The Lido by Libby Page / #BlogTour

The Lido by Libby Page

 

34709995Publisher: Orion

Publishing Date: 19th April 2018

Source:  Received from the publisher in return for an honest review, thank you!

Number of pages: 384

Genre: General Fiction (Adult)

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

 

 

 

Synopsis:

A tender, joyous debut novel about a cub reporter and her eighty-six-year-old subject—and the unlikely and life-changing friendship that develops between them.

Kate is a twenty-six-year-old riddled with anxiety and panic attacks who works for a local paper in Brixton, London, covering forgettably small stories. When she’s assigned to write about the closing of the local lido (an outdoor pool and recreation center), she meets Rosemary, an eighty-six-year-old widow who has swum at the lido daily since it opened its doors when she was a child. It was here Rosemary fell in love with her husband, George; here that she’s found communion during her marriage and since George’s death. The lido has been a cornerstone in nearly every part of Rosemary’s life.

But when a local developer attempts to buy the lido for a posh new apartment complex, Rosemary’s fond memories and sense of community are under threat.

As Kate dives deeper into the lido’s history—with the help of a charming photographer—she pieces together a portrait of the pool, and a portrait of a singular woman, Rosemary. What begins as a simple local interest story for Kate soon blossoms into a beautiful friendship that provides sustenance to both women as they galvanize the community to fight the lido’s closure. Meanwhile, Rosemary slowly, finally, begins to open up to Kate, transforming them both in ways they never knew possible.

In the tradition of Fredrik Backman, The Lido is a charming, feel-good novel that captures the heart and spirit of a community across generations—an irresistible tale of love, loss, aging, and friendship.

Rating: four-stars

“The Lido” is Libby Page’s debut novel and I didn’t know what to expect when I started reading it – what I knew was that many people were already singing this book praises, and so I made myself comfortable and dived (pun intended) into the story. I am glad to report that this little book was a real gem about very unlikely friendship, about community spirit and also some other important issues, a very uplifting and charming read – predictable, yes, as you immediately know where it’s going to end, but nevertheless heart – warming and feel – good.

Kate and Rosemary would probably never met but they get to know each other when Kate is sent to write a story about the local Lido that’s going to be closed soon, and she interviews Rosemary, who’s 86 years old and swims daily in the Lido, and her fondest memories are connected with this place. Those two women form a life – changing friendship.

It surprised me very much to have discovered the story of Rosemary and George, I haven’t expected something like this to come up in this book, but it was a lovely surprise and an extra bonus. There were also chapters told from totally random characters coming to the Lido, the perspectives included a pregnant woman swimming in the Lido, the boy working at the pool’s receptions and studying for uni, and as much as I understood what the author was trying to do here and where she was coming from, for me personally those chapters were a little confusing and I could live without them to be honest – they felt disjointed, and I’m not sure if the fox is the best choice of narrator. The descriptions of the Lido itself, and the feelings the swimmers have were very detailed and yes, very beautiful, but also a bit too much for my liking.

Even though I had a feeling I can’t get into the characters’ heads, that there is something missing, that I can’t befriend them as much as I’d like, I still appreciated them and their twisty life journeys. They had their ups and downs, highs and lows, troubles, problems and worries and in this story they were starting to realise what it is that make them tick and what’s really important to them – especially Kate and her attempts to overcome her panic attacks (I’d love to have this subplot better developed, I had a feeling that it went nowhere to be honest).

Altogether “The Lido” was a very promising debut about unlikely friendship, celebrating the importance and strength of community. It was well – written and the author has a very engaging, chatty and inviting writing style. Libby Page has delivered a heart – warming, charming and unique story that I enjoyed. She touched upon many issues in her book, such as age, grief, love and the importance of communication and sticking together and never giving up, and it really felt like your favourite blanket and a cup of hot chocolate. It was gentle and full of feelings, and sometimes it’s really nice to read a book that make you feel warm inside – and “The Lido” was such a book. Recommended!

 

 

FOLLOW THE BLOG TOUR:

lido2bblog2btour2b25280022529-2

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s