The Woolly Hat Knitting Club by Poppy Dolan

The Woolly Hat Knitting Club by Poppy Dolan

 

36199960Publisher: Canelo

Publishing Date: 25th September 2017

Source:  Received from the publisher via NetGalley in return for an honest review!

Number of pages: 260

Genre:  Romance, Women’s Fiction

 Buy the Book: Kindle

 

 

 

Synopsis:

Finding happiness one stitch at a time

When Dee Blackthorn’s brother, JP, breaks both wrists not only is he in need of a helping hand – or two – but the knitting shop he owns can’t function. Sisterly duties take Dee away from her demanding job and she is unceremoniously fired amidst rumours of inappropriate behaviour. Dee is certain that her hot-shot nemesis, Ben, is behind it all but has no proof.

When Dee bumps into an old friend who is new mum to a premature baby she convinces JP to enlist his knitting pals to make lots of tiny woolly hats. Then Ben turns up denying involvement in Dee’s sacking and she ropes him into helping the knitting cause.

But before long Dee’s good intentions backfire and she risks losing her friends, her family and Ben, who’s turned out to be not so bad after all…

A feel-good romantic comedy about learning what life is really all about, The Woolly Hat Knitting Club is perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley, Tilly Tennant and Carole Matthews.

Rating: four-stars

 

Poppy Dolan is back again with her new novel “The Woolly Hat Knitting Club”, and even though knitting is totally not my thing (but I have other talents, really!), it IS Poppy Dolan’s book and I requested it without hesitation – I fell in love with her books some time ago and I am incredibly happy that after a long break she’s back with her second book this year – keep them coming, Poppy!

The story started very promising and engaging, with Dee being very suddenly being fired from her beloved job. Then I think it went a little downhill and slowed down a bit but I was still caught up in the novel and kept my fingers crossed for (almost) everybody. Dee has really gone on a journey of self – developing and finding her priorities, becoming a new person in short. She had a passion, when she did something she put all her heart into it and she loved her family. She didn’t hesitate for a single moment to leave behind her life in London when her younger brother JP breaks both his wrists and needs help. Actually, this is where her new life starts – even if she doesn’t know it yet herself! What we don’t know about JP yet is that he’s a knitter, runs a blog and the crafting gangs out there just love him. Dee doesn’t knit. At all. But she’s still there to help him, especially as after a chance encounter with her school friend Becky Dee realises they can help! So then we follow her, JP and some of their friends (and enemies) bringing the challenge to life.

I admit, I had some problems to get into the book. I mean, all this knitting, the structure and colours of the yarn, descriptions of needles or whatever the right name is, and generally, there was something keeping me back, but fortunately this overwhelming feel – good factor, the positivity and the wonderful message took over and I just simply started to enjoy this book. It was so warm that you just can’t not like it, and I really am not sure what my problem was.

We see Dee changing, seeing there are other things that count in life than work, seeing different perspectives, and I enjoyed watching her realising all those things. I always like such characters that set their priorities right. Actually, all of the characters are really well drawn. They are down to earth, they have their battles and struggles and they really feel realistic. They play their parts well and there is enough personality in all of them to like them and fell for them, even though their futures are a little bit predictable.

“The woolly Hat Knitting Club” was a lovely story about realising the importance of a family and friends with a beautiful message in it, also touching upon issues that are so important but not often talked about such as premature babies. It is thoughtful but also light – hearted and easy to read, fun and poignant and I simply liked it. It was written in a lovely, warm way and actually, it was all I was expecting from this book. Recommended!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s