing that wow-ed me in this story and eventually I started to skim reading.
At the end the author mentions that his debut story is about one of the characters that also stars in “The Girl 99”. Well, duh, but it didn’t make me want to immediately read this book. Sadly. I was hoping for much more, for a clever, hooking, unique read but sadly nothing doing.

All in all, “Girl 99” was light – hearted and humorous (though it was not my kind of humour, however it is just my personal feeling and opinion and it doesn’t mean that other people are not going to enjoy this book, which they already do!) book about finding love when you don’t expect it. It is written in a very modern way, full of nowadays remarks, and it is especially visible in the way the characters communicate, as the dialogues are sharp and well – written. Yes, it was not only a story about making it to number 100, but also about finding out who you are and what it is you want for your life, and I appreciate that, and I am really, truly sorry that it didn’t work for me.

3 thoughts on “Girl 99 by Andy Jones

  1. I like reading women’s fiction written by men too, but this doesn’t sound like it’s for me. Have you read any Nick Alexander? Not exactly women’s fiction but great writing about families and relationships.

    Like

    • I had really great hopes for this book but it just didn’t work for me – maybe I just really didn’t get it.
      I’ve read only one book by Nick Alexander, though it was really good and I hope to read more. But if I were
      to recommend a great author it would be Mike Gayle – I LOVE his books!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

