If We’re Not Married by Thirty by Anna Bell

If We’re Not Married by Thirty by Anna Bell

 

40376037Publisher: Zaffre

Publishing Date: 27th December 2018

Source:  Received from the publisher via NetGalley, thank you!

Number of pages: 431

Genre: General Fiction (Adult), Romance

 Buy the Book:  Kindle | Paperback

 

 

 

 

Synopsis:

A brilliantly funny, romantic and effervescent read, If We’re Not Married by Thirty is the irresistible new novel from the bestselling author of The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart and It Started With a Tweet. For fans of Lindsey Kelk and Sophie Kinsella.

Lydia’s not exactly #LivingHerBestLife. She never imagined she’d be here at thirty – newly single, a job that’s going nowhere and her friends all winning at life when she’s still barely taking part. So she jumps at the chance of a free holiday and jets off to sunny Spain.

Then, out of the blue, she bumps into her childhood friend, the handsome and charming Danny Whittaker. She’s always had a crush on him and they soon enter into a passionate holiday romance.

But this relationship could be more than just a fling. Years ago they made a pact that if they were still single when they turned thirty they would get married. But noone really follows through on these pacts . . . right?

Could Lydia’s back-up man really be her happy ever after?

Rating: four-stars

Ten years ago, at her sister’s wedding, Lydia made a pact with Danny that if they’re not married by they’re thirty, they will simply marry each other. Forward ten years on, and Lydia, an event – coordinator, finds herself newly single. She hasn’t seen Danny in a while but they stayed in touch via letters and emails. However, a chance encounter brings them together – they’re both thirty, both single – will they go through with their pact?

I liked the fact that the characters used to know each other for ages, what with their mothers being best friends. It saved us the whole getting to know each other phase, and they felt so comfortable around each other. I immediately warmed to Lydia, she was my kind of girl. She felt a little disappointed with her life, as she felt that everyone is moving around and ahead with their lives, only she’s staying put. She was pretty relaxed and down – to – earth, and what I liked so much is the fact that she was surrounded by her family and friends, they were all going strong together. She relied on them, they relied on her and they were supporting each other, and it was lovely to see. She, as well as the other characters, was relatable and full of flaws, she wanted a better life but she wasn’t so quick to change it, to take matters in her own hands, which – let’s be honest – is a totally normal thing. How often does it happen that we’re not happy with our own lives but as they’re comfortable enough we do nothing to change them. Lydia said the wrong things, put herself in embarrassing situations and this all made her much more human and likeable.
But, to be honest, I had awful problem with Danny. All the time I had a feeling that he’s hiding something, that I can’t trust him completely, that he’s going to hurt Lydia, that he’s not honest. Also, instead of “when will they eventually” I was wondering if they will/they will not – I simply was missing this last tick, this last final touch that would convince me completely to the fact that Lydia and Danny were truly destined for each other.
The best parts of the books were when the mothers were entering the scenes. Though, as much as I loved them, I am very grateful they’re not my mother, phew. Don’t get me wrong, they were absolutely brilliant, they always meant well but they were slightly… embarrassing. But they were also incredibly funny and I loved their antics. Those two were best friends and they were rooting for their children to finally get together but, of course, as it usually happens, in trying to achieve this, they usually made things much more difficult, and I adored how stoic Lydia and Danny were about them. Hazel and Linda weren’t afraid of anything, their friendship was simply brilliant.

The banter and interactions between Lydia and Danny were great, you could see the sparks flying. However, I’ve missed a little more depth to this relationship to be honest. We can also wonder here and dispute if people really still make such pacts as the main characters but that’s not the point. The point is that it worked in this book and it made for an amusing, funny and entertaining read. There were plenty of hilarious and embarrassing scenes and Anna Bell’s writing style is so seamless, she effortlessly transports us into the characters’ world, you really feel like a part of the book.

I had some problems to get into the book, the beginning, even though the scenes were supposed to be funny, simply didn’t sit with me, and it made me feel uncomfortable, because hell, it is Anna Bell’s book! What’s that supposed to mean? But as soon as Lydia arrived to Spain the book gathered its pace and from then on it was a roller – coaster ride of more or less embarrassing situations – Lydia was truly prone to accident or to jump to false conclusions, which was often hilarious.

It was incredibly light – hearted, engaging and amusing read. There weren’t any life changing twists but I also haven’t expected them in this book. The standard misunderstandings, the ups and downs, hiccups and some challenges on the way were really enough to make the reading interesting and me glued to the pages. Altogether, I’ve enjoyed this book a lot, there was everything I could expect from Anna Bell’s novel and I am already looking toward her next release. In the meantime, I really recommend “If We’re Not Married by Thirty” to you.

 

Advertisements