The Last Piece of My Heart by Paige Toon

The Last Piece of My Heart by Paige Toon

31694817Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Publishing Date: 18th May 2017

Source:  Received from the publisher in return for an honest review!

Number of pages: 400

Genre: General Fiction (Adults), Women’s Fiction

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

Synopsis:

Meet Bridget, a successful travel journalist with ambitions to turn her quirky relationship blog into a novel. But, after numerous rejections from publishers, she accepts an alternative proposition: Nicole Dupre died leaving behind a bestselling novel and an incomplete sequel, and the family need someone to finish it. Bridget is just thankful to have her foot in the publishing door. But as she gets to know Nicole’s grieving family, and the woman behind the writing, Bridget’s priorities begin to change …

Rating: five-stars

My love to Paige Toon and her novels has been growing slowly but steadily, in due course and with every new book by this author I am more and more in love with her stories – I just think that each new novel by Ms Toon is better than the other one and soon I am probably going to run short of rating stars, and if I could I’d give them 10 or more. I desperately wanted to read “The Last Piece of My Heart” and when my review copy arrived I was over the moon with joy. Really. Don’t judge me but this is what the books do to me.

Bridget is an aspiring author and travel writer who’s writing about her travels on her blog. She’s also come up with this idea of a feature where she has to contact all of her ex – boyfriends to get the pieces of her hearts that they carried with them back. She hopes to turn it into a novel. But her agent has other ideas and Bridget gets a work as a ghost – writer, writing a sequel to a best selling novel by an author who unfortunately passed away shortly after her book was being published. Little Bridget knows how much agreeing to take this job is going to change her life… Moreover, to write this sequel, Bridget must travel to Cornwall and is spending 7 weeks camping in the gorgeous Padstow, while researching and going through Nicky’s notes and diaries to find what she’s had in mind for her characters. However, it quickly turns out that there are many similarities between Nicky’s life and the story in her book – what does this mean for the book and for Charlie?

I was hooked from the very first page. Seriously. I found myself racing through the pages wanting to know what’s going to happen but also not wanting it to come to the end so I could enjoy it longer and longer. To be honest, I was expecting something different when I’ve read the synopsis, now please don’t laugh but I thought that Charlie is going to be a very, very old widower, handicapping Bridget’s life and work, so I was a little surprised, but not at all disappointed, as Charlie is an ultimate swoon – character and I fell for him immediately, head over heels.

There is a great bunch of characters in this book and their stories are so captivating! There is so much depth to them all and thanks to it they just feel like real people, with real problems. Bridget was just great. So adventurous, wearing her heart on her sleeve, strong – minded and independent, and following her dreams. Charlie’s story has touched all the right heart – strings. He loved Nicky so much and now he was left alone with their daughter April. Watching him struggling with bringing the lovely little girl up, grief and everyday life was heartbreaking. I fell for him immediately, even though there were moments that I was very annoyed with him, but on the other hand I could understand him, he didn’t know what’s right or what is wrong, he was grieving but he also wanted to live his life, and it was so complicated. Seeing him come out of his shell was the greatest thing ever, guys.

I only had one “but” this time, and it’s the ending. The last few chapters seemed so, so rushed, everything there happened incredibly quickly. Don’t get me wrong, it was a lovely end but in comparison to the whole story, to its pace, it was just too quick. It takes Bridget, but especially Charlie, really, really long to realize what it is they’re feeling, and in the last few chapters it looks like Bridget has just decided she’s going to do it, no matter what, click your fingers, mumbo jumbo, and here we are, at the end of the story. I don’t mean that it doesn’t suit the novel, it fits perfectly and I LOVED this end, I’m just saying. So there. BUT – the way the author has written about the feelings and emotions is freaking brilliant! She can put all kinds of them into words and describe things that I had no idea exists – the feelings just jump out of the pages.

Paige Toon also writes beautiful descriptions of the settings and she always chooses them so carefully and they are always so spot on. This time we not only have London, but also Cornwall, that is so easily brought to life and the scenery is stunning – Bridget needs to do some research and the places were gorgeous! We are also taken on a journey to Thailand, where everything I read about was so vivid, colourful and full of scents.
This book balances humour and the hard – hitting emotions in a perfect way. I absolutely, totally adored the romance aspect in this novel – it was beautiful and so down – to – earth, Paige Toon has captured all the awkward moments so, so well and every element of it just perfectly fitted the other one. You could literally see how the characters were falling for each other, and I don’t think I’ve read about blossoming relationship captured so, so well before!

“The Last Piece of My Heart” is incredibly beautiful story about love, loss, grief and hope. It made me smile, it made me cry, this rollercoaster journey of emotions was just perfect. I instantly fell for the characters and I lived through all the ups and downs with them, I kept my fingers crossed for them, I also got angry with them sometimes, especially when they didn’t see what was so obvious. It was filled with adventures, heart – breaking moments and just this overwhelming feel – good factor. I loved this story, and I am sure you’re going to love it too – highly recommended!

Leave a Reply

