Big Sexy Love by Kirsty Greenwood

Big Sexy Love by Kirsty Greenwood

34835025Publisher:

Publishing Date: 29th June 2017

Source:  Received from the author in return for an honest review!

Number of pages: 352

Genre:  Romance,  Women’s Fiction

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

 

 

 

Synopsis:

Olive Brewster is a scaredy cat. She doesn’t do new or risky. She’s happy enough with her job at the local market, it’s cool that she has no boyfriend to fret over, she even likes that she still lives in her childhood home. No drama, no fuss, no problems. Everything is fine. Super duper fine.

Except … Olive’s best friend in the world​, Birdie, is dying.

Birdie has one final wish. She wants to track down her first love, Chuck, and because she’s stuck in the hospital she needs Olive’s help to do it. But there’s a teeny problem: Chuck is somewhere in New York and Olive has never even left her home town, let alone roamed the crazy streets of Manhattan.

As if the big city isn’t scary enough, Olive has to contend with Seth, a cocky comedy TV writer who thinks she’s a joke; Anders, a bored socialite who’s taken a shine to her; and the fact that no matter how hard she tries to track down Chuck, he doesn’t seem to want to be found.

Can Olive learn to overcome her fears, abandon her old safe routine and fulfil her best friend’s last wish? It’s going to take extra bravery, one badass attitude and a whole lot of big sexy love to make this happen …

Rating: five-stars

Oh guys. It took me so long to write this review because I simply couldn’t find words to tell you how much I adored/enjoyed/loved it. I actually still am absolutely sure I can’t do this book justice but nevertheless, I’ll try.

So. “Big sexy Love” by Kirsty Greenwood has finally arrived! I was probably one out of many almost daily checking Kirsty’s Twitter feed for any news on her new release, and FINALLY this wonderful, glory day arrived and Kirsty told that “Big sexy Love” is going to be published! The EXCITEMENT, guys! Excitement! I don’t know how this girl does it, and I’d love to own a small percent of her humour – to be as funny as Kirsty Greenwood… *sigh*. Mission impossible – she’s one and only.

Now, this book. This gorgeous, hilarious and heart – breaking little book. It is this kind of book that you want to race through to see how it’s going to end and at the same time not wanting it to end – so the best kind, really. I immediately fell in love with the characters, Olive and Birdie, and all the other ones. Olive is, to be honest, my new hero. My inspiration. I want to be like Olive when I grow up – the Olive that went on a plane, even though she was SO scared of flying and have never left England before, and went to New York on a mission to find her best ever friend Birdie’s ex – boyfriend to give him a letter.

I couldn’t believe the troubles Olive was – incidentally – getting into! Guys, really. I’ve no idea you could be so much accident – prone, and each new one was more hilarious than the previous one. She was a bit OCD, our Olive, but she felt so comfortable in her own skin, with the life paths she has chosen, and it was brilliant. She liked quiet and safe and routine but it doesn’t mean that she was boring, because she was everything but boring – she was loyal, lovely, incredibly funny and sharp – minded and she was able to laugh at herself as well.

This is amazing how well Kirsty Greenwood has written Olive’s coming out of her comfort zones, how much it has cost her, without making the story too overwhelming, to heavy. And it all felt so genuine, my gosh, guys, you could FEEL through the pages that Olive was scared, that it was not her idea of a nice time but she would do anything for Birdie – because this friendship between Olive and Birdie, it was like once in a million years. I loved how well the author captured the friendship dynamics and relationship, it – again – felt absolutely honest and true and I – yes! – loved it!

All the other background characters in this story were just brilliant and you loved them immediately. Well, not all of them, the others you just loved to hate. I loved meeting them all, the absolutely gorgeous Seth, Anders, Olive’s family and all the others – no matter how huge or small part did they have in this story, they all had brilliant personalities and they all brought so much to the plot, even the woman from the private park in New York and her tweets!

So shortly, very shortly – this book was perfect. Incredibly, cleverly funny, heart – breaking, down – to – earth, romantic. I fell for the characters immediately and I had everything crossed for them, heck, I told my dogs to keep their paws crossed for them. This story is written with tons of heart and it is one of the warmest, honest stories with the most brilliant one – liners I’ve read for a long time. You immediately feel at home with this book, you feel as if the characters were your best friends. I simply loved this novel – it was full of incredibly funny, hilarious scenes but it had tons of depth as well, and it was a perfect mix. It made me laugh out loud and it made me cry – again, literally, and I would love to be able to read this book for the first time again. Those of you who haven’t read it yet are for a real treat! Highly, highly recommended!

Leave a Reply

