Trust Me by Gemma Metcalfe / Blog Tour + Giveaway

trust-me-tour-banner-800x296

Trust Me by Gemma Metcalfe

 

33853393Publisher: HQ Digital

Publishing Date: 10th March  2017

Source:  Received from the publisher via NetGalley in return for an honest review!

Number of pages: 209

Genre: General Fiction (Adults), Mystery & Thrillers

 Buy the Book: Kindle

 

Synopsis:

One phone call. Two lives. Their darkest secrets.

Lana needs to sell a holiday, fast. Stuck in Tenerife, in a dead end job, she never expected a response quite like Liam’s.

Thousands of miles away a phone rings. Liam never intended to pick up, he’s too busy choosing the quickest way to die. But at least someone should know the truth before he goes, even if that someone is a stranger.

As time runs out both are drawn to the other, expressing thoughts they never imagined they would share.

When you’re about to die will your secrets even matter?

Rating: three-stars

“Trust Me” is Gemma Metcalfe’s debut novel and after reading it I can say that it is a very promising beginning to her writing career. The synopsis to this novel is truly intriguing, and after seeing it I wanted nothing more than to read this book – it sounded like there is going to be a real race against time, it was unique and refreshing.

This story was full of twists and turns and I was really afraid to turn the page to see what’s going to happen and what worse possibly was to come, as truly bad things have been happening to Lana and Liam. The novel jumps between Lana and Liam’s stories, between their past and present and it is done in a very clear, not at all confusing way, it was flowing seamlessly and truly I didn’t have problems to pick up where the previous chapter ended.

There was a depth and complexity to the characters and they were well drawn and their voices were very strong and distinctive. Their stories were not the easiest ones. Lana’s life turned out to be on a very dangerous path, while Liam’s relationship with Jessica was awfully hard. Because of the fact that this book actually covers the period of only few hours in which Lana must talk to Liam to save him from committing suicide, the pace is quick, and the chapters are short and there is a lot happening. Also, the chapters that focus on the characters’ past are dynamic and full to the brims with events. Gemma Metcalfe’s writing style is very easy to follow and I enjoyed it, and she also knew how to built the tension, because with it getting close to the end I truly wasn’t sure what’s going to happen, will he or won’t he, and it was great to be kept in the dark for so long.

But. I am so, so sorry that there is this “but”. This story, while full of tension and compelling, was not as exciting for me as I hoped it’ll be. I am not sure why, because theoretically the book has it all, but it just didn’t capture my attention so much and it felt somehow flat. Yes, there was drama, there was race against time and I know it couldn’t have been written in a different way as then there wouldn’t be the cliffhanger – effect, but I just felt tired with the chapters ending like they did and the jumping between Liam and Lana’s stories, and the continuous urging to “tell me your story”. Also not sure if it were possible for Lana to stay so long on a phone to one person without anybody noticing it, but oh well, call me picky. The end felt a little bit too abrupt for my liking and it left us with an open question, and sometimes this works well but here I’d really like to know how it has ended for Liam. It was a story full of emotions but I had a feeling that those feelings are forced on us, that we are supposed to fell for the characters immediately, and I felt as if we didn’t have a choice of our own.
However, as I’ve already mentioned, I think it is a great debut novel and I will be looking for more from Gemma Metcalfe. This book had its great moments and on the whole it was a fresh, intriguing novel.

GIVEAWAY:

The giveaway is UK ONLY.

And it’s to win a Boots voucher, a harcopy of Trust Me and some surprise Boots goodies!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

FOLLOW THE BLOG TOUR:

c_ipox-xkaadtbj

Leave a Reply

