The Cotswolds Cookery Club: A Taste of Spain by Alice Ross

The Cotswolds Cookery Club: A Taste of Spain

 

35704716Publisher: HQ Digital

Publishing Date: 18th August 2017

Series: The Cotswolds Cookery Club #2 (read my review of book 1 here)

Source:  Received from the publisher in return for an honest review!

Number of pages: 180

Genre:   Romance, Women’s Fiction

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

 

 

Synopsis:

Life begins at forty…

Trish Ford always dreamed of living in a little chocolate box village like Cornfield – but she never expected to be starting over at forty! Joining the Cotswolds Cookery Club seems like the perfect recipe for finding happiness again, along with her new friends Connie, Melody and Kate.

From mouth-watering paella to sweet, honey-drenched pestinos, Trish finds a delicious distraction in the Spanish cuisine whilst doing her best to deal with her stroppy teenage daughter and her cheating ex-husband and his pregnant girlfriend.

But it will take all of Trish’s new-found confidence – and maybe a helping of her irresistible leche frita – to risk her heart on hunk single dad Steve…

Fans of Milly Johnson, Caroline Roberts and Jill Mansell will love this heartwarming read!

The Cotswolds Cookery Club is a story told in three parts. A Taste of Spain is part two.

Rating: four-stars

 

After reading the first book in the series, “A Taste of Italy”, I knew that this is going to be series that I won’t want to miss, so as soon as I spotted “A Taste of Spain” on NetGalley, I immediately downloaded it, and guys, I was not disappointed. This second novella is even better than the first one, and it left me glowing in its warmth, sincerity and down – to – earthness. It was really lovely, quick read and I am already looking towards book 3.

I was almost certain that all of the books will focus on the characters already introduced to us in “Italy”, so it was a kind of surprise to see that Trish is a brand new character, who – at the beginning – has nothing to do with the Cookery Club. Gah. There was a moment that I was sure that I am reading a wrong book somehow but fortunately, quickly, Connie entered the scenes and I felt home again. Saying it, I don’t mean that I don’t like Trish or something, because on the opposite, I loved her.
Connie is working at the village shop, blogging and writing articles for a very popular magazine, Melody is soon to be a mum and Kate is still overwhelmed with her family. Trish comes with a very moody teenager, an ex – husband and all the problems it involves. I really, really liked how Trish was growing, how strong she was, even despite the problems with Amber, and how she stood her ground, especially when it came to her husband suggesting she should tell Amber she’s going to have a step – sibling.

Of course, there are again some mouth – watering descriptions of food. Don’t read this book when you’re hungry. Or on diet. Really. Only a good advice. Then there is this lovely, warm overwhelming feeling of friendship, acceptation, support – the girls welcomed Trish to their circle so quickly and easily. All the characters were so true to life and relatable, with all their problems, troubles and moments of happiness.

It is a heart – warming story about friendship, re – building relationships, finding the courage. It is filled with all the ups and downs of usual, everyday life but this only makes it much more forthcoming, realistic and genuine. Written in a very vivid way, this story delivers on each level, and I am sure everyone is going to find something they can relate to. Truly recommended!

Advertisements

One thought on “The Cotswolds Cookery Club: A Taste of Spain by Alice Ross

  1. Pingback: The Cotswolds Cookery Club: A Taste of France by Alice Ross | onmybookshelf

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s