Snowflakes at the Little Christmas Tree Farm by Jaimie Admans

Snowflakes at the Little Christmas Tree Farm by Jaimie Admans

 

Publisher: HQ Digital 44799648

Publishing Date: 9th October 2019

Source:  Received from the publisher via NetGalley, thank you!

Number of pages: 384

Genre: General Fiction, Romance

 Buy the Book:  Kindle | Paperback

 

 

 

Synopsis:

All she wants for Christmas…

Leah Griffiths has woken up after a few too many glasses of Prosecco with a hangover – and discovers she’s accidentally bought a little Christmas tree farm in Scotland!

At first she’s horrified, but perhaps it’s the perfect way to forget all about her cheating ex.

And when she meets grumpy (but ridiculously gorgeous) pumpkin farmer Noel underneath the mistletoe, Leah begins to believe that at Christmas time, anything can happen…

Rating:  four-stars

 

The morning after finding her boyfriend/boss in a compromising position, Leah Griffiths wakes up not only with a huge hangover after downing few bottles of Prosecco, but also as a new owner of a Christmas Tree Farm in Scotland that she’s just won on an internet auction. And paid for it. £50,000, all the money left after selling her parents’ house when they died.
But hey, the farm looks lovely on the pictures, right? As she has no job in London anymore, her parents are dead and she has only one best friend, there is nothing stopping her back, and really, how hard could running a Tree Farm be?
Well, it turns out it can be hard, especially as the farm has been empty for four years, most of the trees are dead/unsellable, and the grumpy neighbour Noel knows lots about trees but he doesn’t believe that Leah will stay at the farm after realising how much work it needs, and after seeing that the house has no windows and only half roof left. And it’s very cold and raining all the time.
But Noel doesn’t know Leah and her determination. But will the determination be enough to start over? Will Leah stay at the farm?

I really don’t remember when I laughed so much when reading a book. Right now I’m even not afraid to make a drunken impulse buy, honestly, even if it’s of abandoned Christmas Tree Farm in Scotland – I could keep horses there! It was a read full of laughs, giggles, embarrassing but also poignant moments, brilliantly capturing the cheer of a small town and its community.

Jaimie Admans writes in a way that made me immediately fell in love with all the characters and the setting. Leah was a brilliant leading heroine, full of humour and best one – liners, often jumping to conclusions but also optimistic and never giving up. Well, how many of us would stay after realizing they have bought an abandoned and run – down Christmas Tree Farm, right? Not Leah – she was stubborn and determined and had some of the best ideas how to revitalize the farm and to keep it going, not forgetting about the community! We get to know her at a very low point, and she’s also lost so much when her parents died, so she really knows what suffering and grief mean, and she has moments when she feels so desperate and lonely, but she’s also so funny and so human and I was really rooting for her, wanting her to have her own happy ending.
Our lovely Leah is surrounded and supported by a great group of characters, charming, friendly and immediately likeable, brilliantly written and amusing. Some of their antics at the market were peculiar but please, do let me focus tightly on Noel. And let me swoon about Noel. Noel should have his own book – even though he had a Chihuahua and not a rottweiler, he was perfect. Noel, the usual broody and moody neighbour, the pumpkin farmer from the adjacent land, sexy, handsome, irresistible… you get the picture. With a soft side to him as well, I loved how he was around another people, his mum and dog, always willing to help but not too overwhelmingly helpful, you know what I mean? A softie but still a real man, give me him any time pretty please. Oh, be still you stupid heart, really.
The interactions and banter between him and Leah were the most brilliant parts of the book, and they were mostly my favourite scenes, so actually almost the whole book. The way the author has pushed them together felt obvious, yes, but also natural and genuine and the chemistry between them was sparklingly funny and believable.

The author has for sure researched how much work running a Christmas tree farm involves and learnt her lesson about trimming a tree or whatever it is you have to do with them. I’ve never realised it, I mean, you go, you choose and then buy the most beautiful Christmas tree, right, but I’ve never given a thought to what is needed to grow this perfect specimen. She dedicates a lot of pages to the actual work involved in farming, and it’s rich in details and information but it doesn’t slow down the action, oh no, it rather propels it forward, is rich in details but never too dull.

It is a fast – paced, seamlessly written, chatty and engaging read that yes, you know how it’s going to end, and yes, you know there are going to be obstacles on the way, but still it is a great fun to read. Jaimie Admans’s writing style is easy – going and easy to get along with and chatty and her descriptions are vivid and colourful. This novel was a lovely, romantic, atmospheric and full of snow read, right for the Christmas season. The idea of the plot was great and refreshing and there was this lovely message in it, that when you want something badly to succeed, simply go for it, just go out there and get it – it may not be the easiest thing sometimes but everything is possible. Warm, cosy and comfortable, an engrossing and hilarious festive journey about second chances and fresh starts, but also about grief, betrayal and hope, and you very quickly will fall under its spell. Hugely recommended!

The Chateau of Happily – Ever – Afters by Jaimie Admans – #BlogTour + Giveaway

chateau2bof2bhappily2bever2bafters2bbanner

The Chateau of Happily – Ever – Afters by Jaimie Admans

34887937Publisher: HQ Digital

Publishing Date: 7th June 2017

Source:  Received from the publisher via NetGalley in return for an honest review!

Number of pages: 272

Genre:  Romance,  Women’s Fiction

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

 

 

 

Synopsis:

Escape to beautiful France this summer with this uplifting romantic comedy.

Where dreams come true…?

Wendy Clayton stopped believing in fairy tales a long time ago. Instead, she has a ‘nice’ life. Nice job. Nice flat. Absolutely no men. Until her life is turned upside-down when her elderly neighbour, Eulalie, passes away and leaves her the Château of Happily Ever Afters!

But there’s a catch: she must share the sprawling French castle with Eulalie’s long-lost nephew, Julian. And no matter how gorgeous he is, or how easily she finds herself falling head over heels, Wendy needs to find a way to get rid of him…

Because surely happily ever afters don’t happen in real life?

Perfect for fans of Kat French, Caroline Roberts and Holly Martin.

Rating: four-stars

The Château of Happily – Ever – Afters is my first book by Jaimie Admans, but for sure not the last! It took me so positively by surprise, with a brilliant storytelling, larger than life characters that were almost jumping out of the pages and brilliant plot, and I found myself racing through the pages either laughing out loud or cringing with awkwardness, desperately wanting to know how things would turn out and how many snakes are we going to find in the kitchen.

I loved the characters in this book, all of them! OK, I must admit, at the beginning Julian was so, so annoying, did you have the feeling as well? Oooh, somehow he seemed so uptight and self – important, appearing out of the blue and pursuing Wendy to France, and so very well prepared! I don’t know, I just liked Wendy so much and I so wanted to box Julian on the ear, and I so wanted to encourage her to get her own back on him, however Wendy did disappoint me here a little, I was hoping for a funny open war here, and it was only Julian coming up with some annoying ideas. But whatever. But then, slowly, I started to warm to him so much, and the fact that he’s an incredibly handsome model with a six – pack had nothing to do with it. Really! I promise! So yes, together with Wendy we’ve been changing our mind about him – starting with thinking he’s a git and a cheat who only wants Wendy’s half of the château and ending with totally different feelings.

Wendy was somehow so funny with her being so serious and with the strong sense of responsibility, and so going to France was for her a real adventure, especially as she doesn’t speak French and didn’t have any experience when it comes to packing – but really, would YOU know what to take with you to a chateau that you a while ago didn’t believe exist at all? Exactly. However, our Wendy is determined to make the best of the chateau. Moreover, she can bake delicious things – really, guys, the descriptions of her creations were mouth – watering. She is accident – prone and often finds herself in awkward situations.

What both of them had in common was that they were both full of puzzles and secrets and many layers, and it was a great journey full of bumps and surprises while unpeeling all of them – and I really liked what emerged at the end. They were truly brilliant characters, full of fun and joy.

I loved the setting and the descriptions of the chateau, its rooms and gardens, the neighbourhood and French countryside, and especially I enjoyed the village market – it was so easy to imagine all those stands, friendly sellers, I could really easily picture every detail and smell not forget the descriptions of the lovely, delicious French baking – mmmmm!

The book really took off when the characters found themselves in France – it was then that it started to be hilariously funny and that I began to feel that I’m getting to know the characters. However, then, it started to slow down – don’t get me wrong, the writing style was brilliant, the dialogues were more than brilliant, it was so funny and sometimes also poignant, but there was just too much of nothing, in fact, happening. I loved the banter, or Wendy and Julian trying to first drive out each other from the house and then getting to know each other, it’s just that if felt too slow. I am also not sure how I felt about the château bringing people together, with it having secrets and treasures – somehow this part of the story felt for me too far – fetched and not completely finished. I personally couldn’t believe in the magical walls – call me a killjoy. But altogether, I totally adored this book. It was fresh, and funny, and surprising.

“The Chateau of Happily Ever Afters”  is a brilliant summer read, full of colours, smells, humour, this all brought to us in incredibly vivid way. It is sassy, charming and romantic and so easily transported me to the sunny Normandy – a really perfect read for the summer evening! Highly recommended!

GIVEAWAY

French-themed stationery goodie bag.  chateau2bof2bhappily2bever2bafters2bgiveaway

1 x Paperchase Paris notebook and pen

1 x The Chateau of Happily Ever Afters notebook

1 x little Eiffel Tower model

1 x Eiffel Tower bookmark

1 x The Chateau of Happily Ever Afters magnet

1 x Signed postcard

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

FOLLOW THE BLOG TOUR:

DECpMuwXkAAW4bt