The Cornish Villahe School – Christmas Wishes by Kitty Wilson

The Cornish Village School – Christmas Wishes by Kitty Wilson

 

Publisher: Canelo 47167328

Publishing Date: 9th September 2019

Series: Cornish Village School #4

Source:  Received from the publisher via NetGalley, thank you!

Number of pages: 254

Genre: General Fiction, Romance

 Buy the Book:  Kindle

 

 

Synopsis:

It’s the most wonderful time of the year in Penmenna…

Teaching assistant Alice has sworn off men, which is fine because with Christmas coming she’s super busy organising the school Nativity. This should be a blast with the help of best friend and village vicar, Dan – if she can just ignore those more-than-just-a-friend feelings she’s developed for him…

Dan is more than happy to help Alice – his secret crush – but not only is his beloved Granny Annie about to be made homeless, the church choir has disintegrated and he’s battling some dark demons from his past.

With meddling grannies and PTA wars thrown in the mix, can Alice and Dan overcome their past hurts to move forward? Will they be spending Christmas together as friends… or something more?

A festive feel-good romance perfect for fans of Tilly Tennant and Holly Martin.

Rating: four-stars

 

Alice is a teaching assistant in Penmenna village school and this year she’s given the job of organising the class four nativity play. Determined to make it the best one, or at least better than the one from last year with the earth giving birth, she loops her best friend Dan, who is a village vicar, to help her. Actually, Alice would love to be more than friends with Dan, however she’s so unsure of herself, she can’t see why any man would be interested in her, and there were some bad experienced for her in the past and Dan, well, Dan has some reasons as well to hide his feelings.

One of the biggest strength of the book are for sure the characters. The cast is simply brilliant, living and breathing, with flaws and troubles. Dan was a perfect vicar, so very un – vicar like, which only made him even better. His background was really heart – breaking and you could really understand all his commitment issues. But Marion Markshot must have been the best character ever, oh my god, so fierce and so vulnerable, I loved her and her ways, and I really wouldn’t like to have her as a fiend. And really, you can say whatever you want, that she was cruel, self – obsessed, whatever, but oh my, I so fell for her! Because no matter what, the characters felt human and true to life, finding themselves in a position of having to go on, to get on with things, just like we are. And Alice, the lovely, kind and full of energy Alice, so unsure of herself, not realising how great she is – she was a fantastic leading character.

What I also adored is that the series centres around school and teaching. And even though I’m now working in kindergarten and not at school, once a teacher, always a teacher and I like stories set at school, especially such lovely ones. I loved Alice around her pupils and I loved her approach to the organization of the Nativity Christmas Play, she’s truly the right person in the right place, her love to her job shines through the pages.

I adored this book, I really did, but what annoyed me a bit was the fact that you actually knew, from the very beginning, how it’s going to end (I know, I know, everybody hates this sentence) and it simply felt too long, no matter how entertaining, to come to the final conclusion. I mean, there were almost no obstacles, no challenges and the will they/will they/oh yes they will was too long. It just felt, I don’t know, too wordy, as if it has lost its track from time to time.

But altogether, it was a hilariously funny and also wise and heart – warming read with incredibly vivid and lively characters with intelligent and sharp sense of humour. I have only read the third instalment in the series before – sadly, it’s a huge mistake, really, because the books are so, so entertaining! “Christmas Wishes” is full of mishaps, family, friendship and love, beautifully balancing humour with poignant scenes. The banter, and there is a lot of banter in this book, is humorous, witty, sharp and quick and there is a huge amount of lovely romance, of letting go of the past and moving forward, and it is already filled with festive spirit. Hugely recommended!

The Cornish Village School – Summer Love by Kitty Wilson / Blog Tour

The Cornish Village School – Summer Love by Kitty Wilson

 

45757087Publisher: Canelo

Publishing Date: 23rd May 2019

Series: Cornish Village School #3

Source:  Received from the publisher via NetGalley in return for an honest review, thank you!

Number of pages: 270

Genre: Romance, Women’s Fiction

 Buy the Book:  Kindle

 

Synopsis:

Pippa Parkin thinks she has it all under control…

For teaching assistant Pippa, life in her home town of Penmenna is reassuringly predictable. Between managing the Easter Egg Hunt and dealing with her annoying but well-meaning family, Pippa thinks she has it all sorted. That is until gorgeous new substitute teacher Kam Choudhury arrives at Penmenna School, and turns everything upside down.

Pippa and Kam are instantly drawn to each other, but their priorities and their working relationship make it very hard to be together. Can they find a way to reconcile their differences and find their Happily-Ever-After?

This heartwarming romance is perfect for fans of Tilly Tennant, Holly Martin and A. L. Michael.

Rating: four-stars

 

Happily single Pippa Parkin is a Teaching Assistant at Penmenna Primary School. Her mum Jan is desperate to change her status into “in relationship”, so when Pippa’s childhood friend James returns to to Penmenna, Jan tries her hand at match – making. However, Pippa has other plans and maybe, just maybe, they involve the new substitute teacher Kam Choudhury? There is this instant attraction between them, however, Kam had a five year plan to get a full time teaching post and didn’t plan and distractions, and Pippa understands this but well, heart wants what it wants, right? After a night spent together, Kam sends Pippa a litter where he declares her his love but Pippa doesn’t receive it, until it’s probably too late!

This is the third and, as far as I know, last part in The Cornish Village School series, and I bitterly regret that I haven’t read the two previous books! Yes, I think you can read it as a standalone, and while characters from the previous stories do pop up, the story focuses on Pippa and Kam and you really don’t have to know what has happened in the two previous books. But I want to! Going immediately on wish – list, those two babies.

The characters were so well – drawn! Sure, they were a bit too far fetched sometimes but altogether they were quirky, bouncy and full of life, and not only the main characters, but also the background ones. Pippa and Kam were great as leading persons, but I also loved their overbearing mothers, Kam’s sisters, Pippa’s family and the whole rest. And Flynn the dog deserves a honourable mention! There is so much humour and love between the characters, and they really come to life, thank to Kitty Wilson’s light writing. It was a real delight to get to know the Penmenna crowd.

It was incredibly light – hearted read with the best banter between the characters in the world. The writing style is conversational and welcoming, full of warmth and humour and it flows so seamlessly forward.
Altogether, it was a simple, heart – warming, full of gorgeous romance book about (interfering) families, friendship and community. You can of course predict the end and know there are going to be some challenges to overcome on the way to the happy end but it’s really well written and entertaining, a real joy to read. Recommended!

 

FOLLOW THE BLOG TOUR:

the-cornish-village-school-summer-love-blog-tour-banner-1-521x660