He Said/She Said by Erin Kelly

He Said/She Said by Erin Kelly

 

32939533Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton

Publishing Date: 20th April  2017

Source:  Received from the publisher in return for an honest review!

Number of pages: 416

Genre: Mystery, Suspense, General Fiction (Adult)

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Hardcover | Paperback (out on 11.01.2018)

 

Synopsis:

Who do you believe?

In the hushed aftermath of a total eclipse, Laura witnesses a brutal attack.

She and her boyfriend Kit call the police, and in that moment, it is not only the victim’s life that is changed forever.

Fifteen years on, Laura and Kit live in fear.

And while Laura knows she was right to speak out, the events that follow have taught her that you can never see the whole picture: something – and someone – is always in the dark…

Rating: five-stars

Erin Kelly is a new author to me but as soon as I spotted “He Said/She Said” I just knew that I have to read this book, no matter what. Every once in a while there comes a novel that you only need to look at and to immediately feel that this is for sure going to be THE read that you’re looking for. However, guys, when I started reading this gorgeous review copy, I quickly turned into a nervous wreck, as I completely couldn’t get into it. The descriptions of the eclipse, universe, moon etc were lovely but I thought, what the hell? Is this the story? Am I going to hate the book that I was sure I am going to love? The beginning was a real test for me, guys, but luckily it didn’t take long and I was completely immersed in the plot. Completely.

“He Said/She Said” was a dark and unpredictable psychological suspense of the highest niveau. There are not many twists in this story, however when they come, be prepared to gasp loud, as they appear so out of the blue and hit you hard direct in your face. Also, the author has written her characters like a real genius – I have no idea how many times I’ve changed my mind about them. I really didn’t know if I can trust them, who has lied and who is hiding something, and I loved this feeling, guys. It is brilliant to once in a while get a book in your hands that makes you question everything, a story where nothing is as you think, as it appears.

This story focuses on four characters, their lives, secrets and lies, exploring their relationships and interactions. Told from Laura and Kit’s points of view, it also mixes two time – lines, in present and 15 years before when everything started and when the situation started to spiral out of control. It was not too easy at the beginning, what with the stories about the eclipse (though the eclipse is very significant, so please bare with those passages. Just like eclipse has different phases, this story has them as well), the changing point of view and the jumping times but then it started to fall into a place, each piece was finding its place in the puzzle and there came a moment that I just couldn’t put this book down. It sucked me in and I was interested only in finding out who and why and how it’s going to end. I’d say the first part of this story was a little long – winded and dragged a tad, but then, really guys, then nothing can stop it.

It’s a multi – layered story and there is much more to it than meets the eye at the beginning. You may think you have it nailed but nothing there is as straightforward as you can think. It is incredibly clever, with brilliantly developed characters – there is depth to them and complexity. They are full of flaws but it only make them more believable. They try to make amends, which doesn’t always work out. And it is written in a beautiful way, some of the passages are almost poetic and you just want to swallow up every single word. It is harsh, it is genuine, all the emotions are just like they are in real life. It is a book that will keep you guessing and doubting yourself, taking you on a journey full of surprises. It is truly one of the best and captivating books I’ve read this year. Highly recommended!

 

Leave a Reply

