The Greek Escape by Karen Swan

The Greek Escape by Karen Swan

 

38657977Publisher: Pan Macmillan

Publishing Date: 12th July 2018

Source:  Received from the publisher in return for an honest review, thank you!

Number of pages: 432

Genre: General Fiction

 Buy the Book:  Kindle | Paperback

 

 

 

 

Synopsis:

A scorching summer novel, set on a lush Greek island, The Greek Escape by bestselling author Karen Swan, is the perfect getaway for fans of Victoria Hislop and Santa Montefiore.

Before every new beginning, there must be an ending .

Running from heartbreak, Chloe Marston leaves her old life in London for a fresh start in New York. Working at a luxury concierge company, she makes other people’s lives run perfectly, even if her own has ground to a halt. But a terrible accident forces her to step into a new role, up close and personal with the company’s most esteemed and powerful clients. Charismatic Joe Lincoln is one of them and his every wish is her command, so when he asks her to find him a secluded holiday home in the Greek Islands, she sets about sourcing the perfect retreat. But when Tom, her ex, unexpectedly shows up in Manhattan and the stability of her new life is thrown off-balance again, she jumps at the chance to help Joe inspect the holiday house; escaping to Greece will give her the time and space to decide where her future truly lies. Tom is the man she has loved for so long but he has hurt her before—can she give him another chance? And as she draws closer to Joe, does she even want to? As magnetic as he is mysterious, there’s an undeniable chemistry between them that she can’t resist. But whatever her heart is telling her, she’s in over her head—another client’s wife has mysteriously disappeared and seriously allegations about Joe threaten more than just her happiness. Who can she trust? And will Chloe uncover the truth in time?

Rating: five-stars

“The Greek Escape” is another glamorous, provocative and captivating novel by Karen Swan. It introduces us to Chloe Marston – who after a painful heart – break relocates from London to New York. She works for a luxury concierge company, granting wishes and every whim of their clients. After an accident that happened to one of her colleagues, Chloe must step up and take over Poppy’s clients. One of them is Joe Lincoln, whose wish is for Chloe to find him a hideaway holiday cottage in Greece.
In the meantime, Chloe’s ex, Tom, appears again on the scenes, messing with her and her life again. She’s torn and absolutely doesn’t know what to do – try her luck again with Tom and ignore this increasing chemistry between her and Joe? Joe, who also brings some complications?

Karen Swan’s writing style is engaging, rich in descriptions and eloquent, and there is always a word or two that I’ve never heard before, well, we learn the whole life, right. The setting she’s chosen for “The Greek Escape” is maybe not as exotic and unusual as in some of her previous books, but the way she describes New York and Greece is absolutely refreshing and simply gorgeous and she easily brings the places to life. She also adds a gem or two of a place that you’ll never read about in other books and it’s like discovering them together with the characters.

Who, by the way, are brilliant. They’re ambitious but not in a negative way – well, some of them are – quirky, clever and inquisitive. Chloe was immediately likeable – she was normal and she knew where her priorities should be, although she made me feel really desperate when it came to her love life. However, this hesitation and uncertainty only made her feel much more realistic and closer to life, and really, I truly cared about her and there were moments that I was really scared about her.
Chloe is our main character and narrator, however every now and then we get chapters told from another character’s point of view – Elodie. Yes, I did wonder how she’s connected with Chloe, if they’re connected at all and how those subplots align, however it didn’t take long to guess and to put the puzzles together. There was one missing piece still but it was all neatly and clearly wrapped up at the end, which is simply great, as I really like to know why, who, when and what.

The plot of “The Greek Escape” is so unique! Already the idea of the company Chloe works for was so refreshing, different and intriguing and I felt myself sucked into the descriptions of the things and events they organize for their clients, in their worlds where the word “no” didn’t exist. This story was evocative and packed with everything I’ve expected from the author and more: humour and drama, action, murder, scandals, corruption and of course extraordinary romances.

What I so adore in Karen Swan’s books is the way she so effortlessly mixes glamour, the world of prominent and exotic places with the brilliant, immediately likeable and down – to – earth characters. Her stories, and “The Greek Escape” as well, are multi – layered and complex and full of twists and turns and there is always an element of mystery in them, which I honestly love. It was refreshing and sophisticated and I didn’t want to put it down. And I also didn’t want it to end! Highly recommended!