Sunset Over the Cherry Orchard by Jo Thomas

Sunset Over the Cherry Orchard by Jo Thomas

 

 

35992554Publisher: Headline

Publishing Date: 9th August 2018

Source:  Received from the publisher, thank you!

Number of pages: 416

Genre: General Fiction (Adult), Women’s Fiction

 Buy the Book:  Kindle | Paperback

 

 

 

Synopsis:

Jo Thomas’s new novel invites you to a special cherry orchard in Spain, where sunshine, romance and family secrets are the order of the day. Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond, Milly Johnson and Katie Fforde, SUNSET OVER THE CHERRY ORCHARD is a heartwarming, hilarious tale.

It’s time for Beti Winter to dance to her own beat.

After three failed engagements Beti is in desperate need of a fresh start. What better place than the sun-drenched hills of southern Spain?

But it’s not all sangria and siestas. Beti finds work on an old Andalucian cherry farm where there are cherries to be picked, trees to be watered and her fiery boss, Antonio, to win over.

As the sun toasts her skin, Beti finds herself warming to the Spanish way of life. Embracing the art of flamenco, she discovers there is much to learn from the dance of passion. She just has to let loose and listen to the rhythm of her heart.

Jo Thomas takes you there.

Rating: four-stars

Our main character Beti Winter finds herself in Spain and with a third engagement broken. No only this, but she’s penniless and jobless, and watching her biggest dream of owning a bar in Spain fading away. But Beti is strong and determined, so she pushes on – she finds a job, a place to stay and getting her head down she starts to save for her promised Butterfly Bar. But life is not a bed of roses, especially for our Beti, so there are many challenges coming her way, many problems and troubles – is there going to be a happy end for her?

It seems there must have been a mix up somewhere along the way about the publication date, my press release says 23rd of August and please correct me if I’m wrong but the book was out on 9th August? Apologies then for my late review but better late then never and no matter when you read the book, it’s going to take you on a beautiful, gorgeous, impressive journey to Spain – it was a lovely read, guys!

Beti was so real and I kept everything crossed for her – she so much deserved for her dream to come true and I couldn’t believe my eyes when fate was throwing so many challenges and obstacles at her all the time. She was also my favourite kind of character, she’s been growing and developing and it was a real joy to see how she changes into this confident young woman. She was not afraid to become a washer – upper in a restaurant, she was not afraid of working because she had a goal before her eyes and she was determined to – this time finally – achieve it. I really admired her.

I also liked the romance aspect. It was not so straightforward and obvious as you could expect. There were so many obstacles on the way and also I liked how it was weaved in into the story – it was not too overwhelming, too forced on us. However, even if many other things, such as keeping the farm and restaurant, Beti finding her true vocation were the focus of the story, this lovely romance was seamlessly and effortlessly accompanying us on the way and the outcome was simply fabulous.

This novel is so worth reading if only because of its end! I mean, not only because of this, as the whole story is so encompassing, full to brims with emotions and gorgeous descriptions, but the end has so exceeded my expectations. It was simply gorgeous and I personally felt so, so proud of Beti! You know, I even found myself straighten out, putting my chin high and deciding to be like Beti, getting up, following your dream and never let anybody to belittle me anymore. Well, that’s the theory at least. But Beti is my new hero and example right now.

It was a very descriptive book, and nothing wrong with this guys, as Jo Thomas’s writing style goes from strength to strength with her every book, and she has a way with words. She easily brings to life her setting, the gorgeous Cherry Orchard, the characters, the food and there is always so much understanding and knowledge when she writes about animals, and I love this. However, I had a feeling that Beti starts to be repetitive and that the descriptions of her feelings, her inner monologues and noodling over – as much as beautifully written and important – just slow down the action. Yes, I own up, I did skip a passage or a page as I wanted to just go on. But it doesn’t mean that I didn’t enjoy or appreciate the book, which I did, with my whole being – it was a gorgeous, colourful read, guys. Jo Thomas’s writing style is so warm and really, there is passion in every word.

“Sunset Over the cherry Orchard” is a story about dreaming big and not giving up, as your turn will come – earlier or later, but it will come, so please don’t stop believing. There was humour and poignant moments, there was fun and sadness, it was full of surprises and unexpected friendships and relationships, fiery flamenco and Spanish food, glorious Spanish food. It was so heart – warming and inviting, like a pure escapism that you’ll easily lose yourself in and forget about the passing time. The good vibes were palpable through the pages, it was as sweet as the cherries and as fierce as flamenco, but no worries, it was not too saccharine, oh no, Jo Thomas knows what she’s doing. And boy, I must mention the cover! It’s simply gorgeous! Those deep reds, the bright orange and yellow and there is even a cat…! It really shows off the setting and atmosphere of this novel to a T! I really recommend this book.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s