Catch Me if You Cannes by Lisa Dickenson / Blog Tour

Hi guys, hope you are all well on this sunny (finally! FINALLY!!!) Wednesday. And if you’re not, I am just about to give you a reason to feel well again. I am absolutely, very THRILLED to be part of Lisa Dickenson’s blog tour, celebrating the publication of her “Catch Me if You Cannes”. I adore Lisa and her novels, they are all full of things that I am looking for in my reads, and please be warned that this review is going to be full of exclamation marks, the word “absolutely” and “loved”. Put your feet high and enjoy!

And Clara, thank you so, so much!!!

Catch Me if You Cannes by Lisa Dickenson

 

32940978Publisher: Sphere

Publishing Date: 4th May  2017

Source:  Received from the publisher in return for an honest review!

Number of pages: 416

Genre: General Fiction (Adults), Women’s Fiction

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

Synopsis:

WARNING: reading Catch Me If You Cannes may result in embarrassing outbursts of belly-aching laughter on public transport. Romantic, funny and full of Cannes Film Festival magic, it’s perfect for fans of Giovanna Fletcher, Paige Toon and Mhairi McFarlane.

Jess has decided it’s time to get out of her comfort zone and live a little. So when her best friend Bryony, a journalist on a gossip magazine, is sent to cover the Cannes Film Festival, Jess decides to seize the day and go along for the ride. Two weeks of sun, glamour and exclusive entry into celeb-filled parties is just the kind of adventure Jess needs.

Reality soon bites though when Jess and Bryony find they’re staying in a dingy hotel far away from all the action and Bryony’s expenses budget barely covers a glass of local wine. Undeterred, the two women are determined to live like the elite and enjoy one fancy night out to begin their holiday. So what if they have to tell a few white lies along the way? It’s just this once. No harm done . . . right?

Full of hilarious one-liners, sparkling blue seas and plenty of romantic moments, Catch Me If You Cannes is the story of two friends, a few white lies and one very sticky situation . . .

Rating: five-stars

happy-valentines-day11

Lisa Dickenson takes us on holidays – again! After Italy in “You Had Me at Merlot” it’s time for France, and not any France but Cannes itself! I’ve packed my bag already with flip – flops and very roomy sarongs and am readyyyyy! Yes, I would go anytime and anywhere with Lisa and her brilliant sense of humour and colourful, witty storytelling. Just imagine what great holidays would it be!

“Catch Me if You Cannes” introduces us mainly to our two main characters, Jess and Bryony. Bryony works for a tabloid that is fairly at the end of all the tabloids but nevertheless, her boss sends her to Cannes Film Festival to cover as many juicy, sexy, fat scandals as possible and Jess, who lately seems a little low, decides to tag along with her best friend. The girls very quickly find themselves in the middle of action, among the right crowd and well, Jess meets a boy!
OK, they weren’t expecting to stay in this hotel at the outskirts of Cannes where, if you want to see the see, you must do some yoga – like moves, and so when they are taken for other people, they just decide to fib a little, throw in some white lies and see when reality is going to bite again. For now, they are determined to live the celebrity life and enjoy their holidays as much as they Can(nes).

Guys, everything is right with book. Everything!
Characters.
Setting.
Dialogues.
Pace.
EVERYTHING!
Lisa can create the most incredible, warm, realistic characters ever, characters that I have a feeling I used to know when I was a baby, through my childhood, teenage years and half of my adult life. They might be incredibly funny and easy to like people, but there is also incredible depth to all of them, and they all feel like real people, as if you could just stretch a hand and feel them. I fell in love with Jess and Bryony from the start – Jess, who has a cafe back in Cornwall, is right now escaping all the troubles and worries that were preoccupying her, and oh my, there was something in this girl that made me want to hug her hard and never let her go. Bryony seems to be the louder and more feisty of the two friends, larger than life, but there is still such a vulnerability to her, and she’s dreaming of becoming a serious journalist one day, and they compliment each other so great, and it is only Lisa who could capture all those contrasts in the girls so well. I absolutely loved the fact that the girls just went with the flow. Oh well, when being mistaken for being other people, some kind of VIPs, they just went with it, and methinks, why not??? They had the guts for this and I admired them for this and because I would be too scared, it doesn’t mean that they couldn’t spend the holidays of their lives, right?
But also all the other supporting characters are just a real pleasure to read and you can’t help but root for them or want to slap them, or wipe away the smirk off their faces, yes, Celine. Lisa knows when and where to add a new character and she finds uses for all of them, they are all absolutely needed and add tons of fun to the story. Jess, Bryony, Leo, Harvey, Richard and Co., they were so damned and utterly likeable!
I absolutely adored the awkward conversations made by Jess and Leo, they were hilarious, and OH. MY. WORD but they team up together so well! They are so cute, and so shy, and they say the funniest things, and everything between them seems so real and honest, the glances, the brushing against each other , light touching… Absolutely adorable!

Lisa can so truly vividly describe the settings, and it’s no exception with this story. I could feel the warmth of the sun on my face, see the blue water sparkling and oh my gosh, what I need right now are crepes with Nutella!!! (Well, because there are no crepes in the distance of around 160 km from me, I’ve just settled for Nutella. It did the trick as well). And oh, what with my nosiness, I couldn’t wait to spot a celebrity or two, partying on the biggest yachts in the world! One of the highlights of this book must have been the trip to Monaco (casino! Formel1!, Palace…! I must stop or I’ll start crying with jealousy at all the sights and good weather and money won in casino. I LOVE casinos.), losing glasses and then buying new ones, in the most over – priced shops in the world when you credit card is maxed up totally, and of course all the scenes with Jess and Leo doing their very awkward flirting, and saying all the things you shouldn’t say on a date – but it was all so genuine and honest, and I just wanted to hug them to my respectable bosom, kiss them on their heads and assure them everything is going to be OK.

“Catch Me if you Cannes” was packed full, as it usually is with Lisa’s stories, of incredible, belly – ache one – liners. There is something magic and addictive to Lisa’s writing. It’s so light and easy to follow, and it leaves you full of sparkles and will to live, really. But it’s not only laugh – out – loud story about the adventures of two best friends, oh no, Lisa, as usually, has added some softer and emotional moments to the plot as well, that just made me love the story much, much more, because well, life is not only a bed of roses, right? But let’s be honest, it is the ultimate chick – lit, summer-y read that’s going to leave you with cheesy grins. There is a feel – good factor to it, sunshine, humour and good vibes, everything that you could wish for! It’s funny, it’s flirty, and it’s full of surprises and hilarious situations. It has the best characters ever invented, the greatest friendship and crazy family. Let’s be honest, no matter what Lisa Dickenson writes, she turns it into a real cracker, and I absolutely can’t wait for more from her. Her writing is so warm and addictive, and there is no such thing as too much humour in her books, and moreover, this humour is incredibly clever and with belly – laugh effect. It is also oh so very gentle and lovely, and the characters that Lisa creates are so genuine and feel so realistic. “Catch Me if You Cannes” was a brilliant novel, quick to read and quirky, perfect to settle down in the sun, probably with a glass of mimosa (or two, depends on how fast you drink) and devour it, just devour it, such delicious read it was. – it’s an absolute MUST READ, so please don’t wait, just BUY THE BOOK RIGHT NOW and thank me later for the recommendation.

FOLLOW THE BLOG TOUR:

catchmeifyoucannesposter-724x1024

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s